(LSJ) Stealing life from Ilomba

10 views
Skip to first unread message

floppyzedolfin

unread,
Jun 18, 2009, 8:42:17 AM6/18/09
to
Hello,

In combat at long range against a minion with an Ilomba, Carna plays
Theft of Vitae sup', targetting Ilomba.

- If the vampire with Ilomba had 0 blood , I suppose Ilomba would burn
it immediately. Carna would gain no blood.

- If the minion had 1 (resp. more) blood or life, Ilomba would have
him or her burn 1 (resp. 2) blood / life counters. In that case, would
Carna gain any blood ? If so, that would be 1(resp. 2), I suppose.

Thanks.

~~~

Ilomba
Cardtype: Retainer
Animal with 1 life. Requires a Laibon.
Put Ilomba on any minion (this is a +1 stealth (D) action if that
minion is controlled by another Methuselah). If Ilomba would burn a
life (or would otherwise be burned), this minion burns a blood or life
instead. If he or she cannot, he or she is burned. A minion may have
only one Ilomba.

LSJ

unread,
Jun 18, 2009, 9:03:55 AM6/18/09
to
floppyzedolfin wrote:
> Hello,
>
> In combat at long range against a minion with an Ilomba, Carna plays
> Theft of Vitae sup', targetting Ilomba.
>
> - If the vampire with Ilomba had 0 blood , I suppose Ilomba would burn
> it immediately. Carna would gain no blood.

Correct.

> - If the minion had 1 (resp. more) blood or life, Ilomba would have
> him or her burn 1 (resp. 2) blood / life counters. In that case, would
> Carna gain any blood ? If so, that would be 1(resp. 2), I suppose.

No. The employer burns blood "instead". Carna gains nothing.

floppyzedolfin

unread,
Jun 18, 2009, 9:26:52 AM6/18/09
to
On 18 juin, 15:03, LSJ <vtes...@white-wolf.com> wrote:

> floppyzedolfin wrote:
> > - If the minion had 1 (resp. more) blood or life, Ilomba would have
> > him or her burn 1 (resp. 2) blood / life counters. In that case, would
> > Carna gain any blood ? If so, that would be 1(resp. 2), I suppose.
>
> No. The employer burns blood "instead". Carna gains nothing.

Sorry about that missing "instead".

Anyway, here comes the pending question :

Carna is facing a Carlton with an Ilomba.
Range is long, Carna's strike is to steal 2 life from Ilomba (that
would make Carlton burn 1 blood twice instead).
Carlton shoots at Carna.
Now, the question is : does Carlton have to burn 1 blood twice
simultaneously, or can it be 1, tap the Vagabond Mystic, and another
1 ?

Had Carlton been the target of the strike (without dodging it), the
answer would've been "No". But here, the Ilomba's cardtext makes me
think it splits any amount of life it should burn into the same amount
of "this minion burns 1 blood or life or burns if cannot burn blood /
life" instances - though that doesn't mean at all that they are /
aren't simultaneous.

LSJ

unread,
Jun 18, 2009, 9:43:17 AM6/18/09
to
floppyzedolfin wrote:
> On 18 juin, 15:03, LSJ <vtes...@white-wolf.com> wrote:
>> floppyzedolfin wrote:
>>> - If the minion had 1 (resp. more) blood or life, Ilomba would have
>>> him or her burn 1 (resp. 2) blood / life counters. In that case, would
>>> Carna gain any blood ? If so, that would be 1(resp. 2), I suppose.
>> No. The employer burns blood "instead". Carna gains nothing.
>
> Sorry about that missing "instead".
>
> Anyway, here comes the pending question :
>
> Carna is facing a Carlton with an Ilomba.
> Range is long, Carna's strike is to steal 2 life from Ilomba (that
> would make Carlton burn 1 blood twice instead).
> Carlton shoots at Carna.
> Now, the question is : does Carlton have to burn 1 blood twice
> simultaneously, or can it be 1, tap the Vagabond Mystic, and another
> 1 ?

He burns 2. Vagabond Mystic interrupt the handling of another effect.

LSJ

unread,
Jun 18, 2009, 9:53:44 AM6/18/09
to
LSJ wrote:

> floppyzedolfin wrote:
>> Carna is facing a Carlton with an Ilomba.
>> Range is long, Carna's strike is to steal 2 life from Ilomba (that
>> would make Carlton burn 1 blood twice instead).
>> Carlton shoots at Carna.
>> Now, the question is : does Carlton have to burn 1 blood twice
>> simultaneously, or can it be 1, tap the Vagabond Mystic, and another
>> 1 ?
>
> He burns 2. Vagabond Mystic interrupt the handling of another effect.

"Vagabond Mystic can't interrupt the handling of another effect"

Reply all
Reply to author
Forward
0 new messages