Google Groups no longer supports new Usenet posts or subscriptions. Historical content remains viewable.
Dismiss

[LSJ] Mata Hari and Sabbat-only archetypes

2 views
Skip to first unread message

Jozxyqk

unread,
May 18, 2005, 10:50:35 AM5/18/05
to
This question was asked of me and I am not sure I got the answer right:

Can you play one of the Sabbat-only Archetypes onto Mata Hari?

They say "Put this card on a Sabbat vampire you control."

My answer was No, since this is not a Requirement in the strict sense
of the word.

Just looking for some verification.

Fabio "Sooner"

unread,
May 18, 2005, 2:27:14 PM5/18/05
to
On Wed, 18 May 2005 09:50:35 -0500, Jozxyqk <jfeu...@eecs.tufts.edu>
wrote:

I guess you can. It has already been ruled out to a somewhat similar
card:

Art of Pain, The
Type: Master
Requires: Toreador antitribu
Cost: 2 pool
Unique master.
Put this card on a ready Toreador antitribu. The vampire with this
card gets +2 strength during combat.
Rarity: Sabbat:R SW:R

The reasoning is as follows: any card playing by using Mata's specials
treats her as if she were of that clan or sect required when it is
played, but not after the card has been put in play or for any
lingering effects the card provides.

So note that Art of Pain says
"Put this card on a ready Toreador Antitribu"
so it treats her as a Toreador Antitribu when it is played. So you can
put the card on her.

But the +2 strength lingering effect refers to "the vampire with this
card" - so it works. If it said "This Sabbat vampire gets +2
strength", so you could put the card on her, but it won't grant her +2
strength at all.

In a quick search, it turns out that all sabbat-requiring archetypes
have similar text. They begin with "Put this card on a Sabbat vampire"
but all its lingering effects ("gain 1 blood in [x] situation") refer
to "this vampire" or "the vampire with this card". So you can use them
on Mata.

best,

Fabio "Sooner" Macedo
V:TES National Coordinator for Brazil
Giovanni Newsletter Editor
-----------------------------------------------------
V for Vendetta on the big screen!
http://vforvendetta.warnerbros.com/

Arden McBathan

unread,
May 18, 2005, 2:49:15 PM5/18/05
to

Art of Pain requires a !Tor. Mata Hari serves as that !Tor, so for the
playing of the card she counts as a !Tor.

The Sabbat Archetypes have no "Requirement" per se. You could put it on
a Sabbat vampire in Torpor, for example, even if that was your only
Sabbat Vamp.
The "put on a Sabbat Vamp" clause is just a restriction, so playing it
won't treat Mata as a Sabbat Vampire.
A Sabbat vamp with a Writ of Acceptance and a Guru would still get
blood from a succesful PA.

LSJ

unread,
May 18, 2005, 7:57:34 PM5/18/05
to
Arden McBathan wrote:
> Art of Pain requires a !Tor. Mata Hari serves as that !Tor, so for the
> playing of the card she counts as a !Tor.
>
> The Sabbat Archetypes have no "Requirement" per se. You could put it on
> a Sabbat vampire in Torpor, for example, even if that was your only
> Sabbat Vamp.
> The "put on a Sabbat Vamp" clause is just a restriction, so playing it
> won't treat Mata as a Sabbat Vampire.
> A Sabbat vamp with a Writ of Acceptance and a Guru would still get
> blood from a succesful PA.

Correct.

--
LSJ (vtesr...@TRAPwhite-wolf.com) V:TES Net.Rep (remove spam trap to reply)
Links to V:TES news, rules, cards, utilities, and tournament calendar:
http://www.white-wolf.com/vtes/

0 new messages