Google Groups no longer supports new Usenet posts or subscriptions. Historical content remains viewable.
Dismiss

Dodge vs. S:CE

49 views
Skip to first unread message

LSJ

unread,
May 26, 1998, 3:00:00 AM5/26/98
to

In many posts, I have said that the effect order of resolving strikes
is:

1. Strike: Combat Ends (S:CE)
2. Strike: Dodge
3. Any strike done with First Strike
4. Any other strike

This order being not strictly true, but given to keep the confusion to
a minimum regarding the relationship between Dodge and First Strike
(Despite explicit text in all rulebooks printed so far, the question
"does Dodge beat First Strike?" has come up many times.)

--
Headnotes:
[1] Dodge cancels the effects of the opposing strike on the dodging
minion and any non-Retainer cards on the Dodging minion.
--

Since Dodge cancels the effect of the opposing strike[1], it seemed
easier to just place it ahead of First Strike in the resolution
ordering to avoid confusion. But every time that order has been
restated, I have always said that it is the "effective" order, and
often have stated explicitly that it is not the actual order.

Strike: Dodge resolves at whatever time it resolves. No matter what
that time is, however, it cancels the effect of the opposing strike[1]
(Rulebook: 8.3). Resolving before or after the other strike is
immaterial - it still cancels the effect of the opposing strike[1],
as emphasized in the rulebook with respect to First Strike.

-----
Now, why am I bringing all of this up?
-----
The expansion sets (released after the rulebook) have
introduced strikes with both End Combat and deal damage.
(Riposte and Catatonic Fear).

The initial idea (that the damage occured during strike resolution
as normal) was unworkable since the "Combat Ends" part of the
strike precluded the resolution of the damage.

After many months, it was finally decided to make the damage
occur after combat ends - which is the only way to allow
the damage to resolve at all. This causes some minor headaches,
but nothing major.

The timing of the damage isn't relevant to my point, except to
illustrate that damage-dealing S:CE is a foreign concept.

-----
The point:

Since Dodge cancels the effect of the opposing strike[1], and
it does so no matter when the opposing strike resolves (8.3),
it will cancel the damage-dealing part of a damage-dealing
Strike: Combat Ends.

Rather than reverse the resolution-order of 1. and 2. (which would
no doubt mislead some people into thinking that perhaps a Dodge
would cause combat not to end), I propose taking Dodge out of the
order altogether and simply stating that

A Strike:Dodge doesn't resolve in the usual sense; it merely cancels
the effects of the opposing strike on the dodging minion and any
non-Retainer cards on the Dodging minion.

and let the order be:

1. Strike: Combat Ends
2. Any Strike done at First Strike
3. Any other strike.

--
L. Scott Johnson (vte...@wizards.com) VTES Net.Rep for Wizards of the Coast.
Searchable database of official card text, errata, and rulings:
http://deckserver.net/cgi-deckserver/rulemonger.cgi/powersearch

0 new messages