Shock Troops [SW:R]
Cardtype: Master
Cost: X pool
<Master.> Requires a ready archbishop or cardinal.
Put X Master: Discipline cards from your hand into play. These cards
represent clanless Sabbat vampires of 1 capacity with those respective
Disciplines and do not count as Master: Discipline cards while in
play. These vampires are not unique, must hunt the turn they are
created, have -1 stealth on all actions and cannot attempt bleeds or
political actions.
Does a shock troop returning to play after a descent into darkness
"remember"
the shock troop text, or does it act as a regular minion from that
point on?
I am guessing that it (they) remain "shocked", as it probably falls
under the same ruling as banishment,
"A Banished vampire will remember all effects that had been applied to
him, just as contested vampires do. This includes gained or lost
titles, etc. [RTR 20000501]"
But I just want to be sure that I'm not missing something.
Cheers,
-Scrote
Yes, they remember. Is there a reason why they wouldn't? The Shock
Troop text doesn't make them [vampires] [with some unusual
characteristics], it makes them [vampires with some unusual
characteristics].
At least, that would be my interpretation. :-)
> I am guessing that it (they) remain "shocked", as it probably falls
> under the same ruling as banishment,
>
> "A Banished vampire will remember all effects that had been applied to
> him, just as contested vampires do. This includes gained or lost
> titles, etc. [RTR 20000501]"
>
> But I just want to be sure that I'm not missing something.
I think it's actually not precisely under that ruling, because the
playing of Shock Troops isn't applying effects to vampires that already
exist. It's creating vampires out of nothing. Those vampires, as
represented by the Master: Discipline cards that you put in play to
represent them, "know" and "remember" all their attributes regardless of
what happens to them. At least, I think that's how Shock Troops should
work.
It does seem possible that Shock Troops would, when leaving play because
of Descent into Darkness, "forget" that they had ever been vampires (and
go, I guess, to the ash heap). But Descent into Darkness implies, I
think, that it can bring the Descended vampire back into play after it
sends the vamp out of play, ie that vampires sent out of play by Descent
shouldn't "forget" anything about themselves other than temporary
control effects. For example, a tapped Corporal Reservoir on a
Descended vampire should still be tapped when it comes back into play.
LSJ?
Josh
not spending enough time in darkness lately
Correct. The alternative is not "regular minion", BTW, it's "unattached
Discipline card", which is all but useless. :-)
>>I am guessing that it (they) remain "shocked", as it probably falls
>>under the same ruling as banishment,
>>
>>"A Banished vampire will remember all effects that had been applied to
>>him, just as contested vampires do. This includes gained or lost
>>titles, etc. [RTR 20000501]"
>>
>>But I just want to be sure that I'm not missing something.
>
> I think it's actually not precisely under that ruling, because the
> playing of Shock Troops isn't applying effects to vampires that already
> exist. It's creating vampires out of nothing. Those vampires, as
> represented by the Master: Discipline cards that you put in play to
> represent them, "know" and "remember" all their attributes regardless of
> what happens to them. At least, I think that's how Shock Troops should
> work.
>
> It does seem possible that Shock Troops would, when leaving play because
> of Descent into Darkness, "forget" that they had ever been vampires (and
> go, I guess, to the ash heap). But Descent into Darkness implies, I
> think, that it can bring the Descended vampire back into play after it
> sends the vamp out of play, ie that vampires sent out of play by Descent
> shouldn't "forget" anything about themselves other than temporary
> control effects. For example, a tapped Corporal Reservoir on a
> Descended vampire should still be tapped when it comes back into play.
>
> LSJ?
Yes, similar to Banishing an Embrace.
--
LSJ (vte...@white-wolf.com) V:TES Net.Rep for White Wolf, Inc.
Links to V:TES news, rules, cards, utilities, and tournament calendar:
http://www.white-wolf.com/vtes/