Google Groups no longer supports new Usenet posts or subscriptions. Historical content remains viewable.
Dismiss

Questions

13 views
Skip to first unread message

Jason Mowat

unread,
Jun 9, 2000, 3:00:00 AM6/9/00
to
Greets all,

I have a few questions, with which I'll be as specific as possible:

Master Phase
1.) When you bring out a master card, that counts as your master action.
But, say you bring out a master card, but you already have one in play from
a previous round (like a unique location). Can you still tap the unique
location after you bring out a master card?

2.) Does Blood Doll use up the current master phase?

Actions
1.) When performing a bleed action (with or without an action card), and
your opponent decides not to block, can you play an action modifier to
increase the bleed without fear of the block (since it was declared that a
minion was not blocking the action)? This is being brought up because the
Complete Rules Reference (2.7) states: III.D.NOTE - Action Modifiers may be
played only by the Acting Vampire at any time in the above sequence... Now,
sequence III.D.2 - Resolve Action occurs well after the block, so you can
apply your modifiers (extra bleeds) there without fear of a block, right?

2.) A vampire with no blood must hunt. But, what if you play an action
with one vampire, and play a card that substitutes the acting vampire with
another, namely the one with no blood. The vampire with no blood could have
started to hunt first before the other actions were resolved.

3.) Leave torpor. How does a vampire leave torpor? When they are damaged
and sent to torpor, are they tapped in torpor, or untapped? If they are
tapped in torpor, do they untap during the untap phase? Obviously the
action of leaving torpor is considered an action.

4.) Is an untapped vampire in torpor considered ready? What happens if
they have Talbot's Chainsaw while untapped in torpor?

How To Resolve A Combat
1.) When playing a card with an optional maneuver, if the card is a strike,
do you play it during the establish range phase, or during the strike phase?
Thrown gate is a 1R with an optional maneuver, and is a strike card. During
the establish range phase, is that where you would play this card? Also, if
you use the range abilities for the card, do you have to use its strike
abilities? The Official Errata states that optional maneuvers must be used
on the round that they are played.

2.) After strikes are resolved, if the damage inflicted is greater than the
vampire's current blood, are they immediately sent to torpor if they can't
prevent enough damage to refraim them from reaching a blood deficit? Or,
can they play an additional strike with negative blood?

3.) Can you only steal blood with a combat card as a strike, or can all
vampires attempt it as a strike?

4.) If a vampire is sent to torpor, are they tapped?

5.) When dealing damage, does a vampire go into torpor when they exceed
their blood capacity in damage, or meet it? For example, a 1 strength
vampire is struck in combat. Are they torporized? I doubt it, since they
would never be able to hunt with no blood. I just want a clarification.

Well, hopefully someone can help me with these questions. Thanks in advance
for any assistance.

Cheers,
Jason

Hashi Lebwohl

unread,
Jun 9, 2000, 3:00:00 AM6/9/00
to
In article <erX%4.10215$p73....@news2.mts.net>,

"Jason Mowat" <jmo...@attglobal.net> wrote:
> Greets all,

> I have a few questions, with which I'll be as specific as possible:

OK, here goes:

> Master Phase
> 1.) When you bring out a master card, that counts as your master
action.
> But, say you bring out a master card, but you already have one in
play from
> a previous round (like a unique location). Can you still tap the
unique
> location after you bring out a master card?

Sure, unless the location's text says "As a master phase action, tap
to..." or words to that effect. It costs a master phase action to
_play_ a master card (move from the hand to the tabletop/ashheap,
as appropriate); once a permanent card is in play (a location or
another Master with "Put this card in play" text, like Millicent
Smith or Smiling Jack), card text takes over -- these cards don't
require a master phase action to use or keep in play.

> 2.) Does Blood Doll use up the current master phase?

Blood doll has no text saying its use costs a master phase action,
so no. During a single Master phase, you can:

(a) Play an Ascension
(b) Tap a Parthenon location already in play to gain a second MPA
(c) Play another Ascension
(d-n) Use any number of Blood Dolls already in play, once each

> Actions
> 1.) When performing a bleed action (with or without an action card),
and
> your opponent decides not to block, can you play an action modifier
to
> increase the bleed without fear of the block (since it was declared
that a
> minion was not blocking the action)?

