Google Groups no longer supports new Usenet posts or subscriptions. Historical content remains viewable.
Dismiss

[Preview] Kerrie

4 views
Skip to first unread message

pallando

unread,
Oct 31, 2005, 7:59:15 AM10/31/05
to
Kerrie
Melee weapon. Requires a Laibon
Strength +1 damage each strike. Alternatively, inflict strength ranged
damage as a strike and, after strike resolution, turn this weapon face down
(out of play) until the end of the action.
1 Pool

regards

pallando
---------------
pallando(at)gmx(dot)at


Ezekiel Moerdyk

unread,
Oct 31, 2005, 8:06:01 AM10/31/05
to

pallando wrote:
> Kerrie
> Melee weapon. Requires a Laibon
> Strength +1 damage each strike. Alternatively, inflict strength ranged
> damage as a strike and, after strike resolution, turn this weapon face down
> (out of play) until the end of the action.
> 1 Pool


OMG that's a cool card! NVM the power/balance, I love the flavour!

('Kerrie' is basically a cane/walking stick with a big bulge at the end
to inflict damage, as the picture shows.)

Emmit Svenson

unread,
Oct 31, 2005, 9:43:05 AM10/31/05
to

pallando wrote:
> Kerrie
> Melee weapon. Requires a Laibon
> Strength +1 damage each strike. Alternatively, inflict strength ranged
> damage as a strike and, after strike resolution, turn this weapon face down
> (out of play) until the end of the action.
> 1 Pool

LSJ, if a vampire uses the ranged/out-of-play strike of the Kerrie in
combination with Baal's Bloody Talons, does the Kerrie avoid the burn
effect from BBT, or is it burned when it comes back into play? I
believe it avoids the burn effect, but I wanted to check.

gwil...@storageannex.com

unread,
Oct 31, 2005, 10:49:12 AM10/31/05
to

Emmit Svenson wrote:
> LSJ, if a vampire uses the ranged/out-of-play strike of the Kerrie in
> combination with Baal's Bloody Talons, does the Kerrie avoid the burn
> effect from BBT, or is it burned when it comes back into play? I
> believe it avoids the burn effect, but I wanted to check.

It's my opinion that using Baal's Bloody Talons with Kerrie as a Str +
1 melee weapon is certainly fine, however, using the alternative Ranged
Strike no longer qualifies Kerrie as a melee weapon strike (as in
Kraken's Kiss, Shadow Strike, etc.) and BBT can't be used. But, LSJ,
please correct me if I'm wrong... I have 10 BBT! :)

John Flournoy

unread,
Oct 31, 2005, 10:59:50 AM10/31/05
to

Even if using it at range no longer counts as a melee weapon strike,
the following could happen:

Combat at long range.
Initial strike: as a melee weapon. BBT played on the strike even though
it fails to damage the foe.
Pursuit for an additional strike.
The additional is declared at range - BBT has already been played, and
the effect of the card is 'The damage from this weapon's strikes is
aggravated' not 'this melee weapon's strikes' - in theory this ranged
strike would _also_ be aggravated.

And then would still follow Emmit's question of 'does flipping the card
during strike resolution absolve it from burning at the end of the
round.'

-John Flournoy

CthuluKitty

unread,
Oct 31, 2005, 12:48:49 PM10/31/05
to
> It's my opinion that using Baal's Bloody Talons with Kerrie as a Str +
> 1 melee weapon is certainly fine, however, using the alternative Ranged
> Strike no longer qualifies Kerrie as a melee weapon strike (as in
> Kraken's Kiss, Shadow Strike, etc.) and BBT can't be used. But, LSJ,
> please correct me if I'm wrong... I have 10 BBT! :)

As far as I'm aware, and a text search for "melee" in the online rules
confirms this, there is no in-game defintion of the term "melee
weapon". A melee weapon is simply a weapon that is noted as such by
card text. In other words, a long range strike with a melee weapon is
still a strike with a melee weapon, and nothing in the text for Kerrie
suggests that the strike would be otherwise. So it looks to me like
any effects that work for melee weapons, including potence strikes,
BBT, etc. should work with this.

As far as burning from BBT, I would say no. Kerrie goes out of play
after strike resolution and remains out of play until the end of the
action. BBT's burn effect triggers at the end of the round, at which
point Kerrie is still out of play, and does not retrigger for any
reason at a later point.

Jozxyqk

unread,
Oct 31, 2005, 12:53:22 PM10/31/05
to
CthuluKitty <vtana...@riseup.net> wrote:
> > It's my opinion that using Baal's Bloody Talons with Kerrie as a Str +
> > 1 melee weapon is certainly fine, however, using the alternative Ranged
> > Strike no longer qualifies Kerrie as a melee weapon strike (as in
> > Kraken's Kiss, Shadow Strike, etc.) and BBT can't be used. But, LSJ,
> > please correct me if I'm wrong... I have 10 BBT! :)

> As far as I'm aware, and a text search for "melee" in the online rules
> confirms this, there is no in-game defintion of the term "melee
> weapon". A melee weapon is simply a weapon that is noted as such by
> card text. In other words, a long range strike with a melee weapon is
> still a strike with a melee weapon, and nothing in the text for Kerrie
> suggests that the strike would be otherwise. So it looks to me like
> any effects that work for melee weapons, including potence strikes,
> BBT, etc. should work with this.

What CthuluKitty says has been confirmed on the WW Forums by LSJ:

http://forums.white-wolf.com/viewtopic.php?t=27140

I'm not sure why Scott hasn't said this himself on the newsgroup...

But this definitely puts Kerrie up there on the "goodness" scale.


Fabio 'Sooner' Macedo

unread,
Oct 31, 2005, 1:20:45 PM10/31/05
to

... way above the "another bastard sword" category the most pessimistic
rushed to point out ;)

best,

Fabio "Sooner" Macedo

Screaming Vermillian

unread,
Oct 31, 2005, 1:53:56 PM10/31/05
to

He's boycotting this bastard information source and fully supporting
www.white-wolf.com. Maybe...

~SV

Oortje

unread,
Oct 31, 2005, 2:20:34 PM10/31/05
to
To my knowladge there is no restriction for melee weapons not to do
ranged damage. Its just that is it is wery unlikely in common
knowlegde.
The Kerrie is a melee weapon so its alternative strike will also count
as a melee strike unless the card says otherwise.

Correct me if im wrong,

Greetz,
Oort

LSJ

unread,
Oct 31, 2005, 5:10:15 PM10/31/05
to

Correct, by card and rule text.

--
That is my story, be it bitter or be it sweet.
Keep a little and let a little come back to me.
LSJ (vtesr...@TRAPwhite-wolf.com) V:TES Net.Rep (remove spam trap to reply)
http://www.white-wolf.com/vtes/

LSJ

unread,
Oct 31, 2005, 5:14:52 PM10/31/05
to
Jozxyqk wrote:
> What CthuluKitty says has been confirmed on the WW Forums by LSJ:
>
> http://forums.white-wolf.com/viewtopic.php?t=27140
>
> I'm not sure why Scott hasn't said this himself on the newsgroup...

"Yeah, yeah, yeah. Patience. How long will that take?"
-- Ed Gruberman

I avoid posting via Google.

So, for things where the answer is "yes, card text applies", I won't
be jumping through Google to say so, and it will thus wait until I
can access the NG through a friendlier interface (with the added
bonus that perhaps someone else will give a more elaborate answer
in the meantime to which I can just respond "correct").

0 new messages