Banishment

14 views
Skip to first unread message

James Puzzo

unread,
Dec 7, 1995, 3:00:00 AM12/7/95
to

Eric Tullis (ap...@FreeNet.Carleton.CA) wrote:
: Is there any way to "un-banish" a minion that has been sent into the
: uncontrolled region with the Banishment vote?

As far as _I_ can tell, you put blood on uncontrolled Vampires until they
have their capacity, and then they can be moved to the active region at the
end of your influence phase.

-James

Eric Tullis

unread,
Dec 7, 1995, 3:00:00 AM12/7/95
to
Is there any way to "un-banish" a minion that has been sent into the
uncontrolled region with the Banishment vote?

Eric


Eric Tullis

unread,
Dec 7, 1995, 3:00:00 AM12/7/95
to

James Puzzo (jam...@gw.digibd.com) writes:
> Eric Tullis (ap...@FreeNet.Carleton.CA) wrote:
> : Is there any way to "un-banish" a minion that has been sent into the

> : uncontrolled region with the Banishment vote?
>
> As far as _I_ can tell, you put blood on uncontrolled Vampires until they
> have their capacity, and then they can be moved to the active region at the
> end of your influence phase.
>
> -James


OK, I suppose this makes sense. For some reason, I was trying to read
more into the card, as if it somehow made the vamp unusable for the rest
of the game! Sometimes I shouldn't think so hard when I'm reading new
card text...

Still, a fine card. Especially at the end of a game, when an opponent
may not have the pool to "re-control" vamps that are banished while
weakened.

I'd also guess that if a vamp who was full up on blood got banished,
it would just pop back out into the active region during its controller's
influence phase.

A couple of these are going into my vote deck tonight!

Eric


Duncan

unread,
Dec 8, 1995, 3:00:00 AM12/8/95
to
In article <DJ75I...@freenet.carleton.ca>, ap...@FreeNet.Carleton.CA
(Eric Tullis) wrote:

> Is there any way to "un-banish" a minion that has been sent into the
> uncontrolled region with the Banishment vote?
>

> Eric

If its uncontrolled, you can move your blood to it, and get it up to full
capacity so you control it again, during your transfer phase (just like
any uncontrolled vampire).

Bruce Carson

unread,
Dec 8, 1995, 3:00:00 AM12/8/95
to
dmac...@itsmail1.hamilton.edu (Duncan) wrote:

Or snatch blood from it (2 transfers for 1 blood) Yum


Greg Zuvich

unread,
Dec 8, 1995, 3:00:00 AM12/8/95
to
In article <4a6to1$d...@gw.dgii.com>, jam...@gw.digibd.com (James Puzzo) spammed:

#Eric Tullis (ap...@FreeNet.Carleton.CA) wrote:
#: Is there any way to "un-banish" a minion that has been sent into the
#: uncontrolled region with the Banishment vote?
#
#As far as _I_ can tell, you put blood on uncontrolled Vampires until they
#have their capacity, and then they can be moved to the active region at the
#end of your influence phase.

So, if someone was foolish enough to Banish a full vampire they would come right
back into play... neato!!

--
Greg Zuvich |gzu...@symantec.com

Thomas R Wylie

unread,
Dec 9, 1995, 3:00:00 AM12/9/95
to

Eric Tullis <ap...@FreeNet.Carleton.CA> wrote:
>> : Is there any way to "un-banish" a minion that has been sent into the
>> : uncontrolled region with the Banishment vote?
>> As far as _I_ can tell, you put blood on uncontrolled Vampires until they
>> have their capacity, and then they can be moved to the active region at the
>> end of your influence phase.

Correct.

>I'd also guess that if a vamp who was full up on blood got banished,
>it would just pop back out into the active region during its controller's
>influence phase.

Yes. If you have any vampires in your uncontrolled region that are at or above
capacity at the end of your influence phase, the vampire(s) become controlled.
How the vampires or the blood got there isn't important.


Tom Wylie rec.games.trading-cards.* Network Representative for
aa...@cats.ucsc.edu Wizards of the Coast, Inc.


Thomas R Wylie

unread,
Dec 9, 1995, 3:00:00 AM12/9/95
to

Pete Giannopoulos <Olet...@bighorn.accessnv.com> wrote:
>You know what I was wondering ,if a vampire has skill cards on him that
>increases his capacity then do you have to put 1 more blood on him to get
>him out?And if the vampire lost his title would it still be gone when
>he came back out(Cardano lost his title because of command of the harpie and
>was later banished ,when he comes back out is he a prince?).

I believe that any disipline cards on the vampire will still count, so
it will need that much more blood to reinfluence it (and they would count
for Govern the Unaligned and so forth). But I will have to double check that.

Because a banished vampire becomes uncontrolled, it loses all memory;
it only retains the blood it had, and any cards played on it. Any
permanent changes like Ganger Deevolution will be erased, it will have
its title back when it reappears, and so on. (At least, that's my answer;
I'll find out if there's some arcane reason why this wouldn't be true.)

Pete Giannopoulos

unread,
Dec 9, 1995, 3:00:00 AM12/9/95
to
>
> As far as _I_ can tell, you put blood on uncontrolled Vampires until they
> have their capacity, and then they can be moved to the active region at the
> end of your influence phase.
>
> -James

You know what I was wondering ,if a vampire has skill cards on him that
increases his capacity then do you have to put 1 more blood on him to get
him out?And if the vampire lost his title would it still be gone when
he came back out(Cardano lost his title because of command of the harpie and
was later banished ,when he comes back out is he a prince?).

Olethros

L. Scott Johnson

unread,
Dec 11, 1995, 3:00:00 AM12/11/95
to
aa...@cats.ucsc.edu (Thomas R Wylie) writes:
>Because a banished vampire becomes uncontrolled, it loses all memory;
>it only retains the blood it had, and any cards played on it. Any
>permanent changes like Ganger Deevolution will be erased, it will have
>its title back when it reappears, and so on. (At least, that's my answer;
>I'll find out if there's some arcane reason why this wouldn't be true.)

If the vampire is a Prince with Command of the Harpies played on him,
will he remember whether or not the vote called by Command of the Harpies
was successful in removing his title? (The card is played on the Prince
regardless of the outcome of the vote, according to card text.)

Or does the card simply come back into play with no effect (or does it
cause a new, non-action vote)?

-----
Command of the Harpies Political Action
Choose a ready Prince. Put this card on that vampire. Successful vote means
the Prince forfeits his or her title.
-----

--
L. Scott Johnson (sjoh...@math.sc.edu) | These opinions are mine and
http://www.math.sc.edu/~sjohnson | are subject to card text.
Graphics Specialist and V:tES Rulemonger. |

Reply all
Reply to author
Forward
0 new messages