VTES Rules Team Rulings 06-DEC-1999

89 views
Skip to first unread message

LSJ

unread,
Dec 6, 1999, 3:00:00 AM12/6/99
to Vampire Mailing List
Q: Does Life Boon's effect extend to the 1/2 VP awarded at the end of
a round (in a DCI tournament) when time runs out?
A: Yes. If a player who has received a Boon hasn't been ousted when time
runs out (and still has the Boon), then the Methuselah who played the
Boon receives the 1/2 VP (in addition to her own 1/2 VP, if she is
also still in the game when time runs out). In general, the Boon will
award VPs, even fractional VPs, until it has awarded a total of one VP
to the Methuselah who played it. Once a full VP has been awarded, then
the Life Boon is burned.

Q: What happens to counters (like Disease counters or Corruption counters)
on a vampire who is Banished? How about counters on cards on a Banished
vampire (life counters on Retainers or counters on Temptation, for
example)?
A: All counters remain on the vampire and on the cards on him when he goes
to the Uncontrolled Region. The counters' effects only apply when the
card they are on is controlled, however, unless the rules or card text
says otherwise.

Q: A Toreador with Aching Beauty is blocked, but then plays Change of
Target (or the blocker plays Obedience). Does the blocker's controller
still burn a pool?
A: Yes. There had been some talk of changing the mechanic of blocking and
block-induced combat (to match the Sabbat text of Obedience), but that
was too complicated and unintuitive, and it led to some mis-matched
rulings. Both Obedience and Change of Target are played after the block
is successful but before the blocker is tapped and combat begins. (Note:
this is errata to the Sabbat version of Obedience, making it read as the
V:TES version reads.)

Q: A vampire diablerizes an older vampire and wants to play Soul Stealing.
Does he play Soul Stealing before or after getting a discipline card?
A: Before or after, at his option, so long as he plays it before the
Blood Hunt.

Q: Can Voter Captivation be played after cards are replaced for a
referendum?
A: Yes. Methuselahs draw back up to their hand sizes "after the
referendum" [6.3.2] and Voter Captivation is played "after a
successful <referendum>". Since the timings are the same, they can be
done in any order.

Q: If a Malkavian rescues an untapped, empty vampire controlled by the
"active" Methuselah from torpor via a Madness Network rescue action,
does the rescued vampire have to hunt?
A: No. The stipulation on Madness Network that the action be taken "after
another Methuselah has finished all of his or her minion phase actions"
means that she cannot take any more minion phase actions, effectively
prohibiting her minions from hunting.

Q: If a vampire plays Undead Persistence (inferior), but gets hit for
enough damage (again) to send him to torpor in a later round, will
the Undead Persistence still keep him out of torpor?
A: Yes. The V:TES printing of Undead Persistence omitted the continuing
protection that the Jyhad version specified. The Jyhad text is correct.

--
LSJ (vte...@wizards.com) V:TES Net.Rep for Wizards of the Coast.
Links to revised rulebook, rulings, errata, and tournament rules:
http://www.wizards.com/VTES/rules.asp

LSJ

unread,
Dec 6, 1999, 3:00:00 AM12/6/99
to Vampire Mailing List
On VTES-L, Sorrow wrote:
>
> > Q: If a vampire plays Undead Persistence (inferior), but gets hit for
> > enough damage (again) to send him to torpor in a later round, will
> > the Undead Persistence still keep him out of torpor?
> > A: Yes. The V:TES printing of Undead Persistence omitted the continuing
> > protection that the Jyhad version specified. The Jyhad text is correct.
>
> Does this extend to agg damage? If a vamp going to
> torpor (with 0 blood) plays UP to remain in combat,
> if that vamp takes and does not prevent a point of
> agg damage, will that vamp go to torpor anyway
> regardless of UP? What if that same vamp instead
> takes 2 points of agg damage? Will it burn?

A vampire who is wounded (torporized by some effect, like aggravated damage,
that he fails to prevent or cancel) but who plays Undead Persistence to
avoid going to torpor immediately is still wounded.

