Couple questions -- some stupider than others

3 views
Skip to first unread message

Randi S. Herdman

unread,
May 25, 1999, 3:00:00 AM5/25/99
to
I was looking over the official rules (printed out from the site) and have a couple questions
(some stupider than others):

1. To quote: "When a card is burned, it is placed into it's owner's discard pile." Could Imogen
(!Malk) use her power to replace a card in a methuselah's hand with a burned vampire in his ash
heap? It seems plausible, but for no other reason than for a good laugh. (this is the stupid
question)

2. I know that you can only play the a particular action modifier once during an action but does
that mean that you can't play the same card to do a different effect either? I'm thinking about
the vicissitude card that lets you either do +1 stealth or +1 bleed. Could you play two of it
for both effects? I think the answer is no, but I want it in writing. . .

3. I'm still confused about the official rules regarding when the latest you can play agg hand
damage cards like wolf claws and bone spur is. Can you play a wolf claws AFTER you have declard
your strike?

4. When taking non-preventable aggravated damage in combat why is it okay to play skin of night
to change the damage to regular? It seems that you are "preventing" the aggravated part of the
damage. . .

That's it, Thanks!

Neil Paananen
Arch?Bishop? of? Denver?

LSJ

unread,
May 25, 1999, 3:00:00 AM5/25/99
to VTE...@oracle.wizards.com
Randi S. Herdman <ran...@ix.netcom.com> wrote:
> I was looking over the official rules (printed out from
> the site) and have a couple questions (some stupider than
> others):
>
> 1. To quote: "When a card is burned, it is placed into
> it's owner's discard pile." Could Imogen (!Malk) use her
> power to replace a card in a methuselah's hand with a
> burned vampire in his ash heap? It seems plausible, but
> for no other reason than for a good laugh. (this is the
> stupid question)

No. Ony library cards can be exchanged by Imogen's ability.

> 2. I know that you can only play the a particular action
> modifier once during an action but does that mean that you
> can't play the same card to do a different effect either?
> I'm thinking about the vicissitude card that lets you
> either do +1 stealth or +1 bleed. Could you play two of
> it for both effects? I think the answer is no, but I want
> it in writing. . .

No. The limit is by card name, not the effect used.

> 3. I'm still confused about the official rules regarding
> when the latest you can play agg hand damage cards like
> wolf claws and bone spur is. Can you play a wolf claws
> AFTER you have declard your strike?

Yes. You can play damage modifiers like claws any time
before strike resolution begins.

> 4. When taking non-preventable aggravated damage in combat
> why is it okay to play skin of night to change the damage
> to regular? It seems that you are "preventing" the
> aggravated part of the damage. . .

You are not preventing the damage.

--
LSJ (vte...@wizards.com) VTES Net.Rep for Wizards of the Coast.
Links to revised rulebook, rulings, errata, and DCI (tournament) rules:
http://www.wizards.com/VTES/VTES_Rules.html


--== Sent via Deja.com http://www.deja.com/ ==--
---Share what you know. Learn what you don't.---

Patrick Harris

unread,
May 25, 1999, 3:00:00 AM5/25/99
to
> >> 2. I know that you can only play the a particular action modifier once
> during an action but does that mean that you can't play the same card to
> do a different effect either? I'm thinking about the vicissitude card
> that lets you either do +1 stealth or +1 bleed. Could you play two of it
> for both effects? I think the answer is no, but I want it in writing...
>
> No. The limit is by card name, not the effect used.

Just to be clear, you can still play the card more than once if you aren't
using the action modifier effect more than once, right? Say if the card
was the other Vicissitude card, Plasmic Form - Action Modifier/Combat
card. You could use the modifier effect, and then if still blocked, use
the combat effect multiple times, eh?

p. (from Steamboat Springs, Colorado - *points at Randi*)


LSJ

unread,
May 25, 1999, 3:00:00 AM5/25/99
to VTE...@oracle.wizards.com

Yes. If you're not playing an action modifier, then the
restriction doesn't apply.

Reply all
Reply to author
Forward
0 new messages