Google Groups no longer supports new Usenet posts or subscriptions. Historical content remains viewable.
Dismiss

Giotto Verducci Q

5 views
Skip to first unread message

Dave Brereton

unread,
May 4, 2002, 3:26:18 AM5/4/02
to
Can a Vampire with no blood attempt to block Giotto Verducci?

Card text : Vampires must burn a blood to attempt to block Giotto

Halcyan 2 said:

Card text seems to indicate that a vampire must burn a blood to attempt it.
So
no, an empty vampire cannot attempt to block Giotto. Compare to Donal and
Archon where burning a blood is just an effect (as opposed to burn a blood
*to*
do something).

is this correct?


LSJ

unread,
May 4, 2002, 2:44:55 PM5/4/02
to

It is. "must do X to do Y" means that Y cannot be done unless X is done.
The key is in the "to" phrasing. Contrast with, for example, "A vampire
who attempts to block Giotto must burn a blood".


--
LSJ (vte...@white-wolf.com) V:TES Net.Rep for White Wolf, Inc.
Links to revised rulebook, rulings, errata, and tournament rules:
http://www.white-wolf.com/vtes/

Talo...@nospam.hotmail.com

unread,
May 5, 2002, 4:37:05 AM5/5/02
to
On Sat, 04 May 2002 18:44:55 GMT, LSJ <vte...@white-wolf.com> wrote:

>Dave Brereton wrote:
>>
>> Can a Vampire with no blood attempt to block Giotto Verducci?
>>
>> Card text : Vampires must burn a blood to attempt to block Giotto
>>
>> Halcyan 2 said:
>>
>> Card text seems to indicate that a vampire must burn a blood to attempt it. So
>> no, an empty vampire cannot attempt to block Giotto. Compare to Donal and
>> Archon where burning a blood is just an effect (as opposed to burn a blood *to*
>> do something).
>>
>> is this correct?
>
>It is. "must do X to do Y" means that Y cannot be done unless X is done.
>The key is in the "to" phrasing. Contrast with, for example, "A vampire
>who attempts to block Giotto must burn a blood".
>
>

If it were that text, then a vampire with 0 blood could attempt the
block, burning 1 blood to no affect?

T

LSJ

unread,
May 5, 2002, 3:22:17 PM5/5/02
to

?
Um, right.

0 new messages