LSJ- domain of evernight

4 views
Skip to first unread message

Reyda

unread,
Apr 18, 2002, 5:54:26 PM4/18/02
to
i had an argument about superior version of domain of evernight...

The superior version says something like : a vampire may play only one
domain of evernight each turn.

may i call a vote, use sup domain of evernight to untap, then bleed and use
"outferior" domain of evernight for stealth ? or is it prohibited by the
superior version i played on the precedent action ?
what if i played inferior, the outferior? does the limitation "once per
turn" only applies to the superior version of the card, as the wording
suggests clearly ?

thank you =)

reyda

Chris Berger

unread,
Apr 18, 2002, 7:32:43 PM4/18/02
to

"Reyda" <true_...@hotmail.com> wrote in message
news:3cbf4692$0$11196$79c1...@nan-newsreader-03.noos.net...

> i had an argument about superior version of domain of evernight...
>
> The superior version says something like : a vampire may play only one
> domain of evernight each turn.
>
> may i call a vote, use sup domain of evernight to untap, then bleed and use
> "outferior" domain of evernight for stealth ? or is it prohibited by the
> superior version i played on the precedent action ?
>
If a vampire plays the superior version of Domain of Evernight, he is bound by
the restriction. "A vampire can play only one Domain of Evernight each turn."
It doesn't specify a particular effect (or level), it only specifies the card.
That much is obvious. So, of course, it prohibits you from playing another
Domain of Evernight that turn, whether at inferior, superior, or "outferior".

What I'm confused about is whether or not a vampire may play the card at
inferior and then later play it at superior, or is the restriction on the
superior retroactive? (It is worded in such a way that it seems retroactive,
but who knows...) What if Synesios plays a superior Domain of Evernight and Nu,
the Pillar plays an inferior Domain of Evernight... is Nu restricted from
playing another inferior Domain? Note that the superior doesn't restrict "this
vampire", it says "a vampire", which seems to effect all vampires. Since it
doesn't say how long its effect lasts, I assume that the default is until the
end of this turn (although I'm not sure that that's a given, it's obviously the
intention). What if Nu plays an inferior Domain, then untaps and uses another
inferior Domain on a different action. Then Synesios plays a superior
Domain... Does the world explode?

You'd think they coulda made things simple by printing the superior to say
"...This vampire may not play another Domain of Evernight this turn." sigh...
;)

LSJ

unread,
Apr 18, 2002, 7:44:44 PM4/18/02
to

It only applies to the superior (errata).

It should have said: "A vampire can play only one Domain of Evernight at
superior each turn."

--
LSJ (vte...@white-wolf.com) V:TES Net.Rep for White Wolf, Inc.
Links to revised rulebook, rulings, errata, and tournament rules:
http://www.white-wolf.com/vtes/

Chris Berger

unread,
Apr 18, 2002, 8:12:44 PM4/18/02
to

"Chris Berger" <ark...@ugcs.caltech.edu> wrote in message
news:vIIv8.32840$V44.320@rwcrnsc53...

>
> >
> If a vampire plays the superior version of Domain of Evernight, he is bound
by
> the restriction. "A vampire can play only one Domain of Evernight each
turn."
> It doesn't specify a particular effect (or level), it only specifies the
card.
> That much is obvious. So, of course, it prohibits you from playing another
> Domain of Evernight that turn, whether at inferior, superior, or "outferior".
>
Oh, well okay... apparently there was errata. That sucks. I thought it was
much funnier the other way. *sigh* ;)


Reply all
Reply to author
Forward
0 new messages