Google Groups no longer supports new Usenet posts or subscriptions. Historical content remains viewable.
Dismiss

HiddenLurker/FreakDrive?

6 views
Skip to first unread message

Talo...@nospam.hotmail.com

unread,
Feb 15, 2002, 8:29:44 PM2/15/02
to

Minion A is blocked. Minion C plays hidden lurker to jump the
blocker. Can Minion C play a freak drive when this is done? At
inferior superior or both?

T

Reyda

unread,
Feb 15, 2002, 8:32:45 PM2/15/02
to

<Talo...@nospam.hotmail.com> wrote in message
news:3c6db618.60009112@news...

>
> Minion A is blocked. Minion C plays hidden lurker to jump the
> blocker. Can Minion C play a freak drive when this is done? At
> inferior superior or both?

Certainly not. Minion C entered combat (and tapped) via Hidden Lurker. He
has in *no way* completed an action, which is required for playing freak
drive.

LSJ

unread,
Feb 15, 2002, 9:00:27 PM2/15/02
to

Correct. Also note that he is not an acting minion, so cannot play action
modifiers in the first place (unless card text allows it).

--
LSJ (vte...@white-wolf.com) V:TES Net.Rep for White Wolf, Inc.
Links to revised rulebook, rulings, errata, and tournament rules:
http://www.white-wolf.com/vtes/

Dave Brereton

unread,
Feb 15, 2002, 10:10:42 PM2/15/02
to

LSJ <vte...@white-wolf.com> wrote in message
news:3C6DBD3B...@white-wolf.com...

> Reyda wrote:
> >
> > <Talo...@nospam.hotmail.com> wrote in message
> > news:3c6db618.60009112@news...
> > >
> > > Minion A is blocked. Minion C plays hidden lurker to jump the
> > > blocker. Can Minion C play a freak drive when this is done? At
> > > inferior superior or both?
> >
> > Certainly not. Minion C entered combat (and tapped) via Hidden Lurker.
He
> > has in *no way* completed an action, which is required for playing freak
> > drive.
>
> Correct. Also note that he is not an acting minion, so cannot play action
> modifiers in the first place (unless card text allows it).
>
so would a dawn operation played by the Vampire A effect the combat between
vampires C and B? Action modifiers played by the acting minion would seem
to be applicable.


James Coupe

unread,
Feb 15, 2002, 11:11:36 PM2/15/02
to
In message <S4kb8.43087$A44.2...@news2.calgary.shaw.ca>, Dave

Brereton <Brer...@shaw.ca> writes:
>so would a dawn operation played by the Vampire A effect the combat between
>vampires C and B? Action modifiers played by the acting minion would seem
>to be applicable.

No. Dawn Op refers to the "resulting combat".

A HL combat is not this.

--
James Coupe but I lust after the raw pow0r of c.
PGP 0x5D623D5D together with the humping great
EBD690ECD7A1FB457CA2 elephant arse of gnome.
13D7E668C3695D623D5D - Vashti

Thomas Pichler

unread,
Feb 16, 2002, 4:45:09 AM2/16/02
to
LSJ wrote:

> Reyda wrote:
> >
> > <Talo...@nospam.hotmail.com> wrote in message
> > news:3c6db618.60009112@news...
> > >
> > > Minion A is blocked. Minion C plays hidden lurker to jump the
> > > blocker. Can Minion C play a freak drive when this is done? At
> > > inferior superior or both?
> >
> > Certainly not. Minion C entered combat (and tapped) via Hidden Lurker. He
> > has in *no way* completed an action, which is required for playing freak
> > drive.
>
> Correct. Also note that he is not an acting minion, so cannot play action
> modifiers in the first place (unless card text allows it).
>

Hmm... out of curiosity, when was HL first changed from an action card (as
printed in Jyhad/VTES) to an action modifier?
It's printed as the latter in SW, but I haven't been able to find a ruling in
the online listing that indicates if this change was a prior ruling or is new in
SW.

Thomas

Matt Green

unread,
Feb 16, 2002, 7:51:47 AM2/16/02
to
"Thomas Pichler" <tom.p...@aon.at> wrote in message
news:3C6E2A25...@aon.at...


> Hmm... out of curiosity, when was HL first changed from an action card (as
> printed in Jyhad/VTES) to an action modifier?
> It's printed as the latter in SW, but I haven't been able to find a ruling in
> the online listing that indicates if this change was a prior ruling or is new in
> SW.

Waaaaaaaaaay prior.....


http://groups.google.com/groups?selm=3loqk8%243g9%40redwood.cs.scarolina.edu&output=gplain

mattgreen

--
Posted via Mailgate.ORG Server - http://www.Mailgate.ORG

Reyda

unread,
Feb 16, 2002, 8:00:46 AM2/16/02
to

"Thomas Pichler" <tom.p...@aon.at> wrote in message
news:3C6E2A25...@aon.at...
> LSJ wrote:
>
(snip)

> Hmm... out of curiosity, when was HL first changed from an action card (as
> printed in Jyhad/VTES) to an action modifier?
> It's printed as the latter in SW, but I haven't been able to find a ruling
in
> the online listing that indicates if this change was a prior ruling or is
new in
> SW.

It has always been a action modifier in disguise =)
the action card symbol was a typo.
read the text carefully and you will understand it implies an acting
vampire, a reacting vampire and a third guy waiting in the shadows, which
other action acards never do.

LSJ ! Maybe it would be wise to change Hidden Lurker type to a combat card
since Coordinate attacks works fine also ?


LSJ

unread,
Feb 16, 2002, 8:40:36 AM2/16/02
to
Reyda wrote:
> LSJ ! Maybe it would be wise to change Hidden Lurker type to a combat card
> since Coordinate attacks works fine also ?

No smilie, so I assume you're in earnest.
Not a good idea. HL is properly an action modifier.

Talo...@nospam.hotmail.com

unread,
Feb 18, 2002, 3:50:09 PM2/18/02
to
On Fri, 15 Feb 2002 21:00:27 -0500, LSJ <vte...@white-wolf.com>
wrote:

>Reyda wrote:
>>
>> <Talo...@nospam.hotmail.com> wrote in message
>> news:3c6db618.60009112@news...
>> >
>> > Minion A is blocked. Minion C plays hidden lurker to jump the
>> > blocker. Can Minion C play a freak drive when this is done? At
>> > inferior superior or both?
>>
>> Certainly not. Minion C entered combat (and tapped) via Hidden Lurker. He
>> has in *no way* completed an action, which is required for playing freak
>> drive.
>
>Correct. Also note that he is not an acting minion, so cannot play action
>modifiers in the first place (unless card text allows it).
>

But Minion A could at superior correct? Would the FD have to be
played when blocked or after the HL combat?

T

LSJ

unread,
Feb 18, 2002, 10:03:31 PM2/18/02
to

Yes. After.

0 new messages