Every point of aggravated damage done to a wounded vampire, Undead
Persistence or not, will burn him unless he pays a blood to prevent
destruction.

If he has no blood, then a single point of aggravated damage will burn him.

LSJ

unread,
Dec 6, 1999, 3:00:00 AM12/6/99
to
LSJ wrote:
> Q: A Toreador with Aching Beauty is blocked, but then plays Change of
> Target (or the blocker plays Obedience). Does the blocker's controller
> still burn a pool?
> A: Yes. There had been some talk of changing the mechanic of blocking and
> block-induced combat (to match the Sabbat text of Obedience), but that
> was too complicated and unintuitive, and it led to some mis-matched
> rulings. Both Obedience and Change of Target are played after the block
> is successful but before the blocker is tapped and combat begins. (Note:
> this is errata to the Sabbat version of Obedience, making it read as the
> V:TES version reads.)
>
> Q: If a vampire plays Undead Persistence (inferior), but gets hit for
> enough damage (again) to send him to torpor in a later round, will
> the Undead Persistence still keep him out of torpor?
> A: Yes. The V:TES printing of Undead Persistence omitted the continuing
> protection that the Jyhad version specified. The Jyhad text is correct.

Actually, the V:TES printing was correct as well - it is the Sabbat version
that is being errata'ed. Apologies for the error.

--

With the general rule of "all cards are played by the most recent card text",
I have received a request to list the cards that don't follow that rule (that
have errata making them function as an earlier printing read). Here's that
list (which is just a subset of the errata list):

Clan hosers mis-printed to require clan control (errata'ed to remove
that requirement, as in the Jyhad versions):
Gangrel Atavism (Gangrel De-evolution)
Malkavian Dementia
Tragic Love Affair

Academic HG - VTES errataed to read as Jyhad version (untap phase).
Asylum HG - VTES errataed to read as Jyhad version (2 pool).
Hector Sosa - VTES errataed to read as Jyhad version (superior POT).
Major Boon - VTES errataed to allow others (not just "you") to modify the
bleed, as in the Jyhad version.
Malkavian Prank - VTES errataed to read as Jyhad version ("other" Meth, and
you gain blood from them, not from the bank).
Obedience - Sabbat errataed to read as VTES version (timing, cancel combat).
Parity Shift - VTES version errataed so that the re-apportionment is
specified before the voting, as in the Jyhad version.
Ritual of the Bitter Rose - VTES errataed to work as Jyhad version (usable as
a modifier outside combat; usable in combat when burning opponent).
Second Tradition - VTES errataed to be usable by an untapped vampire, as in
the Jyhad printing.
Smiling Jack the Anarch - VTES errated to read as Jyhad (each "other" Meth).
Soul Gem - VTES errataed to read as Jyhad (no cost, post-diablerie function).
Undead Persistence - Sabbat errataed to read as V:TES (continuing protection).

pie...@my-deja.com

unread,
Dec 8, 1999, 3:00:00 AM12/8/99
to

> Q: If a vampire plays Undead Persistence (inferior), but gets hit for
> enough damage (again) to send him to torpor in a later round, will
> the Undead Persistence still keep him out of torpor?
> A: Yes. The V:TES printing of Undead Persistence omitted the
continuing
> protection that the Jyhad version specified. The Jyhad text is
correct.

> --
> LSJ (vte...@wizards.com) V:TES Net.Rep for Wizards of the Coast.
> Links to revised rulebook, rulings, errata, and tournament rules:
> http://www.wizards.com/VTES/rules.asp


?Correction? : V:TES is written per Jyhad text. Sabbat is the weirdly
worded (misprinted) version.

or perhaps I had a bad brownie at lunch.
Stu
-Your Friendly Neighborhood Camarilla Scholar


Sent via Deja.com http://www.deja.com/
Before you buy.

Reply all
Reply to author
Forward
0 new messages