Dark Sovereigns Queries [TOM]

7 views
Skip to first unread message

up and crumbling

unread,
Dec 8, 1995, 3:00:00 AM12/8/95
to
Well, here are the questions my half box of Dark Sov raised:

"Shackles of Enkidu - Unique Equipment (Gangrel). Before range is chosen in
a round of combat, you may put the Shackles on any minion opposing the
vampire with this card. Combat ends. The Shackled minion does not
untap during his or her untap phases; he or she burns 2 blood during each
of your untap phases. Any minion may burn this card as a (D) action."

Do they affect the Gangrel who first equips them? That would (imo) make
them remarkably useless, since, barring an untap toy, it's never going to
act or block. Also, what happens when the untap phase of an empty
Shackled vampire rolls around? Torporville?

Are the Vials of Garou Blood and Elder Vitae cumulative? Someone
burning 3 Vials of Garou Blood to gain +3 hand damage and 3 additional
strikes each round is going to be pretty gross, but then again, I figure
a table that lets that happen deserves what it gets.

Triole's Revenge - Is the action to burn it directed, undirected, or what?
If directed, who at?

Fata Morgana - Can the inferior version be used on non-bleed actions? As
opposed to Bonding, +1 stealth is useful for lots of stuff, while +1 bleed
is pretty clearly only useful for bleeds.

Jar the Soul - What are the effects of the superior version on an empty
vampire?

The Treatment - As with Triole's Revenge, what is the direction status
of the burn action?

Answers are appreciated.

gomi
--
Paul Echeverri go...@pollywog.com

"Two cans and a piece of string, baby.
That's all the Internet you'll ever need!"

rit...@cruzio.com

unread,
Dec 11, 1995, 3:00:00 AM12/11/95
to

Why don't the Vials of Garou and Elder Vitae give 1 blood to the
vampire? It seems fairly obvious that you are drinking a point of blood, so
why don't you get 1 point of blood that you just drunk?

Ritaxis
--


Thomas R Wylie

unread,
Dec 12, 1995, 3:00:00 AM12/12/95
to

up and crumbling <go...@shellx.best.com> wrote:
>"Shackles of Enkidu - Unique Equipment (Gangrel)...

>Do they affect the Gangrel who first equips them?

No. "the shackled minion" refers to the minon the card is put upon.

>Also, what happens when the untap phase of an empty
>Shackled vampire rolls around? Torporville?

She tries to burn the 2 blood, and fails. The Shackles are not
doing damage. Note that it is possible to (futiely) attempt to burn
the 2 blood, and then get blood from a Hunting Ground et al.

>Are the Vials of Garou Blood and Elder Vitae cumulative? Someone
>burning 3 Vials of Garou Blood to gain +3 hand damage and 3 additional
>strikes each round is going to be pretty gross, but then again, I figure
>a table that lets that happen deserves what it gets.

There's some question as to whether Garou Blood should be usable with
other additional strikes, though this has more to do with Blur than with
stacking the vial. Elder Vitae stacks quite nicely; you could burn
two vials to give a vampire superior in a discipline it didn't already
have, for example.

>Triole's Revenge - Is the action to burn it directed, undirected, or what?
>If directed, who at?

Urg. As listed, it's undirected, which probably isn't correct.


>Fata Morgana - Can the inferior version be used on non-bleed actions? As
>opposed to Bonding, +1 stealth is useful for lots of stuff, while +1 bleed
>is pretty clearly only useful for bleeds.

You can use the inferior version on normal actions, yes.

>Jar the Soul - What are the effects of the superior version on an empty
>vampire?

It ignores the effect, as with Cryptic Mission. Being instructed to burn
blood is not damage, but an instruction; the vampire does what it can
to follow the instructions, and then is done.

>The Treatment - As with Triole's Revenge, what is the direction status
>of the burn action?

This one is supposed to be non-directed.


Tom Wylie rec.games.trading-cards.* Network Representative for
aa...@cats.ucsc.edu Wizards of the Coast, Inc.


L. Scott Johnson

unread,
Dec 13, 1995, 3:00:00 AM12/13/95
to
In article <4airtp$6...@darkstar.UCSC.EDU>,

Thomas R Wylie <aa...@cats.ucsc.edu> wrote:
>
>>Fata Morgana - Can the inferior version be used on non-bleed actions? As
>>opposed to Bonding, +1 stealth is useful for lots of stuff, while +1 bleed
>>is pretty clearly only useful for bleeds.
>
>You can use the inferior version on normal actions, yes.

But the Bold header text implies that the whole card is a bleed modifier
(since it has the same text as all other bleed enhancers, namely):

You cannot play another action modifier to further increase the
bleed for this action.

So either this text needs to be moved to only the superior portion of
the card, or the stealth from inferior can only be applied toward a bleed
action (since the 'further' implies that the card is a bleed enhancer).

I.E. if the inferior is used on a bleed action, increasing the stealth without
increasing the bleed, this mis-placed restriction will prevent you from
actually increasing the bleed later during the action.

