Google Groups no longer supports new Usenet posts or subscriptions. Historical content remains viewable.
Dismiss

Nakhthorheb + Venenation

34 views
Skip to first unread message

bluedevil

unread,
Oct 21, 2007, 4:10:24 AM10/21/07
to
If Nakhthorheb is blocked and plays venenation on the blocking minion
does combat still occur since the block is no longer legal?

Wookie813

unread,
Oct 21, 2007, 5:36:40 AM10/21/07
to
On Oct 21, 4:10 am, bluedevil <david.cherryhol...@gmail.com> wrote:
> If Nakhthorheb is blocked and plays venenation on the blocking minion
> does combat still occur since the block is no longer legal?

I'm going to say yes, because it would be downright unfair if
Venenation became a "This Block Fails" card for him. He's already
enough of an @$$ with that card disallowing future block attempts.
Also, Venenation is only usable when a minion "is blocked", so
hopefully the granting of the block by Big N's controller moves the
action to resolution, which is the combat. Man, I hope so. I'm in a
Starter league with a guy playing the new FoS deck...

PaulW...@gmail.com

unread,
Oct 21, 2007, 5:49:26 AM10/21/07
to
The question is if combat would occur. I think we can all agree that
the action is blocked. But does it end without a combat, or does the
minion get a change to give nakh a beating?

Sorrow

unread,
Oct 21, 2007, 6:38:54 AM10/21/07
to
> The question is if combat would occur. I think we can all agree that
> the action is blocked. But does it end without a combat, or does the
> minion get a change to give nakh a beating?

I would combat occurs because the block was legal at the time Venenation was
played.

Sorrow


bluedevil

unread,
Oct 21, 2007, 7:50:59 AM10/21/07
to
I'm really not sure which way it would be ruled. I was just thinking
that, for example, you can Nose of the Hound someone who's tapped, but
if they untap in response to it the action fizzles, because they are
no longer a valid target. Can a block "fizzle" like an action can?

--

David Cherryholmes

PaulW...@gmail.com

unread,
Oct 21, 2007, 8:00:50 AM10/21/07
to

Yes that is possible. For example: Meth A has a minion (MA) has a
temptation (from Meth B) with enough counters to take control over it.
Meth B bleeds Meth A, A attempts to block with MA, in response Meth B
takes control of MA and the acting minion continues with his action as
though unblocked.

But this is something different the the above situation. The action is
surely blocked else venenation couldn't be played. So I think that
there is a combat, since that is part of the block.

LSJ

unread,
Oct 21, 2007, 8:23:35 AM10/21/07
to
Wookie813 wrote:
> On Oct 21, 4:10 am, bluedevil <david.cherryhol...@gmail.com> wrote:
>> If Nakhthorheb is blocked and plays venenation on the blocking minion
>> does combat still occur since the block is no longer legal?
>
> I'm going to say yes, because it would be downright unfair if
> Venenation became a "This Block Fails" card for him. He's already
> enough of an @$$ with that card disallowing future block attempts.
> Also, Venenation is only usable when a minion "is blocked", so
> hopefully the granting of the block by Big N's controller moves the
> action to resolution, which is the combat.

Correct, for the latter reason.

The block succeeds, then Venenation is played.

Tetragrammaton

unread,
Oct 21, 2007, 10:27:15 AM10/21/07
to

Akaif- the target must be a valid target at the time of declaring the nose
of the hound
If it manages to untap later is irrilevant

best

Emiliano


The Lasombra

unread,
Oct 21, 2007, 11:27:08 AM10/21/07
to
On Sun, 21 Oct 2007 16:27:15 +0200, "Tetragrammaton" <nos...@none.com>
wrote:

>Akaif- the target must be a valid target at the time of declaring the nose
>of the hound
>If it manages to untap later is irrilevant

Wrong.

Nose of the Hound cannot be used to enter combat with an untapped
minion. If the target is untapped, then the target is no longer a
valid target and, if the action isn't blocked, it will fizzle at
resolution (that is, the "enter combat with a tapped minion" will not
occur).

See Absence of Legal Target.

LSJ Jul 25 2002, 7:42 am
http://groups.google.com/group/rec.games.trading-cards.jyhad/msg/bb46ca056521778a

See also: Sho-Fizzle

LSJ Oct 4 2004, 2:37 pm
http://groups.google.com/group/rec.games.trading-cards.jyhad/msg/c3788873e0058947

Tetragrammaton

unread,
Oct 21, 2007, 6:29:39 PM10/21/07
to

Thanks for the clarifications ;-)


Klai...@gmail.com

unread,
Oct 22, 2007, 7:25:44 AM10/22/07
to
On 21 loka, 11:10, bluedevil <david.cherryhol...@gmail.com> wrote:
> If Nakhthorheb is blocked and plays venenation on the blocking minion
> does combat still occur since the block is no longer legal?

Lazy to look around eh blue? I asked this exact same question here few
weeks back. ;)

bluedevil

unread,
Oct 22, 2007, 9:06:32 AM10/22/07
to

Well, I wasn't going to bother to point it out, but actually that was
another one of our players posting under my account by accident.

--

David Cherryholmes

0 new messages