Google Groups no longer supports new Usenet posts or subscriptions. Historical content remains viewable.
Dismiss

LSJ: twisting damage?

8 views
Skip to first unread message

Talonz

unread,
Jan 3, 2003, 6:40:25 PM1/3/03
to
Twisting the Knife...apparently this is not environmental damage, and
is based on the minion doing hand/melee weapon damage. Is the TTK
damage therefore modified like the hand/melee weapon damage is? ie:if
the strike damage was aggravated or unpreventable, would the TTK
damage be also?

IF the opposing minion goes to torpor with a strike, is there room to
twist the knife along with the strike or is it too late because damage
has been resolved?

T

LSJ

unread,
Jan 4, 2003, 7:33:27 AM1/4/03
to
Talonz wrote:
>
> Twisting the Knife...apparently this is not environmental damage, and
> is based on the minion doing hand/melee weapon damage.

Correct.

> Is the TTK
> damage therefore modified like the hand/melee weapon damage is? ie:if
> the strike damage was aggravated or unpreventable, would the TTK
> damage be also?

No. It is a separate damaging effect from the minion (distinct from the strike).
[LSJ 26-JUN-2001] [LSJ 08-JAN-2002]

> IF the opposing minion goes to torpor with a strike, is there room to
> twist the knife along with the strike or is it too late because damage
> has been resolved?

It is playable "as" the damage is resolved.
So after the opportunity to prevent the damage is passed, you play TtK and
that adds 1 damage to the mix of damage that the opposing minion has to
handle. Like a surprise Wolf Companion or something. Before any damage in
the mix sends the opposing vampire to torpor.

--
LSJ (vte...@white-wolf.com) V:TES Net.Rep for White Wolf, Inc.
Links to V:TES news, rules, cards, utilities, and tournament calendar:
http://www.white-wolf.com/vtes/

Brian

unread,
Jan 6, 2003, 12:57:43 PM1/6/03
to
> > IF the opposing minion goes to torpor with a strike, is there room to
> > twist the knife along with the strike or is it too late because damage
> > has been resolved?
>
> It is playable "as" the damage is resolved.
> So after the opportunity to prevent the damage is passed, you play TtK and
> that adds 1 damage to the mix of damage that the opposing minion has to
> handle. Like a surprise Wolf Companion or something. Before any damage in
> the mix sends the opposing vampire to torpor.

But there's then another chance to play damage prevention, right?
For example:

Hector Sosa strikes for 5.
Ghivran Dalaal hits back for 1.
Ghivran prevents 3 with Resilience.
Hector Sosa did more damage, so he plays TtK.
Ghivran Dalaal plays Indomitability, preventing the TtK damage.

Legal? Or,

Hector strikes for 5
Ghivran hits for 1
Ghivran plays Resilience
Hector plays TtK as damage is resolved
Ghivran takes 3 (too late to play damage prevention cards).

Or perhaps neither scenario is correct?

-- Brian

LSJ

unread,
Jan 6, 2003, 3:00:23 PM1/6/03
to
Brian wrote:
>
> > > IF the opposing minion goes to torpor with a strike, is there room to
> > > twist the knife along with the strike or is it too late because damage
> > > has been resolved?
> >
> > It is playable "as" the damage is resolved.
> > So after the opportunity to prevent the damage is passed, you play TtK and
> > that adds 1 damage to the mix of damage that the opposing minion has to
> > handle. Like a surprise Wolf Companion or something. Before any damage in
> > the mix sends the opposing vampire to torpor.
>
> But there's then another chance to play damage prevention, right?

Only for the new TtK point of damage.
You can't go back and prevent the damage that allowed TtK to be played, no.

> For example:
>
> Hector Sosa strikes for 5.
> Ghivran Dalaal hits back for 1.
> Ghivran prevents 3 with Resilience.
> Hector Sosa did more damage, so he plays TtK.
> Ghivran Dalaal plays Indomitability, preventing the TtK damage.
>
> Legal? Or,

Yes.

Talonz

unread,
Jan 7, 2003, 11:57:39 PM1/7/03
to
LSJ <vte...@white-wolf.com> wrote in message news:<3E16D4A5...@white-wolf.com>...

> Talonz wrote:
> >
> > Twisting the Knife...apparently this is not environmental damage, and
> > is based on the minion doing hand/melee weapon damage.
>
> Correct.
>
> > Is the TTK
> > damage therefore modified like the hand/melee weapon damage is? ie:if
> > the strike damage was aggravated or unpreventable, would the TTK
> > damage be also?
>
> No. It is a separate damaging effect from the minion (distinct from the strike).
> [LSJ 26-JUN-2001] [LSJ 08-JAN-2002]

If its not enviornmental and not strike damage...what is it??

If someone plays skin of steel for example vs the strike(s), would he
have to play further prevent card(s) vs twisting or does the SOS
protect him from it?

I guess twisting damage is some kind of strange damage source all its
own?

T

The Lasombra

unread,
Jan 8, 2003, 12:51:20 AM1/8/03
to
On 7 Jan 2003 20:57:39 -0800, talo...@hotmail.com (Talonz) wrote:

Re: Damage from Twisting the Knife.

>If its not enviornmental and not strike damage...what is it??

Damage from the minion.

>If someone plays skin of steel for example vs the strike(s), would he
>have to play further prevent card(s) vs twisting or does the SOS
>protect him from it?

You cannot play Twisting the Knife unless you opponent is taking 3 or
more damage from 1 strike. If they had played some sort of damage
prevention, you would not be able to play it at all.

>I guess twisting damage is some kind of strange damage source all its
>own?

Of course.
That's why it has its own card.


Twisting the Knife [Sabbat, SW]
Cardtype: Combat
Cost: 1 blood
Discipline: Potence
[pot] Only usable as damage from a hand or melee weapon <strike> is
resolved; only usable if this vampire inflicts 3 or more damage. He or
she inflicts an additional point of damage. Only one Twisting the
Knife may be played by a vampire during a strike phase.
[POT] As above, with an optional press.

Carpe noctem.

Lasombra

http://www.TheLasombra.com

0 new messages