OAFLORD
aka
Thomas Kuster
V:EKN Prince of Caledon
"Of Man's first disobedience, and the fruit
Of that forbidden tree whose mortal taste
Brought death into the world, and all our woe."
John Milton Paradise Lost. Book i. Line 1.
Yes, it is legal. But unless you are in a really tight spot, it's not
that great of an idea. Here's why:
Turn 1: bring out Jost to contest the Jost in your torpor region
Turn 2: During untap, yield the copy of Jost in your torpor region,
pay 1 to contest the Jost in your active region (don't ask
me, it doesn't make any sense, yes, but I didn't make the
rules)
Turn 3: During your untap, gain control of Jost in your active region.
This is a good tactic for stalling a combat predator who is rushing
your vamps, but it's costly and not applicable in all situations.
Sorrow
>Let's say I have a vampire in torpor that is drained... That same vampire is
>in my uncontrolled region just waiting to come out... Can I bring out my
>uncontrolled vamp, contest and give up my torpored vamp instead? Is this
>legal?? Huh huh??
>
Hope so. I've used it before. The downside is that it takes some time,
I believe. I was told you can't use the new vampire for one full turn
after you yield the one in torpor (it's still in "contested" mode until
it starts the turn uncontested), and you can't yield the one in torpor
until the untap phase after you've started to contested it, generally the
turn after the influence phase in which you brought it on. So that's two
turns around the table (though only one minion phase) from start to
finish.
I'm not sure if this reading is correct though. Can someone confirm that?
Fred
Contesting with oneself in inherently nonsensical: "I've got control of
Jost, but now I have also excerised my influence over Jost - now let's
see if I can wrestle control of him from myself so that I can finally
control him."
For this to make sense, the rules would have to be errata'ed to say
that you cannot contest your own cards.
That little addendum is an unecessary complication of the rules,
given the frequency with which one wants to self-contest a card, so
it has so far remained absent. Instead, for the self-contesting
corner case, it was decided to simply let the rules, as written for
the more common case of two-party contests, apply (that's [4.1], or
V:TES printed rulebook [15]).
That is, "The cost to contest a card is one pool, which you pay
during each of your untap phases. Instead of paying the cost to
contest the card, you may choose to yield the card."
So, if you don't want to yield both copies of Jost, you'll have
to contest one of the copies. The cost of contesting is one pool.
This makes sense from the rulebook text, and makes at least as much
sense from a real-world POV as contesting with oneself does.
> Turn 3: During your untap, gain control of Jost in your active region.
Correct: "If all other copies of a card you are contesting are yielded,
then the card is untapped and turned face-up at the start of your next
untap phase, ending the contest."
(Note: "ready region" is the preferred term for "active region", since
the latter was sometimes used to mean "controlled region" by some
card writers).
--
LSJ (vte...@white-wolf.com) VTES Net.Rep for White Wolf, Inc.
Links to revised rulebook, rulings, errata, and tournament rules:
http://www.white-wolf.com/vtes/
Sent via Deja.com http://www.deja.com/
Before you buy.
Regards,
R. David Zopf
Atom Weaver
V:EKN Prince of Charlotte, NC
Oh well...
oAFLORD
aka
Thomas Kuster
V:EKN Prince of Caledon
R. David Zopf <guenh...@mindspring.com> wrote in message
news:8l9i20$cde$1...@slb7.atl.mindspring.net...