Google Groups no longer supports new Usenet posts or subscriptions. Historical content remains viewable.
Dismiss

Chain of command

7 views
Skip to first unread message

niko...@hotmail.com

unread,
Sep 20, 2006, 3:41:13 PM9/20/06
to
+1 stealth action. [dom] Put X younger vampires from your uncontrolled
region in play with 1 blood from the blood bank each (in addition to
any blood they already have). You cannot choose any unique vampires
already in play. Those vampires must bleed. When one of them bleeds
successfully, or when all that can bleed have, move them all to the
bottom of your crypt. [DOM] As above, but move X+1 younger vampires.


Illusions of the Kindred, Combat, 2 blood, Chimerstry, V3 , [AH:V3,
FN:PR]
Only usable before range is determined. [chi] Combat ends. Move the
bottom card of your crypt to your ready region. He or she does not
contest any other vampires or titles in play. The vampire has an amount
of blood equal to half of his or her capacity (round down). Combat
begins between the vampire and the opposing minion. Remove the vampire
from the game at the end of combat. [CHI] As above, but the vampire has
an amount of blood equal to his or her capacity.


Illusions specifically says that the vampire doesnt contest. Chain of
command, just says that it cant be contesting with the ones in play. I
assume the "you cannot contest with yourself" kicks in if you try to
select two copies of the same vampire in the uncontrolled region?

Jozxyqk

unread,
Sep 20, 2006, 6:30:59 PM9/20/06
to
niko...@hotmail.com wrote:
> Illusions specifically says that the vampire doesnt contest. Chain of
> command, just says that it cant be contesting with the ones in play. I
> assume the "you cannot contest with yourself" kicks in if you try to
> select two copies of the same vampire in the uncontrolled region?

Nothing in VTES is truly simultaneous.
You put the Chained vampires in play one at a time (and therefore can't
self-contest).

niko...@hotmail.com

unread,
Sep 20, 2006, 7:11:17 PM9/20/06
to

So I cant play the card, or I cant choose those vampires, or do they
come in and then burn?

Jozxyqk

unread,
Sep 20, 2006, 7:20:14 PM9/20/06
to
niko...@hotmail.com wrote:

You choose the vampires one at a time. Therefore, you can only choose
vampires that are not going to contest.

niko...@hotmail.com

unread,
Sep 20, 2006, 7:35:17 PM9/20/06
to

Ok, thanks.
Bummer, wanted to Chain the new Servius for some handsize boostage! :)

Salem

unread,
Sep 21, 2006, 8:37:44 AM9/21/06
to

wait, what?

I'm sure you choose all the vampires when you announce the action. Then
later, you move them into the ready region one at a time. when you're
choosing them ,it's ok to choose 2 or more the same, as long as they're
not in play when you announce the action.

eg: i do a chain of command with X = 2. i choose this one (points) and
this one (points).
no blockers? cool.
move vampire 1 into ready region. move vampire 2 into ready region. if
vampire 2 is the same as vampire 1, then vampire 2 burns on it's way in
to the ready region.

--
salem
http://users.tpg.com.au/adsltqna/vtes/
(replace 'hotmail' with 'yahoo' to email)

Jozxyqk

unread,
Sep 21, 2006, 8:50:02 AM9/21/06
to
Salem <salem_ch...@hotmail.com> wrote:
> > You choose the vampires one at a time. Therefore, you can only choose
> > vampires that are not going to contest.

> wait, what?

> I'm sure you choose all the vampires when you announce the action. Then
> later, you move them into the ready region one at a time. when you're
> choosing them ,it's ok to choose 2 or more the same, as long as they're
> not in play when you announce the action.

You don't have to choose the vampires when the action is announced. You
only have to choose what X is.

"[dom] Put X younger vampires from your uncontrolled region in play..."

But even if you did choose them when the action was announced, you are not
allowed to take a voluntary action that would cause you to self-contest.

[4.1]
"You can't control more than one of the same unique card at a time, and you
cannot contest cards with yourself (if some effect would force you to contest
a card with yourself, then you simply burn the incoming copy of the unique
card)."

