Rules Team Rulings: 05/30/96

34 views
Skip to first unread message

Thomas R Wylie

unread,
May 31, 1996, 3:00:00 AM5/31/96
to

GENERAL RULINGS

See Reversal #2 and Errata #13.

REVERSALS

1) Cards such as Enchant Kindred and Govern the Unaligned can only add
blood to vampires in your uncontrolled region, not in someone else's. This
is because the action does not have the (D) symbol.

2) Certain non-combat cards have the words "Do not replace until after
combat." Examples include Arson and Wake with Evening's Freshness. These
cards are not replaced until either the action is blocked and that combat
has ended or the action is completed without being blocked.

ERRATA TO CARDS AND RULES

1) Donal O'Connor forces a vampire blocking him to burn 1 blood
immediately regardless of whether combat begins.

2) Basic Cat Burglary is a directed action.

3) Superior Pulse of Canaille should begin with the words, "If this is the
first time Pulse of Canaille has been played on the acting vampire..." It
is not cumulative.

4) Renegade Garou's innate damage is considered to be hand damage.

5) The first sentence of Malkavian Prank should begin with "Each other
Methuselah..." You cannot play a prank on yourself.

6) Hidden Lurker is an action modifier played by a vampire other than the
acting vampire.

7) Academic Hunting Ground gives blood to vampires during the untap phase,
not the master phase.

8) Elder Intervention and Rats' Warning can be used during any bleed
attempt made against you, not just ones declared against you. For example,
you can use them when a bleed is Deflected to you.

9) A vampire who gets a bleed bonus if your prey controls a vampire of a
certain clan (or other sect) should get her bleed bonus if the Methuselah
she bleeds controls a vampire of that clan (or sect). Thus, the vampires
your prey controls only matter if you're bleeding your prey. This
includes: Constanza Vinzi, Cornelius Ottavio, Elisabetta Romano, Katarina,
Queen Anne, Rebekka, Ranjan Rishi, and Sigrid Bekker

10) On Clan Loyalty, ignore the word "other"; the vampire currently
attempting to block the action is not allowed to attempt to block the
acting vampire this turn.

11) If you play The Embrace or Progeny successfully, shuffle your library
afterwards.

12) Soul Gem of Etrius does not have a pool cost.

13) Any retainer that refers to the "vampire" employing the retainer
should be read as referring to the "minion" employing the retainer
instead, unless the retainer's ability involves something that clearly
only applies to vampires, such as rescuing vampires in torpor or burning
blood. Note that this is only likely to be relevant for retainers without
a Discipline or clan requirement, but the errata still applies to those
with such a requirement. This includes: Ghoul Escort, Ghoul Retainer,
Guiseppe, J.S. Simmons, Jackal (from Ancient Hearts), Jackie Therman, Mr.
Winthrop, Owl Companion, Raven Spy, Resplendent Protector, Spiritual
Protector, Tasha Morgan, Wolf Companion, and Zombie.

14) Ignore the words "untap this acting vampire" on Force of Will. The
vampire playing the card only takes one action: a (D) action to bleed with
the extra bleed and the damage afterwards.

CARD RULINGS

1) Astrid Thomas can only change the votes of other Tremere if she
actually casts her votes. If her votes are canceled by an effect such as
Pulled Strings, the other Tremere votes remain as they were.

2) If you play superior Spying Mission, the bleed you play it on is
considered unsuccessful. Previous Spying Missions won't be cashed in
during that action.

3) When Business Pressure is played, each Methuselah must decide how much
pool to burn for it during the resolution of the effect. It does not give
each player an ability for the rest of the political action. However,
there can be some give and take during the resolution of the effect. For
example, each Methuselah can choose to burn 1 pool at a time as pool is
burned for votes.


Tom Wylie rec.games.trading-cards.* Network Representative for
aa...@cats.ucsc.edu Wizards of the Coast, Inc.


Eric Pettersen

unread,
Jun 1, 1996, 3:00:00 AM6/1/96
to

aa...@cats.ucsc.edu (Thomas R Wylie) wrote:
>
> GENERAL RULINGS

An excellent set of rulings, and in particular...

