For Carnes! QUESTION

9 views
Skip to first unread message

Patrick Drapeau

unread,
Aug 27, 1996, 3:00:00 AM8/27/96
to

About Illusion of the Kindred. Can i take the blood from a vampire from an
Ilusion of the Kindred with a Heidelburg Castle? Can i play a taste of
vitae against this vampire?

Robert Goudie

unread,
Aug 28, 1996, 3:00:00 AM8/28/96
to

You know, maybe H-Castle needs to have its errata (or is it a ruling?)
expanded to disallow its use during any action and not just preventing
the use during combat. It would certainly make things simpler. Without
the added restriction people are gonna attempt all manner of
questionable acts. Using HC in mid-bleed with Spirodonas is another
example.

Robert
......................................................................
:The opinions expressed here are strictly my own delusional ramblings:
:and do not reflect the opinions of The Walt Disney Company. :
: :
:Robert Goudie robert...@studio.disney.com:
:....................................................................:
:cigars * v:tes * car rallies * scotch * sega rally champion * spoon :
:....................................................................:

L. Scott Johnson

unread,
Aug 28, 1996, 3:00:00 AM8/28/96
to

13...@quebectel.com (Patrick Drapeau) writes:

>About Illusion of the Kindred. Can i take the blood from a vampire from an
>Ilusion of the Kindred with a Heidelburg Castle? Can i play a taste of
>vitae against this vampire?

I'm not Shawn, but he'll pipe in if I ever spread falsehoods ;-)

Heidelburg cannot be used to move anything to or from a minion engaged
in combat, so "No" to the first part.

You may play Taste if you deal damage to the Illusionary vampire (since
there is no card text describing how incomplete the illusion is - see
the rulings on contesting a Horrid-Reality-based weapon). You could
also steal the illusion's blood with Theft of Vitae or Serpent's Toungue,
for example.

If the illusion played Disguised Weapon (or Concealed, for that matter),
you could steal (and keep) the weapon with Fast Hands, etc.

The illusion is treated exactly as any other controlled vampire (except that
he is burned at the end of combat).

--
L. Scott Johnson (sjoh...@math.sc.edu) | Bad Track 0.
http://www.math.sc.edu/~sjohnson | Why can't you be more
Graphics Specialist and V:tES Rulemonger. | like Track 1?

Shawn F. Carnes

unread,
Aug 30, 1996, 3:00:00 AM8/30/96
to Robert...@studio.disney.com

Robert Goudie wrote:

> You know, maybe H-Castle needs to have its errata (or is it a ruling?)
> expanded to disallow its use during any action and not just preventing
> the use during combat. It would certainly make things simpler. Without
> the added restriction people are gonna attempt all manner of
> questionable acts. Using HC in mid-bleed with Spirodonas is another
> example.

I thought it was errata already, but perhaps it was a ruling... what do
the archives say, LSJ?

Until then, treat it like a runing based on the card itself, and not for
other cards that may share its ability (blanket statement--I don't think
there are any).

(What are you all staring at me for? What do I look like--a NetRep or
something?) ;)
--

>>> Shawn F. Carnes
Game Designer and Developer, Wizards of the Coast, Inc
WotC NetRep for rec.games.trading-cards.jyhad
*************************************************************
"Which one of you claims to be the craziest? Which one the
biggest loony? Who runs these card games? Who's the bull
goose loony here?"
--McMurphy, "One Flew Over the Cuckoo's Nest"

Chris Barnhart [Mr. Pynk]

unread,
Aug 30, 1996, 3:00:00 AM8/30/96
to

> The illusion is treated exactly as any other controlled vampire (except that
> he is burned at the end of combat).

Most people have a problem accepting that "illusions" are "real". Just
as the chimerical vampire can "damage" you because you believe it so, so
can you benifit from stealing blood or guns from him. On some level, all
illusions are real. They're as real as anything else you can
experience.

Advice: have a philisophical discussion with a Changling or Ravnos about the
nature of reality some time. :)

Mr. Pynk
---
http://www.wulaw.wustl.edu/~tvbarnha/mr_pynk/


L. Scott Johnson

unread,
Aug 30, 1996, 3:00:00 AM8/30/96
to

Robert Goudie <robert...@studio.disney.com> writes:
>questionable acts. Using HC in mid-bleed with Spirodonas is another
>example.

That won't work because Spiro has explicit restriction against using
his ability more than once per turn (so could only use it before
or after HC, not both).

--
L. Scott Johnson (sjoh...@math.sc.edu) | > Be careful who you correct.
http://www.math.sc.edu/~sjohnson | That should read "Be careful whom
Graphics Specialist and V:tES Rulemonger. | you correct." -- Steffan O'Sullivan

L. Scott Johnson

unread,
Sep 5, 1996, 3:00:00 AM9/5/96
to sw...@castle.wizards.com

In article <13ljd-27089...@ts1-11.f020.quebectel.com> <3224D1...@studio.disney.com> <322741...@castle.wizards.com>,

"Shawn F. Carnes" <sw...@castle.wizards.com> wrote:
>
> Robert Goudie wrote:
> > You know, maybe H-Castle needs to have its errata (or is it a ruling?)
> > expanded to disallow its use during any action and not just preventing
> > the use during combat. It would certainly make things simpler. Without
> > the added restriction people are gonna attempt all manner of
> > questionable acts. Using HC in mid-bleed with Spirodonas is another
> > example.
> I thought it was errata already, but perhaps it was a ruling... what do
> the archives say, LSJ?

It has errata stating that it cannot be used to make transfers to or from
a minion in combat. The original poster is requesting that this restriction
be expanded so that it cannot be tapped during any action (but only between
actions and before or after the minion phase). I personally consider this
good errata, even though it isn't necessary in Spir's case, since he can only
burn blood once per turn, and therefore couldn't burn blood both before and
after tapping HC (as per your perfectly correct ruling below).

> Until then, treat it like a runing based on the card itself, and not for
> other cards that may share its ability (blanket statement--I don't think
> there are any).

---
L. Scott Johnson (sjoh...@math.sc.edu) | Warning: Dates in Calendar are
http://www.math.sc.edu/~sjohnson | closer than they appear.


Graphics Specialist and V:tES Rulemonger. |

-----------------------------------------------------------------------
This article was posted to Usenet via the Posting Service at Deja News:
http://www.dejanews.com/ [Search, Post, and Read Usenet News!]

Reply all
Reply to author
Forward
0 new messages