Exactly correct. Note that your prey (or other Methuselah being
bled) still has the opportunity to use non-blocking responses
to your bleed boost (most commonly, bleed redirection or reduction via
the appropriate Dominate or Auspex cards)

> 2.) A vampire with no blood must hunt. But, what if you play an
action
> with one vampire, and play a card that substitutes the acting vampire
with
> another, namely the one with no blood. The vampire with no blood
could have
> started to hunt first before the other actions were resolved.

If, during your minion phase, you have an untapped vampire with no
blood, you cannot attempt any actions other than hunting with that
vampire, and you cannot end your minion phase before attempting such
an action.

> 3.) Leave torpor. How does a vampire leave torpor?

A vampire may leave torpor by (a) a successful action costing 2 blood,
(b) a successful action by any ready vampire, which burns either
2 blood from either acting or torpid vampire (controller of the acting
vampire's choice) or 1 from each vampire, or (c) specific card text,
e.g. Chantry, Rapid Healing.

Other than as specified above, the actions in (a) and (b) follow all
the normal rules for actions -- can be modified, blocked, and so on.
Blocking a torpid vampire's action does not result in combat, however;
there is instead an opportunity for diablerie given to the blocker (if
the blocker is a vampire).

> When they are damaged
> and sent to torpor, are they tapped in torpor, or untapped?

Entering torpor does not alter a vampire's tapped or untapped state.

>If they are
> tapped in torpor, do they untap during the untap phase? Obviously
> the action of leaving torpor is considered an action.

Vampires in torpor untap as normal, barring specific cardtext altering
such behavior (Mind Numb, Toreador Grand Ball).

> 4.) Is an untapped vampire in torpor considered ready? What happens
if
> they have Talbot's Chainsaw while untapped in torpor?

No vampire in torpor is ready. Definitionally, a ready vampire is not
in torpor. Talbot's Chainsaw's damage-dealing text is prefaced with
"If bearer is ready during your untap phase," so does not apply if
the bearer is in torpor.

> How To Resolve A Combat
> 1.) When playing a card with an optional maneuver, if the card is a
strike,
> do you play it during the establish range phase, or during the strike
phase?

Strikes that grant an optional maneuver must be played during the
maneuver phase if the maneuver is to be used. The minion is then
committed to that strike as his or her first strike that round; any
additional strikes gained may use any strike card desired, or none.

You cannot gain additional strikes until after the initial strike
resolution phase in a round, so you cannot play (say) a Blur during
the maneuver phase to play several Thrown Gates for multiple maneuvers.

> 2.) After strikes are resolved, if the damage inflicted is greater
than the
> vampire's current blood, are they immediately sent to torpor if they
can't
> prevent enough damage to refraim them from reaching a blood deficit?

Vampires with damage they cannot heal go to torpor as soon as that
damage resolves. Note that damage in excess of currently available
blood is only one of several ways of sending a vampire to torpor in
combat.

> Or, can they play an additional strike with negative blood?

Vampires cannot spend blood they do not have, but note that
blood is not spent to heal damage until the strike resolution phase,
and a vampire with 1 blood may choose to spend it on a Wolf Claws
before strikes resolve even if the opposing minion has already
declared a hand strike or other damaging strike.

> 3.) Can you only steal blood with a combat card as a strike, or can
all
> vampires attempt it as a strike?

Any vampire that has the appropriate Discipline may play a strike card
that steals blood, yes. It's not an inherent ability of vampires.

> 4.) If a vampire is sent to torpor, are they tapped?

Entering torpor does not alter a vampire's tapped/untapped state.

> 5.) When dealing damage, does a vampire go into torpor when they
exceed
> their blood capacity in damage, or meet it? For example, a 1
strength
> vampire is struck in combat. Are they torporized? I doubt it, since
they
> would never be able to hunt with no blood. I just want a
clarification.

