(B) When can I play Cat's Guidance (inferior) if I block? Does it have
to be after the ensuing combat, or can it be before?
(III) What happens in this situation:
Camille Deveraux has one blood and is tapped. She plays Force of Will
at superior, and modifies with superior Daring the Dawn. Does she burn
(being empty at the end of the action and taking 2 aggravated), or does
the aggravated damage come in separate "packets" (just sending her to
torpor)?
James
--
James Hamblin
ham...@math.wisc.edu
"What drives you on can drive you mad.
A million lies to sell yourself is all
you ever had."
-- Garbage
Good question.
There is nothing in the rules or on the card that requires you to show the
vamp to the other players - "trust me, this vampire IS younger, and would my
Setites lie to you?"
So usually, we just believe each other... but I see your point, of course,
when it comes to tournament play. Especially when GtU is used not to bring
out the vampire at all, but to generate pool for you so that the vamp in
question never comes out. And what if he/she/it enters play, and you notice
that due to some mistake, teh vamp is NOT younger?
Hmmm...
> Also, if I play a skill card
> on an uncontrolled vampire, do I have to reveal it to show that it
> doesn't already have the skill at superior? What if I want to play the
> skill card on someone else's uncontrolled vampire?
??? You cannot play a skill card on an uncontrolled vampire [Rulebook
1.6.1., under 5. Targets]
> (B) When can I play Cat's Guidance (inferior) if I block? Does it have
> to be after the ensuing combat, or can it be before?
After combat, as per card text:
Cats' Guidance [Jyhad, V:TES, Sabbat, SW]
Cat's Guidance
Cardtype: Reaction
Discipline: Animalism
Only usable by a tapped vampire immediately after he or she blocks (play
after combat, if any). Untap this reacting vampire. (S) +1 intercept.
> (III) What happens in this situation:
>
> Camille Deveraux has one blood and is tapped. She plays Force of Will
> at superior, and modifies with superior Daring the Dawn. Does she burn
> (being empty at the end of the action and taking 2 aggravated), or does
> the aggravated damage come in separate "packets" (just sending her to
> torpor)?
This would not make any difference.
One point of aggravated damage wounds the vampire and sends Ms. Devereux to
torpor. A wounded vampire on her way to torpor who receives more aggravated
damage (from the same or another effect!) has to burn a blood for each point
of aggravated damage done to prevent being burned. Camille cannot burn
blood, so she joins her ancestors.
> James
> --
> James Hamblin
> ham...@math.wisc.edu
>
> "What drives you on can drive you mad.
> A million lies to sell yourself is all
> you ever had."
> -- Garbage
--
Hardy Range
"Nicht Nixen, Nymphen, Sylphen,
Elfen, Musen oder Feen
Für dich will ich die Motten versteh'n
die können nicht widersteh'n
Für dich bin ich ein Phoenix nur,
Geschichte ist bekannt
nur immer wieder, nimmer, nimmer
nichts dazugelernt"
Einstürzende Neubauten, Salamandrina
This is correct. You do not (and cannot) show the uncontrolled
vamp to the other players.
> when it comes to tournament play. Especially when GtU is used not to
If the legality of the play is at question in a tournament, call
the judge over to verify the capacity of the uncontrolled vampire.
> > Also, if I play a skill card
> > on an uncontrolled vampire, [...]
>
> ??? You cannot play a skill card on an uncontrolled vampire [Rulebook
> 1.6.1., under 5. Targets]
Correct.
> > (B) When can I play Cat's Guidance (inferior) if I block? Does
> > it have to be after the ensuing combat, or can it be before?
>
> After combat, as per card text:
>
> Cats' Guidance [Jyhad, V:TES, Sabbat, SW]
> Only usable by a tapped vampire immediately after he or she blocks
> (play after combat, if any). Untap this reacting vampire. (S) +1
> intercept.
Correct.
> > (III) What happens in this situation:
> >
> > Camille Deveraux has one blood and is tapped. She plays Force of
> > Will at superior, and modifies with superior Daring the Dawn.
> > Does she burn (being empty at the end of the action and taking 2
> > aggravated), or does the aggravated damage come in separate
> > "packets" (just sending her to torpor)?
>
> This would not make any difference.
It would be different if we were using the old Jyhad aggravated
rules (re: "packeting"). But there is no "packeting" in the
current rules - all damage is applied irrespective of the types
or number of sources.
> One point of aggravated damage wounds the vampire and sends Ms.
> Devereux to torpor. A wounded vampire on her way to torpor who
> receives more aggravated damage (from the same or another effect!)
> has to burn a blood for each point of aggravated damage done to
> prevent being burned. Camille cannot burn blood, so she joins her
> ancestors.
Close enough: The damage is all applied simultaneously - one
point of agg wounds her, and the other point causes her to be
burned (since she cannot burn a blood to prevent destruction).
--
LSJ (vte...@white-wolf.com) VTES Net.Rep for White Wolf, Inc.
Links to revised rulebook, rulings, errata, and tournament rules:
http://www.white-wolf.com/vtes/
Sent via Deja.com
http://www.deja.com/