card questions

2 views
Skip to first unread message

Jarrod P. Stenberg

unread,
Apr 1, 1996, 3:00:00 AM4/1/96
to

Hell Hound: Can HH equip? It's difficult to imagine HH with a
Flamethrower and Flak Jacket, but it is an ally.

Bastard Sword and Torn Signpost: Can BS (+1 hand damage) be combined with
TS (2 or 3 hand damage for the remainder of round)?

Francois Villon: If FV steals 2 blood from a vampire with less than 2
blood, does the victim go to torpor? Can FV perform this action when he
is at full blood capacity (I assume yes, but that the excess blood goes to
the bank)?

Mariel Lady-Thunder: Can her special ability (tap before range is
determined to end combat...) be used in any round of a combat, as long as
she taps before range is chosen for that particular round OR should she
read that her special ability must be used before combat begins?

Shadow of the Beast: If SB is played on a vampire who has basic level
Protean and this vampire later gets a master discipline card raising it to
superior level Protean, does the vampire then have access to the superior
level of SB?

Brian
sago...@maroon.tc.umn.edu

L. Scott Johnson

unread,
Apr 2, 1996, 3:00:00 AM4/2/96
to
sten...@gold.tc.umn.edu (Jarrod P. Stenberg) writes:
>Hell Hound: Can HH equip? It's difficult to imagine HH with a
>Flamethrower and Flak Jacket, but it is an ally.

Card text on HH prevent it from taking any actions. This includes
the 'equip' action. So, basically, no. It may "equip" with a zip gun,
since this is done during combat and not as an action. It can also
use Concealed Weapon if you have the house rule that Concealed Weapon
doesn't require obfuscate.

>Bastard Sword and Torn Signpost: Can BS (+1 hand damage) be combined with
>TS (2 or 3 hand damage for the remainder of round)?

The latest official stance is: yes.

>Francois Villon: If FV steals 2 blood from a vampire with less than 2
>blood, does the victim go to torpor? Can FV perform this action when he
>is at full blood capacity (I assume yes, but that the excess blood goes to
>the bank)?

No one ever goes to torpor from having blood stolen. In this case FV
would simply steal all othe remaining (0 or 1) blood from the victim,
who would be left empty and ready. FV can steal at full capacity, and
the excess would immediately drain off.

>Mariel Lady-Thunder: Can her special ability (tap before range is
>determined to end combat...) be used in any round of a combat, as long as
>she taps before range is chosen for that particular round OR should she
>read that her special ability must be used before combat begins?

Any round.

>Shadow of the Beast: If SB is played on a vampire who has basic level
>Protean and this vampire later gets a master discipline card raising it to
>superior level Protean, does the vampire then have access to the superior
>level of SB?

Never heard of this card. The answer is: probably not. I'd have to see
card text to give you a real answer, though.
--
L. Scott Johnson (sjoh...@math.sc.edu) | Theater is life
http://www.math.sc.edu/~sjohnson | Film is art
Graphics Specialist and V:tES Rulemonger. | Television is furniture

Thomas R Wylie

unread,
Apr 3, 1996, 3:00:00 AM4/3/96
to

L. Scott Johnson <sjoh...@math.scarolina.edu> wrote:
>>Shadow of the Beast: If SB is played on a vampire who has basic level
>>Protean and this vampire later gets a master discipline card raising it to
>>superior level Protean, does the vampire then have access to the superior
>>level of SB?
>Never heard of this card. The answer is: probably not. I'd have to see
>card text to give you a real answer, though.

Protean action: acting vampire gets one maneuver each combat. At
superior, it also gets one press each combat. A vampire can only have
one Shadow of the Beast card.

To answer the question: A discipline card that is put into play is put into
play at either basic or superior level. Once in play, you can't change which
level it was played at, even if you give the vampire that played it a
better ability. For example, Raven Spy won't suddenly jump in life if
its employer is promoted to superior Animalism. Same principle applies here.
You can think of it as the card in play recording everything that's true about
the vampire as the card was played, and ignoring everything that happened
later.


Tom Wylie rec.games.trading-cards.* Network Representative for
aa...@cats.ucsc.edu Wizards of the Coast, Inc.


Ewok

unread,
Apr 3, 1996, 3:00:00 AM4/3/96
to
L. Scott Johnson thoughtfully stated:

: sten...@gold.tc.umn.edu (Jarrod P. Stenberg) writes:
: >Hell Hound: Can HH equip? It's difficult to imagine HH with a
: >Flamethrower and Flak Jacket, but it is an ally.

: Card text on HH prevent it from taking any actions. This includes
: the 'equip' action. So, basically, no. It may "equip" with a zip gun,
: since this is done during combat and not as an action. It can also
: use Concealed Weapon if you have the house rule that Concealed Weapon
: doesn't require obfuscate.

I thought that the deal was, it could, but only through the use of the
Heidelberg Castle. That's just what my vague memory recalls.. I could be
wrong.

Juan
--
___
/^\/\ ,, Juan Burwell | __| ||
( {=@=====[=] Amherst College | _| \\/\// /^\ ||//
\_/\/ '' jmbu...@unix.amherst.edu |___| \/\/ \_/ ||\\

Hage

unread,
Apr 3, 1996, 3:00:00 AM4/3/96
to
Ewok wrote:
>
> L. Scott Johnson thoughtfully stated:
> : sten...@gold.tc.umn.edu (Jarrod P. Stenberg) writes:
> : >Hell Hound: Can HH equip? It's difficult to imagine HH with a
> : >Flamethrower and Flak Jacket, but it is an ally.
>
> : Card text on HH prevent it from taking any actions. This includes
> : the 'equip' action. So, basically, no. It may "equip" with a zip gun,
> : since this is done during combat and not as an action. It can also
> : use Concealed Weapon if you have the house rule that Concealed Weapon
> : doesn't require obfuscate.
>
> I thought that the deal was, it could, but only through the use of the
> Heidelberg Castle. That's just what my vague memory recalls.. I could be
> wrong.
>
> Juan

'Fraid that's my fault. I forgot that Heidelburg only works between
vampires. Sorry... ;)

--
|~~| "Sure I've got a brain, it's a multilayer Kohonen net"
~~|
|oost Hage (ha...@cs.utwente.nl)
\_/ Oh yeah, this is my personal
opinion, and mine only

Reply all
Reply to author
Forward
0 new messages