Only unhealed damage sends a vampire to torpor. Each point of blood
burned heals one point of damage. So a vampire with 1 blood that
takes 1 point of damage burns its 1 blood to heal 1 point of damage,
and is not in torpor (but empty). Any additional damage to that
vampire will go unhealed, since it has no more blood to burn, and the
vampire becomes "wounded" and goes to torpor.

gomi


Sent via Deja.com http://www.deja.com/
Before you buy.

James Coupe

unread,
Jun 9, 2000, 3:00:00 AM6/9/00
to
On Fri, 9 Jun 2000, Hashi Lebwohl wrote:
> > 2.) A vampire with no blood must hunt. But, what if you play an
> action
> > with one vampire, and play a card that substitutes the acting vampire
> with
> > another, namely the one with no blood. The vampire with no blood
> could have
> > started to hunt first before the other actions were resolved.
>
> If, during your minion phase, you have an untapped vampire with no
> blood, you cannot attempt any actions other than hunting with that
> vampire, and you cannot end your minion phase before attempting such
> an action.

(An addition, not a contradiction, for fullness.)

However, if a vampire must hunt (they have no blood, they are
XTC-Laced) but they cannot hunt (they have already hunted that turn under
No Repeat Actions (say, they hunted and Freak Drive-d, just to cycle) or
they have their Fangs Pulled), then they do nothing. Similar situations
exist with strikes - a vampire who must strike (they maneuvered with their
gun) but who cannot strike (they got maneuvered back and Immortal
Grappled) does not strike at all, for that strike).

In the above example, the vampire who was untapped and on 0 blood would
have had to have hunted before the other action took place.

--
James Coupe | PGP Key 0x5D623D5D

"I know my ex-boyfriend lies. Oh, he does it every time. It's just his
permanent disguise, yeah, yeah, but he's drop dead gorgeous."


LSJ

unread,
Jun 9, 2000, 3:00:00 AM6/9/00
to
Hashi Lebwohl <ha...@my-deja.com> wrote:

> "Jason Mowat" <jmo...@attglobal.net> wrote:
> > Master Phase
> > 1.) When you bring out a master card, that counts as your master
> action.
> > But, say you bring out a master card, but you already have one in
> play from
> > a previous round (like a unique location). Can you still tap the
> unique
> > location after you bring out a master card?
>
> Sure, unless the location's text says "As a master phase action, tap
> to..." or words to that effect. It costs a master phase action to
> _play_ a master card (move from the hand to the tabletop/ashheap,
> as appropriate); once a permanent card is in play (a location or
> another Master with "Put this card in play" text, like Millicent
> Smith or Smiling Jack), card text takes over -- these cards don't
> require a master phase action to use or keep in play.

Right - you can even use the Master Card you just played during the
same Master phase (it doesn't have to be one you had in play already).
So if you play the Parthenon, you can immediately tap it to gain a
Master Phase Action.

Note, however, that if you play a unique Master card that is already
in play, the controller of the one already in play does not have
the opportunity to tap (or otherwise use) that Master card before
it becomes contested - it is contested immediately.

> > 2.) Does Blood Doll use up the current master phase?
>
> Blood doll has no text saying its use costs a master phase action,
> so no. During a single Master phase, you can:
>
> (a) Play an Ascension
> (b) Tap a Parthenon location already in play to gain a second MPA
> (c) Play another Ascension
> (d-n) Use any number of Blood Dolls already in play, once each

Right. [Card Text], [5]

> > Actions
> > 1.) When performing a bleed action (with or without an action
> > card), and your opponent decides not to block, can you play an
> > action modifier to increase the bleed without fear of the block
> > (since it was declared that a minion was not blocking the action)?
>
> Exactly correct. Note that your prey (or other Methuselah being
> bled) still has the opportunity to use non-blocking responses
> to your bleed boost (most commonly, bleed redirection or reduction via
> the appropriate Dominate or Auspex cards)

Correct. [6.2.2.1], [6.2]

> > 2.) A vampire with no blood must hunt. But, what if you play an
> action
> > with one vampire, and play a card that substitutes the acting
> > vampire with another, namely the one with no blood. The vampire
> > with no blood could have started to hunt first before the other
> > actions were resolved.
>
> If, during your minion phase, you have an untapped vampire with no
> blood, you cannot attempt any actions other than hunting with that
> vampire, and you cannot end your minion phase before attempting such
> an action.