Which is fine, but that means the inferior is a bleed enhancer, and therfore
not usable on any action other than a bleed action.
--
-----
L. Scott Johnson (lsc...@crl.com) | The opinions expressed are mine
Graphics Specialist and V:tES Rulemonger | and subject to card text

Nicole Janine Purvis

unread,
Dec 14, 1995, 3:00:00 AM12/14/95
to
rit...@cruzio.com wrote:

: Why don't the Vials of Garou and Elder Vitae give 1 blood to the

: Ritaxis
: --

Often in the RPG [and indeed Jyhad, as symbolized by the cost of
blood], a vampire has to "burn blood," that is, consume the blood in
their systems in order to gain superhuman abilities. You are actually
burning the blood imbibed by a vial of Methuselah Vitae or Garou Blood,
and therefore don't gain any blood from drinking them, just the special
abilities.

--

---------------------------------------------------------------------------
| "What is a man without the beasts? If the beasts were gone, |
| man would die from a great loneliness of spirit." |
| "Confuse, annoy, and dee-STROY!!" Call me "Nicole" and I |
| npu...@tiger.lsu.edu -- Jet...@aol.com will have to kill you. |
---------------------------------------------------------------------------

Chris Carter

unread,
Dec 15, 1995, 3:00:00 AM12/15/95
to
In article <4aaoa5$k...@shellx.best.com>, go...@shellx.best.com says...

>
>Well, here are the questions my half box of Dark Sov raised:
>
>"Shackles of Enkidu - Unique Equipment (Gangrel). Before range is chosen in
>a round of combat, you may put the Shackles on any minion opposing the
>vampire with this card. Combat ends. The Shackled minion does not
>untap during his or her untap phases; he or she burns 2 blood during each
>of your untap phases. Any minion may burn this card as a (D) action."
>
>Do they affect the Gangrel who first equips them? That would (imo) make
>them remarkably useless, since, barring an untap toy, it's never going to
>act or block. Also, what happens when the untap phase of an empty

>Shackled vampire rolls around? Torporville?

No they do not affect the Gangrel who equips with them. Don't know about
Torporville. My guess is that it does not burn that vamp, after all the vamp is
not exactly taking any damage here.


>
>Are the Vials of Garou Blood and Elder Vitae cumulative? Someone
>burning 3 Vials of Garou Blood to gain +3 hand damage and 3 additional
>strikes each round is going to be pretty gross, but then again, I figure
>a table that lets that happen deserves what it gets.
>

Vial of Garou Blood is not cumulative. Read the card it says that the Vampire
cannot use any other equipment cards that combat.
Elder Vitae does not say it is unique so there is no reason you can't have and use
multiple ones.

>Triole's Revenge - Is the action to burn it directed, undirected, or what?
>If directed, who at?

If it was a directed action it would have the 'D' symbol.
Directed actions in a sense have nothing to do with who they are directed at but
instead have more to do with who can block the action. Directed actions can only
be blocked the Methesulah who is the traget of the action. Target in the case
could be the Methesulah himself or, a minion or card he controls. A Methesulahs
predator and prey do not get an opportunity to block any directed actions that are
pointed at him.


>
>Fata Morgana - Can the inferior version be used on non-bleed actions? As

Good question. This is a classic example of the misleading way WotC words many of
its cards.. You would think they would learn.....


>Jar the Soul - What are the effects of the superior version on an empty

Good question. I think this more like a steal blood strike. and a vampire can not
be sent to torpor from having blood stolen. This all depends on how WotC views
'burning pool' is it damage or not.

>The Treatment - As with Triole's Revenge, what is the direction status
>of the burn action?

See above


Biomech8

unread,
Dec 15, 1995, 3:00:00 AM12/15/95
to
In article <4ap37s$10...@tiger4.ocs.lsu.edu>, npu...@tiger.lsu.edu (Nicole
Janine Purvis) writes:

> Often in the RPG [and indeed Jyhad, as symbolized by the cost of
>blood], a vampire has to "burn blood," that is, consume the blood in
>their systems in order to gain superhuman abilities. You are actually
>burning the blood imbibed by a vial of Methuselah Vitae or Garou Blood,
>and therefore don't gain any blood from drinking them, just the special
>abilities.

I was thinking the other day that it would be cool instead of equipping
with the vial you could have the option of drinking the blood and place a
special colored blood counter on the vampire to represent the Garou blood,
then whenever the ability was needed you could burn that pool for the
effect, or if you needed the pool for some other more important reason
(another ability, healing agg. dam. etc.) you could burn it like normal
pool. Of course a cyptic mission could be nasty...
Just a thought... The card works fine as it is, but that doesn't stop me
from day dreaming... yeah I know that I think about the game to much!
Who am I talking to... Oh yeah... at least I have only one more final
left... ~bOImChaNoiD :-)

Biomech8

unread,
Dec 17, 1995, 3:00:00 AM12/17/95
to
In article <4asqto$7...@stargate.promus.com>, cca...@promus.com (Chris
Carter) writes:

>>Fata Morgana - Can the inferior version be used on non-bleed actions?
As
>
>Good question. This is a classic example of the misleading way WotC
words
>many of
>its cards.. You would think they would learn.....

I think they have in this case, since they put the stealth at lesser
instead of greater like bonding. "Stop where you are, or I'll shoot you
with my rose!" :-)

~Biomechanoid

Reply all
Reply to author
Forward
0 new messages