Google Groups no longer supports new Usenet posts or subscriptions. Historical content remains viewable.
Dismiss

Khazar's Question (LSJ)

14 views
Skip to first unread message

technobabble66

unread,
Aug 24, 2010, 9:40:18 AM8/24/10
to
If i contested my own vampire ( or unique ally/retainer) is it
considered "burned" for the sake of Khazar's diary? i kno it is
burned, but is it it considered "in play" at the point it contests and
burns?


Khazar's Diary (Endless Night)
Action
Giovanni
+1 stealth action.
Put the Diary in play, or add a counter to one in play. When a unique
minion in play is burned, add another counter. While this card has
seven or more counters, Giovanni get and may take a +1 stealth action
to put a minion from any ash heap into play to represent a wraith ally
with 2 life, 0 strength, 1 bleed and +1 stealth.


Blooded Sand

unread,
Aug 24, 2010, 9:43:49 AM8/24/10
to

It does not burn at the point it contest, it (and ll cards on it) are
removed from game. So moot.
However, when you give up the contest, according to rule 4.1, it is
yielded and Burnt, that being the critical for Khazars. So once the
contest is given up, then (and only then) does it burn.

LSJ

unread,
Aug 24, 2010, 9:45:02 AM8/24/10
to
On Aug 24, 9:40 am, technobabble66 <stujaq...@hotmail.com> wrote:
> If i contested my own vampire ( or unique ally/retainer) is it
> considered "burned" for the sake of Khazar's diary? i kno it is
> burned, but is it it considered "in play" at the point it contests and
> burns?

No. It is played (i.e., from your uncontrolled region), but it never
reaches "in play".

Rulings page:
Incoming copies of contested cards do not enter play prior to being
contested. Any effect the new copy of the contested has for being in
play is not activated prior to the contest. [RTR 20030519]

LSJ

unread,
Aug 24, 2010, 9:46:40 AM8/24/10
to
On Aug 24, 9:43 am, Blooded Sand <sandm...@gmail.com> wrote:
> On Aug 24, 3:40 pm, technobabble66 <stujaq...@hotmail.com> wrote:
>
> > If i contested my own vampire ( or unique ally/retainer) is it
> > considered "burned" for the sake of Khazar's diary? i kno it is
> > burned, but is it it considered "in play" at the point it contests and
> > burns?
>
> > Khazar's Diary (Endless Night)
> > Action
> > Giovanni
> > +1 stealth action.
> > Put the Diary in play, or add a counter to one in play. When a unique
> > minion in play is burned, add another counter. While this card has
> > seven or more counters, Giovanni get  and may take a +1 stealth action
> > to put a minion from any ash heap into play to represent a wraith ally
> > with 2 life, 0 strength, 1 bleed and +1 stealth.
>
> It does not burn at the point it contest, it (and ll cards on it) are
> removed from game. So moot.

It burns, since you cannot contest with yourself. [4.1]

technobabble66

unread,
Aug 24, 2010, 9:53:23 AM8/24/10
to


Thanks - kinda figured Khazar's would not quite be broken like that,
but just thought i'd check.

5 minutes - pretty tight!!
;-)

wumpus

unread,
Aug 24, 2010, 2:32:20 PM8/24/10
to
Howdy,

On Aug 24, 6:40 am, technobabble66 <stujaq...@hotmail.com> wrote:
> If i contested my own vampire ( or unique ally/retainer) is it
> considered "burned" for the sake of Khazar's diary? i kno it is
> burned, but is it it considered "in play" at the point it contests and
> burns?

This has been answered for the case of contesting your own vampire,
but it should also be pointed out that you can't contest your own
unique ally or retainer [4.1], as there is no mechanism I can think of
to 'force' such a contest.

Hope that helps,
Alex

Blooded Sand

unread,
Aug 24, 2010, 4:55:21 PM8/24/10
to

Summon History?
:)

LSJ

unread,
Aug 25, 2010, 8:22:21 AM8/25/10
to
> Summon History?
> :)

No. Summon History allows a search. It doesn't force out a particular
card.

http://groups.google.com/group/rec.games.trading-cards.jyhad/msg/a9baf9204d8a4759


Jozxyqk

unread,
Aug 25, 2010, 9:25:49 AM8/25/10
to
wumpus <wum...@comcast.net> wrote:
> This has been answered for the case of contesting your own vampire,
> but it should also be pointed out that you can't contest your own
> unique ally or retainer [4.1], as there is no mechanism I can think of
> to 'force' such a contest.

Hostile Takeover to steal a vampire who already has J.S. Simmons contesting
with you?

LSJ

unread,
Aug 25, 2010, 9:55:58 AM8/25/10
to
On Aug 25, 9:25 am, Jozxyqk <jfeue...@eecs.tufts.edu> wrote:

Sure. But that is pretty clearly an already-contested card. The HT
isn't forcing the contest.

Already-contested means already out of play, so the question of "is it
in play when it gets burned for the self-contest?" doesn't come up.

floppyzedolfin

unread,
Aug 25, 2010, 10:27:36 AM8/25/10
to

Here's a list of forced self-contesting examples:

- Influence out an Imbued you already control
- Influence out a vampire equipped with a unique equipment / employing
a unique retainer / ... you already control
- Equip a unique weapon with Vast Wealth / Horrid Reality when you
already control a copy of that unique weapon

I think that, in all these cases, the unique card is burned before
entering play.

I can't think of an example where two unique cards would be put in
play simultaneously (partly because there isn't much that is
simultaneous).

0 new messages