Google Groups no longer supports new Usenet posts or subscriptions. Historical content remains viewable.
Dismiss

(Card question) Anarch Secession

38 views
Skip to first unread message

Blooded Sand

unread,
Dec 3, 2006, 2:39:44 AM12/3/06
to
Name: Anarch Secession
Cardtype: Action
+1 stealth action. Requires a ready, non-anarch, titled vampire.
Put an anarch counter on this acting vampire. This vampire becomes
anarch (and Independent). If he or she had a city title, {put this card
on him or her as a title card to represent the title of baron of the
same city}. Minions without titles cannot block this action. Burn the
anarch counter if this vampire changes sects.

What I find curios about this card is the following: If a vampire with
a city title uses this, he becomes Baron of that city. However if an
Independant vampire with (2votes) title eg. Thetmes takes this action
he loses his votes. What I want to know is why? Nowhere in the card
does it state that he should, and as he is not changing sects (he will
still be independant) why does the title go?

Jeroen

unread,
Dec 3, 2006, 2:44:57 AM12/3/06
to

Blooded Sand schreef:

Why would the votes go? He just doesn't become baron. In the case of
actual titles: they disappear, because the vampire left the sect that
gave him or her the title.

Blooded Sand

unread,
Dec 3, 2006, 3:00:49 AM12/3/06
to

In a previous discussionj about an Anarch Expansion with Xzealot,
someone said tht the Vampire would lose his title as he doers not
become a Baron, just confirming if that is the case or not

Jeroen

unread,
Dec 3, 2006, 3:13:40 AM12/3/06
to

Blooded Sand schreef:

Why would they? There is no text that says that they lose their votes.

Blooded Sand

unread,
Dec 3, 2006, 3:15:58 AM12/3/06
to

> > become a Baron, just confirming if that is the case or notWhy would they? There is no text that says that they lose their votes.- Hide quoted text -- Show quoted text -

I know this. You know this. Need official Confirmation

James Coupe

unread,
Dec 3, 2006, 4:39:47 AM12/3/06
to
In message <1165131897....@79g2000cws.googlegroups.com>, Jeroen

<joen...@hotmail.com> writes:
>Blooded Sand schreef:
>> Name: Anarch Secession
>> What I find curios about this card is the following: If a vampire with
>> a city title uses this, he becomes Baron of that city. However if an
>> Independant vampire with (2votes) title eg. Thetmes takes this action
>> he loses his votes. What I want to know is why? Nowhere in the card
>> does it state that he should, and as he is not changing sects (he will
>> still be independant) why does the title go?
>
>Why would the votes go? He just doesn't become baron. In the case of
>actual titles: they disappear, because the vampire left the sect that
>gave him or her the title.

You appear to be operating under the misapprehension that "Thetmes has 2
votes" is not an actual title. It is - Mata Hari has the most recent
template for such titles, including a "(titled)" afterwards. Anything
that targets a titled vampire can target a vampire with that title.
Anything that requires a titled vampire can be played by them.


However, the reason that "Inner Circle" disappears is not because it's
an "actual title." It's because that title is tied to a particular sect
- Camarilla, in this instance. Similarly, Primogen, Prince, Bishop,
Archbishop, Cardinal, Priscus, Regent, and Magaji titles are tied to
specific sects. See section 10 of the rulebook. Kholo and Justicar are
also titled to clan, as well as sect.

Note also that the title doesn't entirely disappear. It's inert, and
will come back if the vampire changes sect again, assuming the title
hasn't been claimed by another vampire in the mean-time (in which case,
the inert title is yielded immediately instead of constesting it).


The reason that the "Thetmes has 2 votes" title is not lost is that it
is not tied to clan or sect. It is simply tied to Thetmes being
Thetmes. If Thetmes plays Clan Impersonation: Toreador Antitribu, he
still has 2 votes. If he plays Mozambique Allure, he still has 2 votes.
If he plays Writ of Acceptance, he still has 2 votes. And so if he
becomes Anarch, he still has 2 votes.

--
James Coupe
PGP Key: 0x5D623D5D YOU ARE IN ERROR.
EBD690ECD7A1FB457CA2 NO-ONE IS SCREAMING.
13D7E668C3695D623D5D THANK YOU FOR YOUR COOPERATION.

Blooded Sand

unread,
Dec 3, 2006, 5:41:38 AM12/3/06
to

On Dec 3, 11:39 am, James Coupe <j...@zephyr.org.uk> wrote:
> In message <1165131897.078475.9...@79g2000cws.googlegroups.com>, Jeroen


>
> <joen_...@hotmail.com> writes:
> >Blooded Sand schreef:
> >> Name: Anarch Secession
> >> What I find curios about this card is the following: If a vampire with
> >> a city title uses this, he becomes Baron of that city. However if an
> >> Independant vampire with (2votes) title eg. Thetmes takes this action
> >> he loses his votes. What I want to know is why? Nowhere in the card
> >> does it state that he should, and as he is not changing sects (he will
> >> still be independant) why does the title go?
>
> >Why would the votes go? He just doesn't become baron. In the case of
> >actual titles: they disappear, because the vampire left the sect that

> >gave him or her the title.You appear to be operating under the misapprehension that "Thetmes has 2

You know WHY Thetmes has 2 votes, right? Cos he will beat the living
hell out of anyone who says he doesn't.... :)

Ankur Gupta

unread,
Dec 3, 2006, 8:38:11 AM12/3/06
to
> What I find curios about this card is the following: If a vampire with a
> city title uses this, he becomes Baron of that city. However if an
> Independant vampire with (2votes) title eg. Thetmes takes this action he
> loses his votes. What I want to know is why? Nowhere in the card does it
> state that he should, and as he is not changing sects (he will still be
> independant) why does the title go?

He doesn't lose his title. He retains his title, since it is an
Independent one. In other cases (say, for a cardinal or a justicar), they
also retain their title, but it remains inert, since they are no longer of
the correct sect.

Ankur
Play. The. Game.

LSJ

unread,
Dec 3, 2006, 11:07:05 AM12/3/06
to
Correct.
0 new messages