Google Groups no longer supports new Usenet posts or subscriptions. Historical content remains viewable.
Dismiss

[LSJ] Rules question re: Orlando Oriundus' ability

108 views
Skip to first unread message

Dasein

unread,
Dec 5, 2006, 3:44:57 AM12/5/06
to
I have some questions regarding Orlando Oriundus' ability.

Sabbat bishop:
During a referendum, if Orlando is ready, your vampires' votes are
doubled when votes are tallied, and other multipliers may not be played
on your vampires.

The questions are as follows:

- Say I control Orlando and another vampire who is a priscus. Is that
vampire's votes in the priscus sub-referendum doubled?
- Sticking to the above example, let's assume my priscus vampire wins
the priscus sub-referendum (e.g. by being the only priscus on the
table); is his/her priscus vote then worth 6 (3 doubled) in the actual
referendum?
- If there are effects in play that result in vampires votes counting
for one more or less, in what order are those effects applied? E.g. I
have Orlando and an archbishop in play. A pesky Independent vampire
plays a Free States Rant, in which titles count for one less vote. Does
my archbishop have 3 (2 doubled to 4 minus 1 = 3) votes or 2 (2 minus 1
doubled to 2) votes?

thankyou

James Coupe

unread,
Dec 5, 2006, 4:45:47 AM12/5/06
to
In message <1165308297.2...@16g2000cwy.googlegroups.com>,

Dasein <dasei...@hotmail.com> writes:
>I have some questions regarding Orlando Oriundus' ability.
>
>Sabbat bishop:
>During a referendum, if Orlando is ready, your vampires' votes are
>doubled when votes are tallied, and other multipliers may not be played
>on your vampires.
>
>The questions are as follows:
>
>- Say I control Orlando and another vampire who is a priscus. Is that
>vampire's votes in the priscus sub-referendum doubled?

No.

<http://groups.google.com/group/rec.games.trading-cards.jyhad/msg/a0f11d
5c60103ef1>

>- Sticking to the above example, let's assume my priscus vampire wins
>the priscus sub-referendum (e.g. by being the only priscus on the
>table); is his/her priscus vote then worth 6 (3 doubled) in the actual
>referendum?

No. The Priscus block vote doesn't come from a vampire. The sub-
referendum decides it, and then it just exists for or against the vote.

>- If there are effects in play that result in vampires votes counting
>for one more or less, in what order are those effects applied? E.g. I
>have Orlando and an archbishop in play. A pesky Independent vampire
>plays a Free States Rant, in which titles count for one less vote. Does
>my archbishop have 3 (2 doubled to 4 minus 1 = 3) votes or 2 (2 minus 1
>doubled to 2) votes?

Work out how many votes the vampire is casting without the multiplier.
Then double it. This goes for Hall of Hades Court too:

<http://groups.google.com/group/rec.games.trading-cards.jyhad/msg/4c7867
94dc08ca0d>
*****
> I'd say it doubles all the vampire's votes in the general referendum,
> including titles and from other sources, but not votes in the Prisci
> sub-referendum.

Correct.
******

The "and from other sources" bit is important.

So a Justicar (3 votes) in Free States Rant (-1, so 2 votes) playing a
superior Bewitching Oration (+4, so 6 votes) being affected by Orlando
casts 12 votes.

--
James Coupe
PGP Key: 0x5D623D5D YOU ARE IN ERROR.
EBD690ECD7A1FB457CA2 NO-ONE IS SCREAMING.
13D7E668C3695D623D5D THANK YOU FOR YOUR COOPERATION.

LSJ

unread,
Dec 5, 2006, 8:52:16 AM12/5/06
to
James Coupe wrote:
> In message <1165308297.2...@16g2000cwy.googlegroups.com>,
> Dasein <dasei...@hotmail.com> writes:
>> I have some questions regarding Orlando Oriundus' ability.
>>
>> Sabbat bishop:
>> During a referendum, if Orlando is ready, your vampires' votes are
>> doubled when votes are tallied, and other multipliers may not be played
>> on your vampires.
>>
>> The questions are as follows:
>>
>> - Say I control Orlando and another vampire who is a priscus. Is that
>> vampire's votes in the priscus sub-referendum doubled?
>
> No.
>
> <http://groups.google.com/group/rec.games.trading-cards.jyhad/msg/a0f11d
> 5c60103ef1>

Correct.

>> - Sticking to the above example, let's assume my priscus vampire wins
>> the priscus sub-referendum (e.g. by being the only priscus on the
>> table); is his/her priscus vote then worth 6 (3 doubled) in the actual
>> referendum?
>
> No. The Priscus block vote doesn't come from a vampire. The sub-
> referendum decides it, and then it just exists for or against the vote.

Correct.