> ERRATA TO CARDS AND RULES
>

> 6) Hidden Lurker is an action modifier played by a vampire other than
> the acting vampire.

Woo woo woo! Hidden Lurker as a no-stealth action was probably the one
card that burned my shorts the most. :-) I would still like to see superior
Enchant Kindred as a +1 stealth action, but that card isn't crucial to a
strategy whereas Hidden Lurker _is_ crucial to a Nosferatu (or for that
matter Giovanni) combat deck.

You may be able to beat up or avoid that _first_ Nossie, but what about
that other one just around the corner? Do you dare block Duck with his
big brother, Marty, nearby? Hmmm? <evil laughter here>


--Eric

The Corrupter

unread,
Jun 3, 1996, 3:00:00 AM6/3/96
to

On 31 May 1996, Thomas R Wylie wrote:

> 3) Superior Pulse of Canaille should begin with the words, "If this is the
> first time Pulse of Canaille has been played on the acting vampire..." It
> is not cumulative.

Seems a little redundant with most other Jyhad rulings (excepting the new
errata to change several cards to +1 hand damage) which seems to say that
3 means 3, not +2.



> 6) Hidden Lurker is an action modifier played by a vampire other than the
> acting vampire.

Thank you so much! I've been waiting so long! In any case, I'm curious
how this decision came out.



> 9) A vampire who gets a bleed bonus if your prey controls a vampire of a
> certain clan (or other sect) should get her bleed bonus if the Methuselah
> she bleeds controls a vampire of that clan (or sect). Thus, the vampires
> your prey controls only matter if you're bleeding your prey. This
> includes: Constanza Vinzi, Cornelius Ottavio, Elisabetta Romano, Katarina,
> Queen Anne, Rebekka, Ranjan Rishi, and Sigrid Bekker

A very sensible ruling.



> 14) Ignore the words "untap this acting vampire" on Force of Will. The
> vampire playing the card only takes one action: a (D) action to bleed with
> the extra bleed and the damage afterwards.

:)

Thank you so much for the ruling on Hidden LUrker. Nossies be back! ;)

"I can send and receive e-mail even over the Internet"-aol commercial
@#$@#$@#$@#$@#$@#$@#$@#$@#$@#$@#$@#$@#$@#$@#$@#$@#$@#$@#$@#$@#$@#$@#$
# Adrian Sullivan sull...@cslab.uwlax.edu Spoutingly yours 8^) #
$ GAT/CS/O/WS R+++* tv&--- b++(+++)&+ t X++&-- 5->? e+*>++++ PS+&-+ @
# PE&++&- C(+++)$ UX+>+++$ N++(+) K+>++++ w---$>? M++$ r(+) z*+? 3.1#
@#$@#$@#$@#$@#$@#$@#$@#$@#$@#$@#$@#$@#$@#$@#$@#$@#$@#$@#$@#$@#$@#$@#$


Thomas R Wylie

unread,
Jun 4, 1996, 3:00:00 AM6/4/96
to

The Corrupter <sull...@cslab.uwlax.edu> wrote:
>> 3) Superior Pulse of Canaille should begin with the words, "If this is the
>> first time Pulse of Canaille has been played on the acting vampire..." It
>> is not cumulative.
>Seems a little redundant with most other Jyhad rulings (excepting the new
>errata to change several cards to +1 hand damage) which seems to say that
>3 means 3, not +2.

The VTES version gives the vampire +2 bleed, rather than setting its
bleed to 3 (which actually makes it just like the new hand damage template).

>> 6) Hidden Lurker is an action modifier played by a vampire other than the
>> acting vampire.
>Thank you so much! I've been waiting so long! In any case, I'm curious
>how this decision came out.

It needed either this errata, or errata to be a (D) action, so we decided
to go with the popular vote :)

CurtAdams

unread,
Jun 4, 1996, 3:00:00 AM6/4/96
to

Wow, great. Reasonable rulings and clear distinctions between rulings and
errata.

One question: if a Wake is played, combat ensues, and somebody plays
Hidden Lurker/Fast Reaction, is the Wake then replaced prior to the next
combat? I'm assuming yes from the wording.

