[LSJ] The life of allies

13 views
Skip to first unread message

Chris Arthur

unread,
May 19, 2003, 11:22:13 PM5/19/03
to
1. If you ghoul an ally is his starting amount considered one greater
than his card text? i.e. If Muddles was Ghouled and down to one life
could the Vagabond Mystic tap to give him another?

2. Is Jake Washington's starting amount considered 1? If not, can the
Mystics add as much life to him as they want?

Chris.

salem

unread,
May 20, 2003, 12:13:06 AM5/20/03
to
On 19 May 2003 20:22:13 -0700, chr...@comcen.com.au (Chris Arthur)
scrawled:

>1. If you ghoul an ally is his starting amount considered one greater
>than his card text? i.e. If Muddles was Ghouled and down to one life
>could the Vagabond Mystic tap to give him another?

heh. i was going to ask the same question.

>2. Is Jake Washington's starting amount considered 1?

erm, yes? what else would it be?

>If not, can the
>Mystics add as much life to him as they want?

no. you're just trying to milk as much out of your new deck as
possible now. :)

but don't forget to Ghoulify the Vagabond mystic, and give him True
Faith, and send him into fight The Great Beast with a fake out and a
thrown sewer lid.

salem
domain:canberra http://www.geocities.com/salem_christ.geo/vtes.htm

Halcyan 2

unread,
May 20, 2003, 12:27:46 AM5/20/03
to
>but don't forget to Ghoulify the Vagabond mystic, and give him True
>Faith, and send him into fight The Great Beast with a fake out and a
>thrown sewer lid.


Though once you Ghoul the Vagabond Mystic, you'll have to pay a pretty hefty
price to give him True Faith since he's not Mortal anymore...


Halcyan 2

ah...the price of immortality...

salem

unread,
May 20, 2003, 12:56:21 AM5/20/03
to
On 20 May 2003 04:27:46 GMT, halc...@aol.com (Halcyan 2) scrawled:

"Lets' find out, and damn the expense."
(Fortunes: 5c)
"Damn the expense!"

-Bender, Futurama.

Chris.QJ

unread,
May 20, 2003, 5:03:39 AM5/20/03
to
chr...@comcen.com.au (Chris Arthur) schrieb:

hi

the starting life of an ally is just that, starting amount, it is not
a limit. so an ally can gain and have an unlimited amount of life.
(exception: shambling hordes)

regards
Chris.QJ

salem

unread,
May 20, 2003, 6:47:32 AM5/20/03
to
On Tue, 20 May 2003 09:03:39 GMT, Chris.QJ <kut...@gmx.atNOSPAM>
scrawled:

but vagabond mystic says to add 1 life to an ally that has _less than
it's starting amount_, so the starting amount it rather relevant.

LSJ

unread,
May 20, 2003, 8:30:25 AM5/20/03
to
Chris Arthur wrote:
> 1. If you ghoul an ally is his starting amount considered one greater
> than his card text? i.e. If Muddles was Ghouled and down to one life
> could the Vagabond Mystic tap to give him another?

No. The mortal is recruited as normal and is still a mortal when recruited.
Then, once the recruitment is successful, the Ghouled card is placed on
the ally (converting him to a Ghoul) and the ally gains 1 life.

Aside: Therefore, Sunset Strip could be used to reduce the cost of the
soon-to-be ghoul, since he's not yet a non-mortal.

> 2. Is Jake Washington's starting amount considered 1? If not, can the
> Mystics add as much life to him as they want?

His starting life is 1, yes.

The only other alternative would be that he has no effective starting
life, so VM would not be usable at all (cf. Grandest Trick), so this
ruling doesn't affect the utility of the Mystic one way or the other
with respect to Jake.

--
LSJ (vte...@white-wolf.com) V:TES Net.Rep for White Wolf, Inc.
Links to V:TES news, rules, cards, utilities, and tournament calendar:
http://www.white-wolf.com/vtes/

Reply all
Reply to author
Forward
0 new messages