Concoction of Vitality Question (LSJ)

36 views
Skip to first unread message

Randi S. Herdman

unread,
Oct 28, 1998, 3:00:00 AM10/28/98
to
Thanks for the quick response on my last question, but here's a new one:

Concoction of Vitality says if burned "vampires cannot play cards requiring Disciplines until the
action is complete."

Can a vampire do an action that requires a discipline and burn the concoction to make it
unblockable?

Thanks

Neil Paananen (not Randi S. Herdman)

LSJ

unread,
Oct 28, 1998, 3:00:00 AM10/28/98
to
{Neil Paananen} wrote:
> Concoction of Vitality says if burned "vampires cannot play cards requiring Disciplines until the
> action is complete."
>
> Can a vampire do an action that requires a discipline and burn the concoction to make it
> unblockable?

Yes.

--
L. Scott Johnson (vte...@wizards.com) VTES Net.Rep for Wizards of the Coast.
Links to revised rulebook, rulings, errata, and DCI (tournament) rules:
http://www.wizards.com/VTES/VTES_Rules.html

agen...@my-dejanews.com

unread,
Oct 28, 1998, 3:00:00 AM10/28/98
to

>> Can a vampire do an action that requires a discipline and
>> burn the concoction to make it unblockable?
> Yes.

hrmmm...
Govern + Conditioning then Burn the Concoction (before the
block declaration) for an unblockable bleed of 5(6).
Sounds interesting.

a0

-----------== Posted via Deja News, The Discussion Network ==----------
http://www.dejanews.com/ Search, Read, Discuss, or Start Your Own

Dhar...@yahoo.com

unread,
Oct 28, 1998, 3:00:00 AM10/28/98
to

> agentzero wrote:
> Govern + Conditioning then Burn the Concoction (before the
> block declaration) for an unblockable bleed of 5(6).
> Sounds interesting.

No...the card pretty much says that you can't play action
mods that require disciplines. Action modifiers are played
after the action is announced. If you use it for an unblockable
rush comabt, you don't get to play any combat cards that
require disciplines either.

Card Title: Concoction of Vitality
Card Text: Unique equipment
When the vampire with this card announces an action,
he or she may burn this card to prevent vampires from
blocking that action. If he or she does so, this vampire


cannot play cards requiring Disciplines until the action
is complete.

Noal McDonald
Anarch Troublemaker of Westland, MI

--
"DISCUSSION, n. A method of confirming others in their errors."
-Ambrose Bierce.

agen...@my-dejanews.com

unread,
Oct 28, 1998, 3:00:00 AM10/28/98
to

> > agentzero wrote:
> > Govern + Conditioning then Burn the Concoction (before the
> > block declaration) for an unblockable bleed of 5(6).
> > Sounds interesting.
>
> No...the card pretty much says that you can't play action
> mods that require disciplines. Action modifiers are played
> after the action is announced.

It says no such thing.
It may imply that, but it doesn't say you cannot play action
mods.
I was under the impression that you can do:

"I'm going to bleed you with Govern and Conditioning for a
bleed of 5(6)".

If I am correct, then that seems to me like an action declaration
to me.
LSJ?

a0

LSJ

unread,
Oct 29, 1998, 3:00:00 AM10/29/98
to
agen...@my-dejanews.com wrote:
> [uncited poster wrote:]

> > agentzero wrote:
> > > Govern + Conditioning then Burn the Concoction (before the
> > > block declaration) for an unblockable bleed of 5(6).
> > > Sounds interesting.
> >
> > No...the card pretty much says that you can't play action
> > mods that require disciplines. Action modifiers are played
> > after the action is announced.
>
> It says no such thing.
> It may imply that, but it doesn't say you cannot play action
> mods.

That's what the uncited poster meant by "pretty much", I suspect.

> I was under the impression that you can do:
>
> "I'm going to bleed you with Govern and Conditioning for a
> bleed of 5(6)".
>
> If I am correct, then that seems to me like an action declaration
> to me.
> LSJ?

No. The action is "Govern inferior". The declaration of that action is
"Vamp A bleeds Methuselah B (the prey) with inferior Govern for 3 pool
at no stealth."

You play Conditioning on the action currently underway, which is after
it has been announced.

--
L. Scott Johnson (vte...@wizards.com) VTES Net.Rep for Wizards of the Coast.
Links to revised rulebook, rulings, errata, and DCI (tournament) rules:
http://www.wizards.com/VTES/VTES_Rules.html

-----------== Posted via Deja News, The Discussion Network ==----------

LSJ

unread,
Oct 29, 1998, 3:00:00 AM10/29/98
to
On VTES-L, ....salem christ.... wrote:

> LSJ <vte...@WIZARDS.COM> wrote:
> >{Neil Paananen} wrote:
> >> Concoction of Vitality says if burned "vampires cannot play cards

> requiring Disciplines until the
> >> action is complete."
> >>
> >> Can a vampire do an action that requires a discipline and burn the
> concoction to make it
> >> unblockable?
> >
> >Yes.
>
> is spying mission played after the action is complete? if so, does this
> mean it is playable after a concoction is burnied?

No. Spying Mission (superior) is played when the action resolves,
not after. There are no action modifiers that are played entirely
after the action (that is, after the onus of Concoction "wears off").
Even Freak Drive (the card that comes the closest) is played at the
end of the resolution, but still during the action (questionable
by card text, but it just won't work any other way - action
modifiers need something to modify, so can only be played when
there is an action currently in progress).

James Coupe

unread,
Oct 29, 1998, 3:00:00 AM10/29/98
to
In article <717u0u$7pp$1...@nnrp1.dejanews.com>, agen...@my-dejanews.com
writes

>"I'm going to bleed you with Govern and Conditioning for a
>bleed of 5(6)".
>
>If I am correct, then that seems to me like an action declaration
>to me.

When you declare Govern, you are playing an action card. By playing it,
you declare an action. Conditioning is not the action per se. It
modifies the action. Playing it is not part of announcing the basic
action you are taking.

--
James Coupe (Prince of Mercia, England)

Vampire: Elder Kindred Network
http://madnessnetwork.hexagon.net

Reply all
Reply to author
Forward
0 new messages