this is currently discussed in the German VEKN web forum:
Can Compel the Spirit be used on an Imbued?
And if so, what would be the starting life?
Obviously, the inf version will have a problem working, bringing a
crypt card into your hand, so we assume that this will not be possible.
But what about the sup version?
Compel the Spirit, Action, 1 blood, Necromancy, U
+1 stealth action. Only usable if a retainer or ally you control has
been burned since your last turn. [nec] Move the ally or retainer card
from your ash heap to your hand. [NEC] Move the ally or retainer card
from your ash heap to your ready region, even if this vampire doesn`t
meet the requirements, if any, of the card (use the normal version if
it requires a Discipline). Move X life counters from the blood bank to
the card, where X is the number of life printed on the card. If a
retainer is chosen, it must be placed on the acting minion.
Regards,
Hardy Range
Prince of Bochum, Germany
> Can Compel the Spirit be used on an Imbued?
Yes.
> And if so, what would be the starting life?
"the number of life printed on the card" is the number in
the green circle, representing their starting life.
I thought anywhere outside the ready/incapacitated region they were
treated as vampire cards, and thus not targetable by compel.
G
At superior. At inferior, it would move a crypt card to your hand,
which isn't allowed.
--
James Coupe
PGP Key: 0x5D623D5D YOU ARE IN ERROR.
EBD690ECD7A1FB457CA2 NO-ONE IS SCREAMING.
13D7E668C3695D623D5D THANK YOU FOR YOUR COOPERATION.
Exactly, Imbued are crypt cards. So I don't think you can play Compel
the Spirit even at superior. "Move the ally or retainer card from your
ash heap". While Imbued are allies, they aren't "ally cards", which have
the little "i" icon in the top left corner.
That's my take, anyway.
--
salem
http://users.tpg.com.au/adsltqna/vtes/
(replace 'hotmail' with 'yahoo' to email)
Vampires are also crypt cards. But they're also vampire cards. See the
rules passim, and Clio's Kiss.
It would seem unusual for Imbued to be crypt cards but not also ally
cards.
>So I don't think you can play Compel the Spirit even at superior. "Move
>the ally or retainer card from your ash heap". While Imbued are allies,
>they aren't "ally cards", which have the little "i" icon in the top
>left corner.
I'm 90% certain LSJ confirmed this while NoR was coming out, on the WW
Forums. However, what with the forums expiring, I can't confirm that.
Maybe now's the time to think about archiving LSJ's posts from the WW
Forums...
The Forums are expiring?
Comments Welcome,
Norman S. Brown, Jr
XZealot
Archon of the Swamp
Correct.
Imbued are allies.
Imbued cards are ally cards.
> >So I don't think you can play Compel the Spirit even at superior. "Move
> >the ally or retainer card from your ash heap". While Imbued are allies,
> >they aren't "ally cards", which have the little "i" icon in the top
> >left corner.
>
> I'm 90% certain LSJ confirmed this while NoR was coming out, on the WW
> Forums. However, what with the forums expiring, I can't confirm that.
>
> Maybe now's the time to think about archiving LSJ's posts from the WW
> Forums...
Or just echo it here.
Yes. The last post on page 5 is, presently, dated April 29. Earlier
posts are not available. In Usenet terms, the posts have expired.
When are those book-burning fascists at White Wolf ever going to learn.
Tell the censors over at White Wolf, that we believe in the freedom of
speech here in America not Amerika. Bunch of goose-stepping lemmings,
I tell you!