Google Groups no longer supports new Usenet posts or subscriptions. Historical content remains viewable.
Dismiss

NRA rules with The Portrait

10 views
Skip to first unread message

Hardy Range

unread,
Nov 18, 2002, 6:15:41 AM11/18/02
to
Hello all,

a question that came up during friendly play some days ago:

The Portrait [AH, CE]
Cardtype: Action
Clan: Toreador
Cost: 1 blood
(D) Show the top card of your prey's crypt to all players. If it is a
Nosferatu, the acting vampire burns 2 blood. If the capacity of the
revealed vampire is below 7, the acting vampire gains 2 blood (ignore
excess blood); if it is from 7 to 10, the acting vampire untaps and
bleeds your prey with +1 bleed at +1 stealth; if it is above 10, the
acting vampire burns 1 blood.

If a vampire has already bled his prey in a turn and somehow manages
to untap, is he then allowed to use The Portrait (which may or may not
result in another bleed)?

I ruled that yes, this was permissible, but if conditions had led to a
second bleed, that would have fizzled because of the NRA rule for
bleeds.

Regards,

Hardy Range
Prince of Bochum

LSJ

unread,
Nov 18, 2002, 7:50:33 AM11/18/02
to
Hardy Range wrote:
> If a vampire has already bled his prey in a turn and somehow manages
> to untap, is he then allowed to use The Portrait (which may or may not
> result in another bleed)?

Yes.

> I ruled that yes, this was permissible, but if conditions had led to a
> second bleed, that would have fizzled because of the NRA rule for
> bleeds.

If it leads to another bleed, then the minion simply remains untapped;
he doesn't take the prohibited bleed action at all, so it doesn't
exactly "fizzle".

--
LSJ (vte...@white-wolf.com) V:TES Net.Rep for White Wolf, Inc.
Links to V:TES news, rules, cards, utilities, and tournament calendar:
http://www.white-wolf.com/vtes/

0 new messages