Google Groups no longer supports new Usenet posts or subscriptions. Historical content remains viewable.
Dismiss

[LSJ] Blood Cult Awareness Network and Call The Great Beast

35 views
Skip to first unread message

Johannes Walch

unread,
Aug 14, 2006, 11:24:26 AM8/14/06
to
When a Blood Cult Awareness Network is in play does Call The Great Beast qualify for this effect?
If yes, does the effect apply to the action of putting the CTGB card in play or to add a counter to the card?

In my opinion neither of the actions qualify because the effect that is bringing the Great Beast in play is to burn the counters/vampire but I am not sure about it.

--
johannes walch

witness1

unread,
Aug 14, 2006, 1:53:01 PM8/14/06
to

My guess would be that whichever action puts the 11th (or more) counter
on the card would count as the an action to bring a vampire into play,
but what do I know?

On a similar note, is Web of Knives Recruit an action to put a vampire
into play? Probably not - it only puts a non-vampire card into your
uncontrolled region (which may later become a vampire).

Witness1
-ItE

Wookie813

unread,
Aug 14, 2006, 9:29:46 PM8/14/06
to

witness1 wrote:
> On a similar note, is Web of Knives Recruit an action to put a vampire
> into play? Probably not - it only puts a non-vampire card into your
> uncontrolled region (which may later become a vampire).

It is not. WoKR does not trigger the BCA penalty.

> Johannes Walch wrote:
> > When a Blood Cult Awareness Network is in play does Call The Great Beast qualify for this effect?

I would think not, based on the treatment of WoKR. The original action
puts a card into play, not a vampire or ghoul, and CtGB is never in the
uncontrolled region. The final action that burns the baali is to place
a ritual counter, not put a vampire in play.

LSJ

unread,
Aug 15, 2006, 8:49:36 AM8/15/06
to
witness1 wrote:
> Johannes Walch wrote:
> > When a Blood Cult Awareness Network is in play does Call The Great Beast qualify for this effect?
> > If yes, does the effect apply to the action of putting the CTGB card in play or to add a counter to the card?
> >
> > In my opinion neither of the actions qualify because the effect that is bringing the Great Beast in play is to burn the counters/vampire but I am not sure about it.
>
> My guess would be that whichever action puts the 11th (or more) counter
> on the card would count as the an action to bring a vampire into play,

Correct.

> but what do I know?

Perhaps you know the ruling on sterile vampires Calling the Great
Beast:
http://groups.google.com/group/rec.games.trading-cards.jyhad/msg/ea5575638b8c06f5

> On a similar note, is Web of Knives Recruit an action to put a vampire
> into play? Probably not - it only puts a non-vampire card into your
> uncontrolled region (which may later become a vampire).

Correct again:
http://groups.google.com/group/rec.games.trading-cards.jyhad/msg/9df1c12be862e5c0

0 new messages