Google Groups no longer supports new Usenet posts or subscriptions. Historical content remains viewable.
Dismiss

While we're quizzing...

4 views
Skip to first unread message

Colin McGuigan

unread,
Dec 19, 2003, 1:52:50 PM12/19/03
to
Being more a fan of "how do you do that" than "what's the most", let me
throw in two situations:

#1: You're playing with four other Methuselahs. Each of you has three
untapped plain minions (no cards on them / played on them), and ten
pool. No other cards are in play. No cards in any ash heap.

You may assume that other Methuselahs will do whatever you want them to
(eg, block or not), except that they will not play any cards, and will
not use any transfers. The edge may be controlled by anyone, or
uncontrolled.

It is your untap phase. How can you, by the end of your _next_ turn,
control all minions still in play, with...

1) A full 90 card library, that you can order,
Or, for a bigger challenge:
2) With only 7 cards.

#2: Minion A, who is a 4-cap or less, gets into combat with Minion B.
Both minions may have cards upon them, but neither minion may have any
equipment. Neither minion plays any combat cards. There are no other
minions in play.

1) Without changing Minion A's sect or clan, Minion A does 14 damage to
Minion B on the first round of combat.
2) Allowing sect/clan changes, Minion A does 23 damage to Minion B on
the first round of combat.

--Colin McGuigan

LSJ

unread,
Dec 19, 2003, 2:27:18 PM12/19/03
to
Colin McGuigan wrote:
> #1: You're playing with four other Methuselahs. Each of you has three
> untapped plain minions (no cards on them / played on them), and ten
> pool. No other cards are in play. No cards in any ash heap.
>
> You may assume that other Methuselahs will do whatever you want them to
> (eg, block or not), except that they will not play any cards, and will
> not use any transfers. The edge may be controlled by anyone, or
> uncontrolled.
>
> It is your untap phase. How can you, by the end of your _next_ turn,
> control all minions still in play, with...
>
> 1) A full 90 card library, that you can order,
> Or, for a bigger challenge:
> 2) With only 7 cards.

By the end of the current turn, with only 2 cards:

The vampires other meths control:

P1:
IC #1
IC #2
IC #3

P2:
IC #4
IC #5
IC #6

P3:
IC: #7
Sheila Mezarin
Donatien

P4:
Rosa Martinez
Rafaele Giovanni
Gillespi Giovanni

You:
Remilliard
Vasilis
Igo

First card: Palla Grand
Second card: Igo calls Justicar Retribution. It passes.
All vampires you don't control burn.
End turn.

--
LSJ (vte...@white-wolf.com) V:TES Net.Rep for White Wolf, Inc.
Links to V:TES news, rules, cards, utilities, and tournament calendar:
http://www.white-wolf.com/vtes/

LSJ

unread,
Dec 19, 2003, 2:53:37 PM12/19/03
to
Colin McGuigan wrote:
> #2: Minion A, who is a 4-cap or less, gets into combat with Minion B.
> Both minions may have cards upon them, but neither minion may have any
> equipment. Neither minion plays any combat cards. There are no other
> minions in play.
>
> 1) Without changing Minion A's sect or clan, Minion A does 14 damage to
> Minion B on the first round of combat.

Minion A is Carter with an Obtenebration discipline card.
He has Art of Pain (+2). He has Depravity (+1). He has Black Metamorphosis.
He has Martial Ritus (played by Minion B on his last turn, sure) (+1).

Minion B has a superior Mark of Damnation (+2).

Carter's strength: 7

He punches for 7 twice (additional strike provided by Black Metamorphosis.

For more: Minion A is Ramiro. Minion B is Democritus. Set up involves
Political Struggle played twice and dunking Democritus. Also, steal
Democritus's controller's Island of Yiaros. Get Black Metamorphosis.
Tap Island. Punch for 7 twice.

> 2) Allowing sect/clan changes, Minion A does 23 damage to Minion B on
> the first round of combat.

Political Struggle 7 times (21 votes) and get Depravity. Tap Island of
Yiaros. Punch for 23.

Colin McGuigan

unread,
Dec 19, 2003, 7:51:24 PM12/19/03
to
LSJ wrote:
> By the end of the current turn, with only 2 cards:
>
> First card: Palla Grand
> Second card: Igo calls Justicar Retribution. It passes.
> All vampires you don't control burn.
> End turn.

Hadn't even thought of that.

Ok, can you do it irrespective of what minions the other Methuselahs
control?

--Colin McGuigan

Colin McGuigan

unread,
Dec 19, 2003, 7:53:04 PM12/19/03
to
LSJ wrote:

> Colin McGuigan wrote:
> For more: Minion A is Ramiro. Minion B is Democritus. Set up involves
> Political Struggle played twice and dunking Democritus. Also, steal
> Democritus's controller's Island of Yiaros. Get Black Metamorphosis.
> Tap Island. Punch for 7 twice.
>
>> 2) Allowing sect/clan changes, Minion A does 23 damage to Minion B on
>> the first round of combat.
>
>
> Political Struggle 7 times (21 votes) and get Depravity. Tap Island of
> Yiaros. Punch for 23.