>> - If there are effects in play that result in vampires votes counting
>> for one more or less, in what order are those effects applied? E.g. I
>> have Orlando and an archbishop in play. A pesky Independent vampire
>> plays a Free States Rant, in which titles count for one less vote. Does
>> my archbishop have 3 (2 doubled to 4 minus 1 = 3) votes or 2 (2 minus 1
>> doubled to 2) votes?
>
> Work out how many votes the vampire is casting without the multiplier.
> Then double it. This goes for Hall of Hades Court too:
>
> <http://groups.google.com/group/rec.games.trading-cards.jyhad/msg/4c7867
> 94dc08ca0d>
> *****
>> I'd say it doubles all the vampire's votes in the general referendum,
>> including titles and from other sources, but not votes in the Prisci
>> sub-referendum.
>
> Correct.
> ******
>
> The "and from other sources" bit is important.
>
> So a Justicar (3 votes) in Free States Rant (-1, so 2 votes) playing a
> superior Bewitching Oration (+4, so 6 votes) being affected by Orlando
> casts 12 votes.

Correct.

a-e

unread,
Dec 5, 2006, 10:24:16 AM12/5/06
to
James Coupe wrote:
> So a Justicar (3 votes) in Free States Rant (-1, so 2 votes) playing a
> superior Bewitching Oration (+4, so 6 votes) being affected by Orlando
> casts 12 votes.
>

Justicars can't call Free States Rant, so your example should be:

Justicar (3 votes) in Free States Rant (-1, so 2 votes) playing a

superior *Dread Gaze* (+4, so 6 votes) being affected by Orlando
casts 12 votes.

James Coupe

unread,
Dec 5, 2006, 3:32:35 PM12/5/06
to
In message <Aagdh.251$Za7...@read3.inet.fi>, a-e <antero.elektro@substan

ssi.net> writes:
>James Coupe wrote:
>> So a Justicar (3 votes) in Free States Rant (-1, so 2 votes) playing a
>> superior Bewitching Oration (+4, so 6 votes) being affected by Orlando
>> casts 12 votes.
>>
>
>Justicars can't call Free States Rant,

Sure they can! Clan Impersonate Mata Hari to a clan, give her the
Justicar title. Now she calls Free States Rant as an Independent
vampire. And you've already given her superior Presence, obviously,
because who wouldn't?

Err, umm....

>so your example should be:
>
>Justicar (3 votes) in Free States Rant (-1, so 2 votes) playing a
>superior *Dread Gaze* (+4, so 6 votes) being affected by Orlando
>casts 12 votes.

Thanks for the catch. :-)

ga...@virgilio.it

unread,
Dec 6, 2006, 4:00:06 AM12/6/06
to

> >
> > So a Justicar (3 votes) in Free States Rant (-1, so 2 votes) playing a
> > superior Bewitching Oration (+4, so 6 votes) being affected by Orlando
> > casts 12 votes.
>
> Correct.

I can't understand this last part.
Doesn't Orlando card say: "others multipliers may not be played on your
vampires"?
I thought this apllied to cards like Bewitching oration, Dread gaze,
etc.

Can someone clarify please?

Garou

James Coupe

unread,
Dec 6, 2006, 4:47:13 AM12/6/06
to
In message <1165395604.0...@79g2000cws.googlegroups.com>,

ga...@virgilio.it writes:
>
>> >
>> > So a Justicar (3 votes) in Free States Rant (-1, so 2 votes) playing a
>> > superior Bewitching Oration (+4, so 6 votes) being affected by Orlando
>> > casts 12 votes.
>>
>> Correct.
>
>Doesn't Orlando card say: "others multipliers may not be played on your
>vampires"?

Right.

>I thought this apllied to cards like Bewitching oration, Dread gaze,
>etc.

No, they're not multipliers. What on their card text identifies them as
a multiplier? Nothing at all. So they're not multipliers.

>Can someone clarify please?

It bans cards and effects identified as multipliers, such as Hall of
Hades' Court, at TEM:

[TEM] [ACTION MODIFIER][REACTION] Multiplier. Only usable by a
ready untapped vampire other than the acting vampire. The acting
vampire's votes are doubled when the votes are tallied. Only one
multiplier can be played on a vampire each action.

Ankur Gupta

unread,
Dec 6, 2006, 5:28:11 AM12/6/06
to

It does not apply to those cards, because "multiplier" is not on their
card text. There are only one or two "multiplier" cards in the game at
present.

Ankur
Play. The. Game.

RocketEddy

unread,
Dec 7, 2006, 4:00:17 AM12/7/06
to
Ankur Gupta wrote:
> > I can't understand this last part.
> > Doesn't Orlando card say: "others multipliers may not be played on your
> > vampires"?
> > I thought this apllied to cards like Bewitching oration, Dread gaze,
> > etc.
>
> It does not apply to those cards, because "multiplier" is not on their
> card text. There are only one or two "multiplier" cards in the game at
> present.
>

This wouldn't be the first time we've seen a new term apply to old
cards I'm sure, but simple maths might help provide a good
clarification. The term "Multiplier" means you multiply the number of
votes, but since Bewitching Oration etc adds a fixed number of votes
instead of multiplying existing votes they are not "multipliers"; they
are "additionals".

