Google Groups no longer supports new Usenet posts or subscriptions. Historical content remains viewable.
Dismiss

Strikes and range

21 views
Skip to first unread message

brandons...@yahoo.com

unread,
Dec 3, 2008, 7:26:38 PM12/3/08
to
Another rules question for you folks, if you don't mind.
Can I use a strike card at long range that would only harm my opponent
at close range? If so, does the strike have it's non-damaging effect?
Here's an example:
Minion A maneuvers to long range
Minion B doesn't maneuver back to close
Minion A strikes with his SNS
Minion B strikes with Lamb Into at vic

Can minion B strike with Lamb Into? (I think yes)
Does minion B's strike still have the effect from the card? (I think
yes)

I was confused by the online rules, which I'm beginning to think
aren't the best reference.

Brandon

6.4.3

Resolve Strike. The effects of the strikes from both minions are
resolved simultaneously. *Most strikes are effective only at close
range. Unless the strike is identified as ranged or does "R" damage
(or is a defensive strike such as dodge or combat ends), it is only
effective at close range.* Ranged strikes and strikes that do "R"
damage can be used at any range, close or long.

(The key to this section would be interpreting what they mean by
"effective")

Lamb Into
Cardtype: Combat
Discipline: Fortitude/Potence/Vicissitude
Requires an anarch. Do not replace until after combat. Strike: hand
strike or use a melee weapon strike.
[for] This strike is at +1 damage, with an optional maneuver.
[pot] This strike is at +2 damage.
[vic] This strike is at +1 damage, with an optional press. If another
round of combat occurs, range is automatically close.

dasei...@hotmail.com

unread,
Dec 3, 2008, 7:44:08 PM12/3/08
to

You can definitely play close range strikes at long range (in fact,
unless you have another strike card or ability or effect, you MUST
declare a strike for hand damage). However they have no effect at all.
You can play Lam Into to cycle a card, but it doesn’t actually do
anything (including giving you a press or whatever). Similarly you can
play Might Grapple at POT at long range but you don’t get a press
either. Also, at long range you can declare hand strike and play Wolf
Claws to make it agg, but you can’t then Rotschreck the opposing
minion. You’re not “attempting to inflict damage” because your strike
isn’t one that has any effect at that range (similar for a minion with
zero strength playing wolf claws; can’t Rotschreck either). You just
get a chance to declare it.
(pretty sure that’s how it works)

LSJ

unread,
Dec 3, 2008, 8:35:07 PM12/3/08
to

Correct.

> However they have no effect at all.

Not quite true.

> You can play Lam Into to cycle a card, but it doesn’t actually do
> anything (including giving you a press or whatever).

It will give you a press at [vic] at long range.

> Similarly you can
> play Might Grapple at POT at long range but you don’t get a press
> either.

You get the press at long range, too.

> Also, at long range you can declare hand strike and play Wolf
> Claws to make it agg, but you can’t then Rotschreck the opposing
> minion. You’re not “attempting to inflict damage” because your strike
> isn’t one that has any effect at that range (similar for a minion with
> zero strength playing wolf claws; can’t Rotschreck either). You just
> get a chance to declare it.

Well, you can't Rötschreck, that's true.
But it's because you aren't attempting to inflict agg "on the opposing minion",
as required by Rötschreck.

dasei...@hotmail.com

unread,
Dec 3, 2008, 9:47:18 PM12/3/08
to
> > However they have no effect at all.
>
> Not quite true.
>
> It will give you a press at [vic] at long range.

Why? I thought close range strikes didn't work at long range. Or 'had
no effect'. They certainly don't do any damage. So what do they do?
Anything besides damage? That can't be true either, since a close
range steal blood / life strike wouldn't work at long range.
I’m guessing that any part of the strike that directly affects the
opposing minion (damage, stealing blood, destroying equipment) doesn’t
work? But other things about the strike DO happen at whatever range,
i.e. granting presses, manuevers on the next round, etc?

witness1

unread,
Dec 3, 2008, 9:55:15 PM12/3/08
to

They don't have any effect on the other minion. They can have effects
on the striking minion, such as giving him a press.

-witness1

brandons...@yahoo.com

unread,
Dec 3, 2008, 10:28:23 PM12/3/08
to
On Dec 3, 5:35 pm, LSJ <vtes...@white-wolf.com> wrote:

Ah cool, thanks. In the Anarchs and Alastors storyline tournament I
used Steely Tenacity at ani to get a press when my opponent had gone
to long. Once I got up close and personal with POT the next round, it
was all over ;) Good to know that was a legal play.

Brandon

0 new messages