Curt Adams (curt...@aol.com)

WildStar

unread,
Jun 5, 1996, 3:00:00 AM6/5/96
to

Eric Pettersen wrote:

>
> pe...@cgl.ucsf.edu (Eric Pettersen) wrote:
> > aa...@cats.ucsc.edu (Thomas R Wylie) wrote:
> > >
> > > ERRATA TO CARDS AND RULES
> > ...

> > > 6) Hidden Lurker is an action modifier played by a vampire other than the
> > > acting vampire.
> >
> > In my enthusiasm for this ruling, I forgot to ask a few obvious questions.
> > The first two questions are foundation for the others: does playing an
> > action modifier tap the playing minion? Can a tapped minion play an action
> > modifier? I think the answer to both is yes...
>
> I think the answer is NO to the first and YES to the second. Can I get
> government money for a reading diability? I reread my own posts and still
> botch them 85% of the time. <sigh>
>
> --Eric

Actually.. I believe only ready, untapped minions can play reaction cards...

WyldStar

Eric Pettersen

unread,
Jun 6, 1996, 3:00:00 AM6/6/96
to

aa...@cats.ucsc.edu (Thomas R Wylie) wrote:
>
> ERRATA TO CARDS AND RULES
...
> 6) Hidden Lurker is an action modifier played by a vampire other than the
> acting vampire.

In my enthusiasm for this ruling, I forgot to ask a few obvious questions.
The first two questions are foundation for the others: does playing an
action modifier tap the playing minion? Can a tapped minion play an action

modifier? I think the answer to both is yes, (so superior Cloak the
Gathering can be played by tapped minions, for instance) but I thought
I'd check.

The natural follow-up question is: does the newly errataed Hidden Lurker
work as the text of the Jyhad version says (i.e. playable only by an
untapped minion; tap that minion)?

Thanks, Tom.
---
Eric Pettersen
pe...@cgl.ucsf.edu (NeXTmail capable)

Eric Pettersen

unread,
Jun 6, 1996, 3:00:00 AM6/6/96
to

pe...@cgl.ucsf.edu (Eric Pettersen) wrote:
> aa...@cats.ucsc.edu (Thomas R Wylie) wrote:
> >
> > ERRATA TO CARDS AND RULES
> ...
> > 6) Hidden Lurker is an action modifier played by a vampire other than the
> > acting vampire.
>
> In my enthusiasm for this ruling, I forgot to ask a few obvious questions.
> The first two questions are foundation for the others: does playing an
> action modifier tap the playing minion? Can a tapped minion play an action

The Corrupter

unread,
Jun 6, 1996, 3:00:00 AM6/6/96
to

On Wed, 5 Jun 1996, WildStar wrote:

> Eric Pettersen wrote:
> > pe...@cgl.ucsf.edu (Eric Pettersen) wrote:

> > > In my enthusiasm for this ruling, I forgot to ask a few obvious questions.
> > > The first two questions are foundation for the others: does playing an
> > > action modifier tap the playing minion? Can a tapped minion play an action
> > > modifier? I think the answer to both is yes...

> > I think the answer is NO to the first and YES to the second. Can I get
> > government money for a reading diability? I reread my own posts and still
> > botch them 85% of the time. <sigh>

> Actually.. I believe only ready, untapped minions can play reaction cards...

Hidden Lurker is an action Modifier not a reaction.

Thomas R Wylie

unread,
Jun 7, 1996, 3:00:00 AM6/7/96
to

Tapped minions can play action modifiers (acting vampires do it all the time..)
Tapped minions cannot play reactions.
Neither type of card taps the minion playing it.

Thomas R Wylie

unread,
Jun 7, 1996, 3:00:00 AM6/7/96
to

CurtAdams <curt...@aol.com> wrote:
>One question: if a Wake is played, combat ensues, and somebody plays
>Hidden Lurker/Fast Reaction, is the Wake then replaced prior to the next
>combat? I'm assuming yes from the wording.

