Google Groups no longer supports new Usenet posts or subscriptions. Historical content remains viewable.
Dismiss

Rules Questions (LSJ or anyone)

124 views
Skip to first unread message

tinkrb...@my-deja.com

unread,
Nov 14, 2000, 3:00:00 AM11/14/00
to
Hi All,

We were playing on Thursday night of last week and a few questions came
up during the game... I apologize if these are redundant or in the
eratta/clarifications (we looked on the VTES web site but couldn't find
the info we needed)

1.) If I play a bunch of Damage Prevention cards (Skin of Rock, Undead
Persistence, Rolling with the Punches, etc) but don't need to use them
all in the first round of combat, can I carry the prevention over to the
next round? The cards that were being using did not specifically say
that the damage prevention was only for that specific round of combat,
so we played that they were good until I used them.

2.) Can I play Damage Prevention cards even if someone plays a S:CE?
What about Taste of Vitae?

3.) Can I play Damage Prevention even if I have taken no damage?

4.) Rex, The Necronomist's card says that he pays an additional blood
for any combat cards he plays - does that mean he pays 1 blood for
cards that are free?

5.) If I bleed my prey and they choose not to block and then I add a
Conditioning/Threats/Bonding/Foreshadowing Destruction to bump the
bleed, can my prey THEN choose to block the bleed or did they lose
that chance when they accepted the initial bleed action?

6.) Can you use an ally's special ability during the turn that it is
brought in to play? We didn't want it to perform an action, just use
the special ability that is listed on the card (i.e. "Tap to give a
Ravnos you control +1 stealth")

Thanks in advance!

Mari
Malkavian Administrative Assistant for
Portla...@egroups.com


Sent via Deja.com http://www.deja.com/
Before you buy.

LSJ

unread,
Nov 14, 2000, 3:00:00 AM11/14/00
to
tinkrb...@my-deja.com wrote:
> 1.) If I play a bunch of Damage Prevention cards (Skin of Rock, Undead
> Persistence, Rolling with the Punches, etc) but don't need to use them
> all in the first round of combat, can I carry the prevention over to the
> next round? The cards that were being using did not specifically say
> that the damage prevention was only for that specific round of combat,
> so we played that they were good until I used them.

No.
A. You can only play damage prevention if you have damage to prevent.
B. Damage prevention in excess of current damage (superior skin of
Rock vs. Aid from Bats, for instance) is lost.

> 2.) Can I play Damage Prevention cards even if someone plays a S:CE?
> What about Taste of Vitae?

Not unless you have damage to prevent.



> 3.) Can I play Damage Prevention even if I have taken no damage?

No.

> 4.) Rex, The Necronomist's card says that he pays an additional blood
> for any combat cards he plays - does that mean he pays 1 blood for
> cards that are free?

Yes.



> 5.) If I bleed my prey and they choose not to block and then I add a
> Conditioning/Threats/Bonding/Foreshadowing Destruction to bump the
> bleed, can my prey THEN choose to block the bleed or did they lose
> that chance when they accepted the initial bleed action?

The latter. [6.2.2]

> 6.) Can you use an ally's special ability during the turn that it is
> brought in to play? We didn't want it to perform an action, just use
> the special ability that is listed on the card (i.e. "Tap to give a
> Ravnos you control +1 stealth")

Yes.
It cannot act (and isn't "ready"), but otherwise, the abilities can
be used.

--
LSJ (vte...@white-wolf.com) V:TES Net.Rep for White Wolf, Inc.
Links to revised rulebook, rulings, errata, and tournament rules:
http://www.white-wolf.com/vtes/

Mike Ooi

unread,
Nov 14, 2000, 3:00:00 AM11/14/00
to

tinkrb...@my-deja.com wrote in message <8urrn0$9e3$1...@nnrp1.deja.com>...

>Hi All,
>
>We were playing on Thursday night of last week and a few questions came
>up during the game... I apologize if these are redundant or in the
>eratta/clarifications (we looked on the VTES web site but couldn't find
>the info we needed)
>
>1.) If I play a bunch of Damage Prevention cards (Skin of Rock, Undead
>Persistence, Rolling with the Punches, etc) but don't need to use them
>all in the first round of combat, can I carry the prevention over to the
>next round? The cards that were being using did not specifically say
>that the damage prevention was only for that specific round of combat,
>so we played that they were good until I used them.

If you don't need to use them, they can't be played in the first place.
Simple prevention cards (like Skin of Rock) don't even carry into the
additional strike phase. If you were hit for 1 and your opponent played Blur
for 2 additional strikes and struck for 1 each time, you would have to play
3 Skin of Rocks to prevent it all (1 during the strike phase, 1 during the
first additional strike phase, and another 1 during the second additional
strike phase.) This is true even if you have superior Fortitude and could
have possibly prevented 6 damage!

It's different for cards that can prevent damage and do "something else" as
well. For example, Unflinching Persistence can be played at the superior for
the maneuver and allows you to prevent 1 damage later the same round,
because it must be played at superior during the "choose range" step.

Other Prevention cards (like Skin of Steel, Superior Mettle, Apparition)
have lingering effects which are explained on the card. These can be played
if damage needs to be prevented, and you can enjoy the full benefits of the
lingering effects later if more damage is heaped upon you later.

>
>2.) Can I play Damage Prevention cards even if someone plays a S:CE?
>What about Taste of Vitae?

See above regarding Damage Prevention cards. You need to ask LSJ about
Taste.

>
>3.) Can I play Damage Prevention even if I have taken no damage?

See above.

>
>4.) Rex, The Necronomist's card says that he pays an additional blood
>for any combat cards he plays - does that mean he pays 1 blood for
>cards that are free?

