There are many cards which say "pay an extra blood when . . ", for
example Terror Frenzy which, at superior, says "Opposing minion pays an
additional blood when playing combat cards during this combat." My
understanding is, however, that this has an effect *only* if the minion
*has* blood. For example, let's say that Koko was in a Terror Frenzy
and had zero blood. However, I suspect that s/he could still play all
sorts of cards like Immortal Grapple, Torn Signpost, etc. etc. without
effect. Am I right??
Compel the Spirit states that it is "only usable if a retainer or ally
you control has been burned since your last turn". Presumably this
would cover any such event during the *present* turn. Let's say that
Talaq foolishly rushed another minion and was burned. Gloria Giovanni
could then immediately use Compel the Spirit to return the Talaq card
to my hand, right??
Thanks in advance,
Madman
--
Free audio & video emails, greeting cards and forums
Talkway - http://www.talkway.com - Talk more ways (sm)
If it was burn additional blood, you would be correct.
Howevre, it adds to the payment for the card, which is deemed to be zero
blood. (There would be an argument to be had that the card cost no blood,
and so couldn't be modified, but that is a different argument.) However,
the cost of Lucky BLow is now 1 blood. If Koko has 0 blood, the 1 blood
for Lucky Blow is unaffordable, and so the card cannot be played.
>
> Compel the Spirit states that it is "only usable if a retainer or ally
> you control has been burned since your last turn". Presumably this
> would cover any such event during the *present* turn.
Yes.
But if, say, that retainer was burned this turn, you couldn't compel
them next term, since it only covres cards burned *since* your last turn.
> Let's say that
> Talaq foolishly rushed another minion and was burned. Gloria Giovanni
> could then immediately use Compel the Spirit to return the Talaq card
> to my hand, right??
Yes.
Of course, you're btter off playing it with superior Necromancy if you can
- it moves the ally into play without paying their cost.
--
James Coupe
>>Howevre<<
Oh, is that the British spelling, like "centre"?? ;)
>>If Koko has 0 blood, the 1 blood for Lucky Blow is unaffordable, and so the card cannot be played.<<
Whoa, then it would seem that Terror Frenzy is an excellent
anti-ImmortalGrapple card then, eh?? Nice!! heh heh heh
>>Of course, you're better off playing it with superior Necromancy if you can - it moves the ally into play without paying their cost.<<
Oh, yes!!! Of course, the best most expensive allies (like Garou and
Mr. Zho and Talaq, IMHO) do not lend themselves to decks where vampires
have superior Necromancy. Of course, if I understand things correctly,
*most* decks do not benefit much from vampires with superior Necromany.
:p
Thanks,
No, just what happens when you telnet into University over a 56k modem.
;)
>>>If Koko has 0 blood, the 1 blood for Lucky Blow is unaffordable, and so the
>card cannot be played.<<
>Whoa, then it would seem that Terror Frenzy is an excellent
>anti-ImmortalGrapple card then, eh?? Nice!! heh heh heh
Only if they're at 0 blood, which is often unlikely.
--
James Coupe
Short answer: yes.
Long answer:
Terror Frenzy uses "pay" indicating a cost, and "when" indicating that
it is not a cost. I'd go with your reading - the extra blood is just
burned. It isn't an increase in the cost of the card. (i.e., treat
"pays" as "burns" in this case, rather than treating "when playing"
as "to play".)
> Compel the Spirit states that it is "only usable if a retainer or ally
> you control has been burned since your last turn". Presumably this
> would cover any such event during the *present* turn. Let's say that
> Talaq foolishly rushed another minion and was burned. Gloria Giovanni
> could then immediately use Compel the Spirit to return the Talaq card
> to my hand, right??
Yes.
--
LSJ (vte...@white-wolf.com) V:TES Net.Rep for White Wolf, Inc.
Links to revised rulebook, rulings, errata, and tournament rules:
http://www.geocities.com/vtesrep