Google Groups no longer supports new Usenet posts or subscriptions. Historical content remains viewable.
Dismiss

ally question

5 views
Skip to first unread message

spinney99

unread,
Sep 24, 2001, 11:40:30 AM9/24/01
to
i found an lsj ruling that made me pretty sure of the answer to this
q?, but i'm a-askin' a-anyway. his ruling, paraphrased, is that an
ally who can play potence cards and has one life, who plays Pushing
the Limit, is burned upon payment for PtL, the strike never resolving,
as the combat can't continue after the ally is burned. of course,
makes perfect sense.
and now the question i'm sure has been answered but i couldn't find:
is an action the same? kherebutu (uses nec) only has 1 life on him,
and attempts to (infer) Compel the Spirit on a freshly-burned mr
winthrop, an action that costs 1 blood (in his case, life.) Cost of
the action is only paid if successful. the action is considered
successful once it is unblocked. but does the action resolve (i.e.
does mr winthrop come to my hand?) it seems odd terminology to call
an action successful but not carry out its effect, though the acting
ally is burning at about the same time. my guess is that the ally is
burned before resolution; therefore, no resolution. don't really want
to just guess, so i thought i'd ask.
-spintoy

"fair is foul and foul is fair. hover through the fog and filthy
air."
"scale of dragon, tooth of wolf, witch's mummy, maw and gulf of the
ravined salt-sea shark..."

LSJ

unread,
Sep 24, 2001, 12:07:54 PM9/24/01
to
spinney99 wrote:
>
> i found an lsj ruling that made me pretty sure of the answer to this
> q?, but i'm a-askin' a-anyway. his ruling, paraphrased, is that an
> ally who can play potence cards and has one life, who plays Pushing
> the Limit, is burned upon payment for PtL, the strike never resolving,
> as the combat can't continue after the ally is burned. of course,
> makes perfect sense.
> and now the question i'm sure has been answered but i couldn't find:
> is an action the same? kherebutu (uses nec) only has 1 life on him,

No. Actions are not paid for until they resolve.

> and attempts to (infer) Compel the Spirit on a freshly-burned mr
> winthrop, an action that costs 1 blood (in his case, life.) Cost of
> the action is only paid if successful. the action is considered
> successful once it is unblocked. but does the action resolve (i.e.
> does mr winthrop come to my hand?) it seems odd terminology to call
> an action successful but not carry out its effect, though the acting
> ally is burning at about the same time. my guess is that the ally is
> burned before resolution; therefore, no resolution. don't really want
> to just guess, so i thought i'd ask.

It resolves when paid for - you get Mr. Winthrop.

--
LSJ (vte...@white-wolf.com) V:TES Net.Rep for White Wolf, Inc.
Links to revised rulebook, rulings, errata, and tournament rules:
http://www.white-wolf.com/vtes/

spinney99

unread,
Sep 25, 2001, 1:59:34 AM9/25/01
to
LSJ <vte...@white-wolf.com> wrote in message news:<3BAF5A5A...@white-wolf.com>...

Actions are not paid for until they resolve.

> spinney99 wrote:
> (kherebutu...)


> > attempts to (infer) Compel the Spirit on a freshly-burned mr
> > winthrop, an action that costs 1 blood (in his case, life.) Cost of
> > the action is only paid if successful. the action is considered
> > successful once it is unblocked. but does the action resolve (i.e.
> > does mr winthrop come to my hand?)
>

It resolves when paid for - you get Mr. Winthrop.

=========
spin sez: thanks. that helps the nec/ally deck i'm working on.

"'her eyes have feasted on the dead, and small and shapely is her
head, and dark and small her mouth,' they said, 'and beautiful to
kiss; her mouth is sinister and red as blood in moonlight is.'" _
conrad aiken

0 new messages