Chain of Command isn't *forcing* you to do anything. You're making a choice.
And you can't choose to self-contest.

The Bakija Gambit can really only (legally) happen if you've Governed Down (for
example) and don't have enough transfers to pull back enough to stop that vamp
from coming out.

..IANLSJ, this is just my understanding of the way things are.

LSJ

unread,
Sep 21, 2006, 9:02:55 AM9/21/06
to
Jozxyqk wrote:

> Salem <salem_ch...@hotmail.com> wrote:
> Chain of Command isn't *forcing* you to do anything. You're making a choice.
> And you can't choose to self-contest.

Correct.

Salem

unread,
Sep 21, 2006, 6:51:55 PM9/21/06
to
Jozxyqk wrote:
> Salem <salem_ch...@hotmail.com> wrote:
>> > You choose the vampires one at a time. Therefore, you can only choose
>> > vampires that are not going to contest.
>
>> wait, what?
>
>> I'm sure you choose all the vampires when you announce the action. Then
>> later, you move them into the ready region one at a time. when you're
>> choosing them ,it's ok to choose 2 or more the same, as long as they're
>> not in play when you announce the action.
>
> You don't have to choose the vampires when the action is announced. You
> only have to choose what X is.
>
> "[dom] Put X younger vampires from your uncontrolled region in play..."
>
> But even if you did choose them when the action was announced, you are not
> allowed to take a voluntary action that would cause you to self-contest.

Don't we have to choose the target of a Bum's Rush when we announce the
action? We don't say "hey methuselah, I'm entering combat with one of
your minions. Do you block? No, ok, i choose Arika. Man I hate her".

Or is it the explicit text of 'choose' on CoC that is the distinction?
I'm pretty sure I like my targets to be defined on announcement, though.
Maybe that's just me.

> [4.1]
> "You can't control more than one of the same unique card at a time, and you
> cannot contest cards with yourself (if some effect would force you to contest
> a card with yourself, then you simply burn the incoming copy of the unique
> card)."
>
> Chain of Command isn't *forcing* you to do anything. You're making a choice.
> And you can't choose to self-contest.

Ok, fair call.
(and I'm not just saying that cause of LSJ's 'correct' follow-up post. :)

> ...IANLSJ, this is just my understanding of the way things are.

you sure YANLSJ? You seem to know a bit about these 'rules' things....

Jozxyqk

unread,
Sep 21, 2006, 8:05:03 PM9/21/06
to
Salem <salem_ch...@hotmail.com> wrote:
> Jozxyqk wrote:
> > Salem <salem_ch...@hotmail.com> wrote:
> >> > You choose the vampires one at a time. Therefore, you can only choose
> >> > vampires that are not going to contest.
> >
> >> wait, what?
> >
> >> I'm sure you choose all the vampires when you announce the action. Then
> >> later, you move them into the ready region one at a time. when you're
> >> choosing them ,it's ok to choose 2 or more the same, as long as they're
> >> not in play when you announce the action.
> >
> > You don't have to choose the vampires when the action is announced. You
> > only have to choose what X is.
> >
> > "[dom] Put X younger vampires from your uncontrolled region in play..."
> >
> > But even if you did choose them when the action was announced, you are not
> > allowed to take a voluntary action that would cause you to self-contest.

> Don't we have to choose the target of a Bum's Rush when we announce the
> action? We don't say "hey methuselah, I'm entering combat with one of
> your minions. Do you block? No, ok, i choose Arika. Man I hate her".

I think LSJ, by eliminating this part in his followup post, is saying that I am
kinda wrong here.

but it is moot because...

> > Chain of Command isn't *forcing* you to do anything. You're making a choice.
> > And you can't choose to self-contest.

> Ok, fair call.
> (and I'm not just saying that cause of LSJ's 'correct' follow-up post. :)

...yes, he did confirm this part :)

> > ...IANLSJ, this is just my understanding of the way things are.

> you sure YANLSJ? You seem to know a bit about these 'rules' things....

I'm an expert on picking out obscure combinations of things.
(Not always an expert on getting the correct answers, but on finding the
right questions to ask.. even if the answer ends up to be "Card Text" 90%
of the time)

0 new messages