I never knew you could Political Stranglehold the same vampire more than
once. Nice to remember.

Now, how about without playing any given card more than once?

--Colin McGuigan

LSJ

unread,
Dec 20, 2003, 12:42:32 PM12/20/03
to

OK. On your current turn, with 5 cards.
One of your minions has a title.
Your first two minions call Anarchist Uprising followed by superior Voter
Captivation (4 cards). You're down 4 pool. Others are down 8.
Your next minion calls Anarchist Uprising. Everyone except you is
ousted. All vampires you don't control burn.
End game.

Colin McGuigan

unread,
Dec 20, 2003, 12:53:28 PM12/20/03
to
LSJ wrote:
> OK. On your current turn, with 5 cards.
> One of your minions has a title.
> Your first two minions call Anarchist Uprising followed by superior Voter
> Captivation (4 cards). You're down 4 pool. Others are down 8.
> Your next minion calls Anarchist Uprising. Everyone except you is
> ousted. All vampires you don't control burn.
> End game.

Each Methuselah has 3 minions, not 4. 3 AUs would only do 9 damage to them.

--Colin McGuigan

LSJ

unread,
Dec 20, 2003, 1:00:40 PM12/20/03
to

OK.

Still with five cards.
You control an Inner Circle member.
Your first card is Vox Senis.
You call three Anarchist Uprisings, the first with Scorn of Adonis.
Other Methsuelahs vote against the first one. It passes 5-3.
The others pass as well.


Everyone except you is ousted.
All vampires you don't control burn.
End game.

--

Halcyan 2

unread,
Dec 20, 2003, 11:24:35 PM12/20/03
to
>#1: You're playing with four other Methuselahs. Each of you has three
>untapped plain minions (no cards on them / played on them), and ten
>pool. No other cards are in play. No cards in any ash heap.
>
>You may assume that other Methuselahs will do whatever you want them to
>(eg, block or not), except that they will not play any cards, and will
>not use any transfers. The edge may be controlled by anyone, or
>uncontrolled.
>
>It is your untap phase. How can you, by the end of your _next_ turn,
>control all minions still in play, with..


#1. Assume around half of the other players' vampires are Followers of Set with
one blood on them. Call Corruption's Purge to send them all into torpor. The
remaining vampires diablerize and you burn them in a Blood Hunt, leaving you
with the only minions left. (If necessary you can diablerize a few too). If you
want, you could just have all the other vampires be Setities (say Aabt Kindred)
and diablerize them all with Freak Drives or just Tyler. Then you satisfy the
requirement by the end of your first turn.

#2. You have 3 Justicars with Fortitude (say Lucinde, Madame Guil, and Cock
Robin). Each plays a PTO to burn a vampire and Freak Drives. Each puts a
Judgment: Camarilla Segregation into play and Freak Drives. Each plays a
Banishment and Freak Drives. Each plays a Tradition Upheld. 9 vampires have
been burned and the remaining 3 are burned to get rid of the Camarilla
Segregations.

You could also combine this with a Corruption's Purge + diablerie or Peace of
Khetamon module. Or an Eye of Hazimel + Sanguine Instruction + Vial of Elder
Vitae + 3 Reality's module.


Halcyan 2

salem

unread,
Dec 21, 2003, 12:42:32 AM12/21/03
to
On 21 Dec 2003 04:24:35 GMT, halc...@aol.com (Halcyan 2) scrawled:


>#2. You have 3 Justicars with Fortitude (say Lucinde, Madame Guil, and Cock
>Robin). Each plays a PTO to burn a vampire and Freak Drives. Each puts a
>Judgment: Camarilla Segregation into play and Freak Drives. Each plays a
>Banishment and Freak Drives. Each plays a Tradition Upheld. 9 vampires have
>been burned and the remaining 3 are burned to get rid of the Camarilla
>Segregations.

did each Justicar just call 3 political actions in one turn?

salem
domain:canberra http://www.geocities.com/salem_christ.geo/vtes.htm

Orpheus

unread,
Dec 22, 2003, 7:06:57 AM12/22/03
to

??

*Justicar Retribution : Political Card-Worth 1 Vote. Called by any Camarilla
vampire at +1 stealth. Successful referendum burns all vampires with a
current bleed of 3 or more.*

You mean that Justicar Retribution's "current bleed" takes into account the
modifiers due to circumstances, like "if your prey controls this or that" or
the Palla Grande, not only the cards and abilities on the vampire ?!

Orpheus


LSJ

unread,
Dec 22, 2003, 8:04:05 AM12/22/03
to
Orpheus wrote:
> You mean that Justicar Retribution's "current bleed" takes into account the
> modifiers due to circumstances, like "if your prey controls this or that" or
> the Palla Grande, not only the cards and abilities on the vampire ?!

See http://www.white-wolf.com/vtes/rulings.html

0 new messages