Right, so long as that unatpped empty vampire is 1) Ready and 2) not
otherwise prohibited from hunting (via the No Repeat Actions rule or
possession of Talbot's Chainsaw, etc.) [6.1.2]

At any rate, an empty ready vampire can take no action other than
hunting, so even if he did manage not to hunt for whatever reason,
he could not be substituted for the acting vampire (via Mask of
a Thousand Faces, e.g.) since he is incapable of taking whatever
(non-hunt) action is occuring. [RTR 23-JUN-1998]

> > 3.) Leave torpor. How does a vampire leave torpor?
>
> A vampire may leave torpor by (a) a successful action costing 2 blood,

This is the only "leave torpor" action (a form of which is also
available from the "Rapid Healing" card).

> (b) a successful action by any ready vampire, which burns either
> 2 blood from either acting or torpid vampire (controller of the acting
> vampire's choice) or 1 from each vampire,

This is technically the "Rescue from Torpor" action, which may or may
not fall under the poster's question. But your description is correct
nonetheless. [6.5.3]

> or (c) specific card text,
> e.g. Chantry, Rapid Healing.
>
> Other than as specified above, the actions in (a) and (b) follow all
> the normal rules for actions -- can be modified, blocked, and so on.
> Blocking a torpid vampire's action does not result in combat, however;
> there is instead an opportunity for diablerie given to the blocker (if
> the blocker is a vampire).

Right. And if an ally blocks the acting vampire in torpor, or if a
vampire blocks and chooses not to diablerize, then the acting vampire
simply remains in torpor (still tapped from having attempted the
action). [6.5.2]

> > When they are damaged
> > and sent to torpor, are they tapped in torpor, or untapped?
>
> Entering torpor does not alter a vampire's tapped or untapped state.

Correct.

> >If they are
> > tapped in torpor, do they untap during the untap phase? Obviously
> > the action of leaving torpor is considered an action.
>
> Vampires in torpor untap as normal, barring specific cardtext altering
> such behavior (Mind Numb, Toreador Grand Ball).

Correct. [6.5]

> > 4.) Is an untapped vampire in torpor considered ready? What
happens
> if
> > they have Talbot's Chainsaw while untapped in torpor?
>
> No vampire in torpor is ready. Definitionally, a ready vampire is not
> in torpor. Talbot's Chainsaw's damage-dealing text is prefaced with
> "If bearer is ready during your untap phase," so does not apply if
> the bearer is in torpor.

Correct. [6.5]

> > How To Resolve A Combat
> > 1.) When playing a card with an optional maneuver, if the card is a
> strike,
> > do you play it during the establish range phase, or during the
strike
> phase?
>
> Strikes that grant an optional maneuver must be played during the
> maneuver phase if the maneuver is to be used. The minion is then
> committed to that strike as his or her first strike that round; any
> additional strikes gained may use any strike card desired, or none.
>
> You cannot gain additional strikes until after the initial strike
> resolution phase in a round, so you cannot play (say) a Blur during
> the maneuver phase to play several Thrown Gates for multiple
> maneuvers.

Correct. [6.4.2]

> > 2.) After strikes are resolved, if the damage inflicted is greater
> than the
> > vampire's current blood, are they immediately sent to torpor if they
> can't
> > prevent enough damage to refraim them from reaching a blood deficit?
>
> Vampires with damage they cannot heal go to torpor as soon as that
> damage resolves. Note that damage in excess of currently available
> blood is only one of several ways of sending a vampire to torpor in
> combat.

Correct. [6.4.3]

> > Or, can they play an additional strike with negative blood?
>
> Vampires cannot spend blood they do not have, but note that
> blood is not spent to heal damage until the strike resolution phase,
> and a vampire with 1 blood may choose to spend it on a Wolf Claws
> before strikes resolve even if the opposing minion has already
> declared a hand strike or other damaging strike.

Correct.

> > 3.) Can you only steal blood with a combat card as a strike, or can
> all
> > vampires attempt it as a strike?
>
> Any vampire that has the appropriate Discipline may play a strike card
> that steals blood, yes. It's not an inherent ability of vampires.