HTH,
Ed.

James Coupe

unread,
Dec 7, 2006, 4:41:39 AM12/7/06
to
In message <1165482016....@16g2000cwy.googlegroups.com>,

RocketEddy <eddy...@aol.com> writes:
>This wouldn't be the first time we've seen a new term apply to old
>cards I'm sure,

Habitually, when a new term is added to old cards, the first instance of
such cards mentions the old ones - like when Electrical equipment was
invented, or when allies were classified as Werewolves, and similar.

Also, the online card texts are then updated to include the new
identifiers. Which isn't the case here.


<snip - the rest of your post, and its valid points>

Jozxyqk

unread,
Dec 7, 2006, 6:40:28 AM12/7/06
to
RocketEddy <eddy...@aol.com> wrote:
> The term "Multiplier" means you multiply the number of
> votes, but since Bewitching Oration etc adds a fixed number of votes
> instead of multiplying existing votes they are not "multipliers"; they
> are "additionals".

Currently yes, but that's not necessarily true.

There could be a new card:

Bewitching Flotation
Only usable during a referendum. Multiplier. Only one multiplier

can be played on a vampire each action.

[pre] This vampire gains 2 votes.
[PRE] This vampire gains 4 votes.

And this card would still be a Multiplier, because it has the keyword.

LSJ

unread,
Dec 7, 2006, 8:01:29 AM12/7/06
to

Only pedantically. The terms are used to provide clarity, not to play mind
games. So the term "multiplier" will only ever be found on cards whose effects
are multiplier effects.

The terms provide clarity to avoid arguments as to whether this-or-that effect
could be construed as a multiplier, not to shoe-horn an effect that is obviously
not a multiplier in to the set of multipliers.

That is, there wouldn't ever be a card:

Josh's Fingernail Clippers
Equipment
Weapon. Gun.
Strike: 1 damage.

Jozxyqk

unread,
Dec 7, 2006, 8:13:31 AM12/7/06
to
LSJ <vte...@white-wolf.com> wrote:
> The terms provide clarity to avoid arguments as to whether this-or-that effect
> could be construed as a multiplier, not to shoe-horn an effect that is obviously
> not a multiplier in to the set of multipliers.

> That is, there wouldn't ever be a card:

> Josh's Fingernail Clippers
> Equipment
> Weapon. Gun.
> Strike: 1 damage.

I was just trying to point out the keyword-dependency of the game, and the
fact that you can not always trust a keyword to make sense.

For a simple example, let's talk about Melee Weapons.

* "Chainsaw" is not a melee weapon. "Talbot's Chainsaw" is not a melee
weapon. But "Gas-powered Chainsaw" is a melee weapon.
This is solely a function of keywords.

* Gas-powered Chainsaw and Rowan Ring are designated "melee weapons" by
keyword, but violate the general rule of melee weapons (strength-based
close-range weapons).

* Kerrie violates the general definition of "melee weapon" in another way,
allowing you to use effects like Undead Strength at long range because of
that keyword.

In practice, maybe irrelevant to the original question, but I just wanted
to point out that you should never take a keyword for granted by its
obvious definition alone.

P.S. Please print Josh's Fingernail Clippers!

LSJ

unread,
Dec 7, 2006, 8:21:47 AM12/7/06
to
Jozxyqk wrote:
> I was just trying to point out the keyword-dependency of the game, and the
> fact that you can not always trust a keyword to make sense.
>
> For a simple example, let's talk about Melee Weapons.
>
> * "Chainsaw" is not a melee weapon. "Talbot's Chainsaw" is not a melee
> weapon. But "Gas-powered Chainsaw" is a melee weapon.
> This is solely a function of keywords.
>
> * Gas-powered Chainsaw and Rowan Ring are designated "melee weapons" by
> keyword, but violate the general rule of melee weapons (strength-based
> close-range weapons).
>
> * Kerrie violates the general definition of "melee weapon" in another way,
> allowing you to use effects like Undead Strength at long range because of
> that keyword.

With the general definition of "strength-based weapon", Kerrie is fine.

The exceptions are from long ago, when the world was still hot and volatile,
before the Great Cooling and subsequent emergence templates as the dominant text
form and the domestication of keywords.

> In practice, maybe irrelevant to the original question, but I just wanted
> to point out that you should never take a keyword for granted by its
> obvious definition alone.

True that.

> P.S. Please print Josh's Fingernail Clippers!

No.

Salem

unread,
Dec 8, 2006, 3:01:34 AM12/8/06
to
LSJ wrote:
> Jozxyqk wrote:

>> P.S. Please print Josh's Fingernail Clippers!
>
> No.

but I wanna play 'em with Dragon's Breath Rounds!

*clip*......*clip*......*clip*......*KA-BOOM*

"Dude, I _told_ you to trim them more regularly..."

--
salem
http://users.tpg.com.au/adsltqna/vtes/
(replace 'hotmail' with 'yahoo' to email)

0 new messages