Yes, as reversal #2 from the same list of rulings will tell you :)

David Pontes

unread,
Jun 7, 1996, 3:00:00 AM6/7/96
to

On 6 Jun 1996, Eric Pettersen wrote:

> pe...@cgl.ucsf.edu (Eric Pettersen) wrote:
> > aa...@cats.ucsc.edu (Thomas R Wylie) wrote:
> > >
> > > ERRATA TO CARDS AND RULES
> > ...
> > > 6) Hidden Lurker is an action modifier played by a vampire other than the
> > > acting vampire.
> >

> > In my enthusiasm for this ruling, I forgot to ask a few obvious questions.
> > The first two questions are foundation for the others: does playing an
> > action modifier tap the playing minion? Can a tapped minion play an action
> > modifier? I think the answer to both is yes...
>
> I think the answer is NO to the first and YES to the second.

Well, let's forget that you've answered you own question for a
minute and ponder a new issue:

- May hidden lurker be played by a tapped minion?

- May someone play action modifiers without being the acting
minion? (e.g. have a ventrue 'seduct' a potential blocker so that the
action taken by the brujah is unblockable by the seducted minion)?
[specific exception to cloak the gathering, superior].

Hope I made myself clear... It's not always easy, you know... :)

David Pontes

8[


L. Scott Johnson

unread,
Jun 7, 1996, 3:00:00 AM6/7/96
to

In article <4p7sql$8...@darkstar.UCSC.EDU>,

Thomas R Wylie <aa...@cats.ucsc.edu> wrote:
>
>Tapped minions can play action modifiers (acting vampires do it all the time..)
>Tapped minions cannot play reactions.
>Neither type of card taps the minion playing it.

Are you saying that the VtES version of Hidden Lurker (newly errata'ed
to be an action modifier) can be played by a tapped vampire, and won't tap
thatvampire if he is untapped (because it doesn't have the "I'm an
action modifier"-style restrictions that the Jyhad version did)?

rit...@bbs.cruzio.com

unread,
Jun 8, 1996, 3:00:00 AM6/8/96
to

In article <31B5EA...@ix.netcom.com>, WildStar <Wyld...@ix.netcom.com> writes:
> Eric Pettersen wrote:
> >
> > pe...@cgl.ucsf.edu (Eric Pettersen) wrote:
> > > aa...@cats.ucsc.edu (Thomas R Wylie) wrote:
> > > >
> > > > ERRATA TO CARDS AND RULES
> > > ...
> > > > 6) Hidden Lurker is an action modifier played by a vampire other than the
> > > > acting vampire.
> > >
> > > In my enthusiasm for this ruling, I forgot to ask a few obvious questions.
> > > The first two questions are foundation for the others: does playing an
> > > action modifier tap the playing minion? Can a tapped minion play an action
> > > modifier? I think the answer to both is yes...
> >
> > I think the answer is NO to the first and YES to the second. Can I get
> > government money for a reading diability? I reread my own posts and still
> > botch them 85% of the time. <sigh>
> >
> > --Eric

>
> Actually.. I believe only ready, untapped minions can play reaction cards...
>

Except, of course, for Wake with Evening's Freshness. However, this is
irrelevant, as this is a discussion about Action Modifiers. :)

> WyldStar

Ritaxis

"This knife is WAY too fun."
-Never say this


Eric Pettersen

unread,
Jun 9, 1996, 3:00:00 AM6/9/96
to

aa...@cats.ucsc.edu (Thomas R Wylie) wrote:
>
> Tapped minions can play action modifiers (acting vampires do it all the
> time..) Tapped minions cannot play reactions. Neither type of card taps
> the minion playing it.

Yes, good, as I thought. But the main intent of those questions was to
ask if the newly errataed Hidden Lurker worked that way (could be played
by a tapped minion; if played by an untapped minion then that minion
needn't tap), or if it is used as per the Jyhad HL text (playable only by
an untapped minion that taps to do HL)?

That was the real question.

Thomas R Wylie

unread,
Jun 10, 1996, 3:00:00 AM6/10/96
to

Whups. Both versions of Hidden Lurker tap the vampire playing them, even
though they are action modifiers (more errata to the VTES version).

Reply all
Reply to author
Forward
0 new messages