Yes. Rex blows himself up in combat.

>
>5.) If I bleed my prey and they choose not to block and then I add a
>Conditioning/Threats/Bonding/Foreshadowing Destruction to bump the
>bleed, can my prey THEN choose to block the bleed or did they lose
>that chance when they accepted the initial bleed action?

If they declined to block, they cannot attempt to block the same action.
They can, however, deflect/misdirect the bleed to someone else, since doing
so is not blocking.

>
>6.) Can you use an ally's special ability during the turn that it is
>brought in to play? We didn't want it to perform an action, just use
>the special ability that is listed on the card (i.e. "Tap to give a
>Ravnos you control +1 stealth")

I would say no, because according to the rules, a recruited ally is placed
in the uncontrolled region until the end of your minion phase. It is then
brought out of the uncontrolled region at the end of your minion phase.
Cards in your uncontrolled region are traditionally considered "out of play"
and cannot be tapped or untapped. However, LSJ might have a different
viewpoint.

tinkrb...@my-deja.com

unread,
Nov 14, 2000, 3:00:00 AM11/14/00
to
In article <fvfQ5.296$RC3....@news3.aus1.giganews.com>,
"Mike Ooi" <sh...@texas.net> wrote:

<SNIP>

> >2.) Can I play Damage Prevention cards even if someone plays a S:CE?
> >What about Taste of Vitae?
>
> See above regarding Damage Prevention cards. You need to ask LSJ about
> Taste.

OK, so LSJ - here are the Taste of Vitae questions that I have:

1.) Can you Taste after a S:CE?

2.) Can you Taste even if you have done no damage?

Thanks!!

Mari
(hoo boy! did we ever break some rules on Thursday! *laugh*)

Sorrow

unread,
Nov 14, 2000, 3:00:00 AM11/14/00
to
> > See above regarding Damage Prevention cards. You need to ask LSJ about
> > Taste.
> OK, so LSJ - here are the Taste of Vitae questions that I have:

IANLSJ, but

> 1.) Can you Taste after a S:CE?

No. ToV can only be played *after* strike resolution. S:CE circumvents
the rest of combat and ends immediately. Since "after strike res" never
takes place, you cannot play ToV.

> 2.) Can you Taste even if you have done no damage?

Yes. But you gain nothing out of it.

Sorrow
---
"Are they dead?" - Pugsly
"Does it matter?" - Wednesday

LSJ

unread,
Nov 14, 2000, 3:00:00 AM11/14/00
to
Mike Ooi wrote:
> I would say no, because according to the rules, a recruited ally is placed
> in the uncontrolled region until the end of your minion phase. It is then
> brought out of the uncontrolled region at the end of your minion phase.
> Cards in your uncontrolled region are traditionally considered "out of play"
> and cannot be tapped or untapped. However, LSJ might have a different
> viewpoint.

The ally is "controlled", but placed in the uncontrolled region (face up)
only to indicate that it cannot act.

LSJ

unread,
Nov 14, 2000, 3:00:00 AM11/14/00
to
tinkrb...@my-deja.com wrote:
> > >2.) Can I play Damage Prevention cards even if someone plays a S:CE?
> > >What about Taste of Vitae?
> >
> > See above regarding Damage Prevention cards. You need to ask LSJ about
> > Taste.
>
> OK, so LSJ - here are the Taste of Vitae questions that I have:
>
> 1.) Can you Taste after a S:CE?

No. Taste is only playable after strike resolution. After S:CE, though,
there is no combat.



> 2.) Can you Taste even if you have done no damage?

Sure.

Chris Shorb

unread,
Nov 14, 2000, 3:00:00 AM11/14/00
to
Mike, time to get back on the electroshock table, you are sounding
waaaaay too sane...

Chris

> >2.) Can I play Damage Prevention cards even if someone plays a S:CE?
> >What about Taste of Vitae?
>
> See above regarding Damage Prevention cards. You need to ask LSJ about
> Taste.
>
> >

> >3.) Can I play Damage Prevention even if I have taken no damage?
>
> See above.
>
> >
> >4.) Rex, The Necronomist's card says that he pays an additional blood
> >for any combat cards he plays - does that mean he pays 1 blood for
> >cards that are free?
>
> Yes. Rex blows himself up in combat.
>
> >
> >5.) If I bleed my prey and they choose not to block and then I add a
> >Conditioning/Threats/Bonding/Foreshadowing Destruction to bump the
> >bleed, can my prey THEN choose to block the bleed or did they lose
> >that chance when they accepted the initial bleed action?
>
> If they declined to block, they cannot attempt to block the same action.
> They can, however, deflect/misdirect the bleed to someone else, since doing
> so is not blocking.
>
> >
> >6.) Can you use an ally's special ability during the turn that it is
> >brought in to play? We didn't want it to perform an action, just use
> >the special ability that is listed on the card (i.e. "Tap to give a
> >Ravnos you control +1 stealth")
>

> I would say no, because according to the rules, a recruited ally is placed
> in the uncontrolled region until the end of your minion phase. It is then
> brought out of the uncontrolled region at the end of your minion phase.
> Cards in your uncontrolled region are traditionally considered "out of play"
> and cannot be tapped or untapped. However, LSJ might have a different
> viewpoint.
>
> >

> >Thanks in advance!
> >
> >Mari
> >Malkavian Administrative Assistant for
> >Portla...@egroups.com
> >
> >

> >Sent via Deja.com http://www.deja.com/
> >Before you buy.

--
chris
<www.vtesinla.org> (A V:TES site in development)
ultimate disc - V:TES - hockey
v:ekn prince of torrance, ca

0 new messages