Correct. The only inherent strike a vampire has by default is "hand
strike". [6.4.3.1]

> > 4.) If a vampire is sent to torpor, are they tapped?
>
> Entering torpor does not alter a vampire's tapped/untapped state.

Correct.

> > 5.) When dealing damage, does a vampire go into torpor when they
> exceed
> > their blood capacity in damage, or meet it? For example, a 1
> strength
> > vampire is struck in combat. Are they torporized? I doubt it,
since
> they
> > would never be able to hunt with no blood. I just want a
> clarification.
>
> Only unhealed damage sends a vampire to torpor. Each point of blood
> burned heals one point of damage. So a vampire with 1 blood that
> takes 1 point of damage burns its 1 blood to heal 1 point of damage,
> and is not in torpor (but empty). Any additional damage to that
> vampire will go unhealed, since it has no more blood to burn, and the
> vampire becomes "wounded" and goes to torpor.

Correct. [6.4.6]

--
LSJ (vte...@white-wolf.com) VTES Net.Rep for White Wolf, Inc.
Links to revised rulebook, rulings, errata, and tournament rules:
http://www.white-wolf.com/vtes/

Jason Mowat

unread,
Jun 9, 2000, 3:00:00 AM6/9/00
to
Greets,

Thanks for all of the clarifications. You have opened my eyes to a number
of issues.

Thanks,
Jason

Jason Mowat <jmo...@attglobal.net> wrote in message
news:erX%4.10215$p73....@news2.mts.net...


> Greets all,
>
> I have a few questions, with which I'll be as specific as possible:
>

> Master Phase
> 1.) When you bring out a master card, that counts as your master action.
> But, say you bring out a master card, but you already have one in play
from
> a previous round (like a unique location). Can you still tap the unique
> location after you bring out a master card?
>

> 2.) Does Blood Doll use up the current master phase?
>

> Actions
> 1.) When performing a bleed action (with or without an action card), and
> your opponent decides not to block, can you play an action modifier to
> increase the bleed without fear of the block (since it was declared that a

> minion was not blocking the action)? This is being brought up because the
> Complete Rules Reference (2.7) states: III.D.NOTE - Action Modifiers may
be
> played only by the Acting Vampire at any time in the above sequence...
Now,
> sequence III.D.2 - Resolve Action occurs well after the block, so you can
> apply your modifiers (extra bleeds) there without fear of a block, right?
>

> 2.) A vampire with no blood must hunt. But, what if you play an action
> with one vampire, and play a card that substitutes the acting vampire with
> another, namely the one with no blood. The vampire with no blood could
have
> started to hunt first before the other actions were resolved.
>

> 3.) Leave torpor. How does a vampire leave torpor? When they are
damaged
> and sent to torpor, are they tapped in torpor, or untapped? If they are


> tapped in torpor, do they untap during the untap phase? Obviously the
> action of leaving torpor is considered an action.
>

> 4.) Is an untapped vampire in torpor considered ready? What happens if
> they have Talbot's Chainsaw while untapped in torpor?
>

> How To Resolve A Combat
> 1.) When playing a card with an optional maneuver, if the card is a
strike,
> do you play it during the establish range phase, or during the strike
phase?

> Thrown gate is a 1R with an optional maneuver, and is a strike card.
During
> the establish range phase, is that where you would play this card? Also,
if
> you use the range abilities for the card, do you have to use its strike
> abilities? The Official Errata states that optional maneuvers must be
used
> on the round that they are played.
>

> 2.) After strikes are resolved, if the damage inflicted is greater than
the
> vampire's current blood, are they immediately sent to torpor if they can't

> prevent enough damage to refraim them from reaching a blood deficit? Or,


> can they play an additional strike with negative blood?
>

> 3.) Can you only steal blood with a combat card as a strike, or can all
> vampires attempt it as a strike?
>

> 4.) If a vampire is sent to torpor, are they tapped?
>

> 5.) When dealing damage, does a vampire go into torpor when they exceed
> their blood capacity in damage, or meet it? For example, a 1 strength
> vampire is struck in combat. Are they torporized? I doubt it, since they
> would never be able to hunt with no blood. I just want a clarification.
>

0 new messages