Google Groups no longer supports new Usenet posts or subscriptions. Historical content remains viewable.
Dismiss

Self-rescue from torpor + block + slave mechanic

16 views
Skip to first unread message

ira...@gmail.com

unread,
Feb 3, 2008, 1:15:21 AM2/3/08
to
Hello LSJ,

I control Ian Forestal, a Tremere Antitribu, in torpor, and a ready
Tupdog, a Tremere Anti slave.

If Ian tries to rescue himself, and gets blocked, may I tap the Tupdog
to prevent Ian from getting diablerized?

If yes, may I require the blocking vampire's controller to declare
whether or not the blocking vampire will actually diablerize, before I
decide to jump in with the slave?

Thanks,
Ira

SPORE

unread,
Feb 3, 2008, 4:31:00 AM2/3/08
to

ianlsj, nor really great at guessing, but i want to try this one:

#1 (from 11. special terms:) Slave: Some minions are identified as
slaves to a specified clan. A slave cannot take a directed action if
his controller doesn't control a ready member of the specified clan.
Also, if a member of the specified clan controlled by the same
Methuselah is blocked, the controller can tap the slave to cancel the
combat and to untap the acting vampire and have the slave enter combat
with the blocking minion instead.

#2 6.5.2. Leave Torpor Action (+1 stealth)
This action is the only one a vampire in torpor can take (unless a
card has explicit text saying otherwise). The cardless action costs 2
blood. (Card versions of this action cost whatever the card costs.)"
To have a vampire in torpor attempt to leave torpor, announce the
action and tap the acting vampire. If the action is successful, the
acting vampire pays the cost (2 blood) and moves from the torpor
region to the ready region. If this action is blocked, there is no
combat (vampires in torpor cannot enter combat). Instead, if the
blocker is a vampire, he gets the opportunity to diablerize the acting
vampire (see Diablerie, sec. 6.5.5). If he chooses not to, or if he is
an ally, then the action simply fails (the acting vampire remains in
torpor, and no cost is paid). This action has a default +1 stealth.

There are the rules involved. So my thought is that "if a member of
the specified clan controlled by the same Methuselah is blocked, the
controller can tap the slave to cancel the combat" is precluded by "If
this action is blocked, there is no combat."

(now, just the waiting to find out what the real reasoning is...)

john, not lsmft.

LSJ

unread,
Feb 3, 2008, 8:26:09 AM2/3/08
to
ira...@gmail.com wrote:
> Hello LSJ,
>
> I control Ian Forestal, a Tremere Antitribu, in torpor, and a ready
> Tupdog, a Tremere Anti slave.
>
> If Ian tries to rescue himself, and gets blocked, may I tap the Tupdog
> to prevent Ian from getting diablerized?

Yes.
http://groups.google.com/group/rec.games.trading-cards.jyhad/msg/52231ead130f0cd1

> If yes, may I require the blocking vampire's controller to declare
> whether or not the blocking vampire will actually diablerize, before I
> decide to jump in with the slave?

No. You invoke the slave rule when you declare that you're blocked.

ira...@gmail.com

unread,
Feb 4, 2008, 12:38:05 AM2/4/08
to
On Feb 3, 5:26 am, LSJ <vtes...@white-wolf.com> wrote:
> ira...@gmail.com wrote:
> > Hello LSJ,
>
> > I control Ian Forestal, a Tremere Antitribu, in torpor, and a ready
> > Tupdog, a Tremere Anti slave.
>
> > If Ian tries to rescue himself, and gets blocked, may I tap the Tupdog
> > to prevent Ian from getting diablerized?
>
> Yes.http://groups.google.com/group/rec.games.trading-cards.jyhad/msg/5223...

>
> > If yes, may I require the blocking vampire's controller to declare
> > whether or not the blocking vampire will actually diablerize, before I
> > decide to jump in with the slave?
>
> No. You invoke the slave rule when you declare that you're blocked.

Thanks for the Sunday answer. Sorry I didn't find the previous
answer. I searched only for "slave diablerie".

Ira, bad searcher

0 new messages