Google Groups no longer supports new Usenet posts or subscriptions. Historical content remains viewable.
Dismiss

Alastor + Helicopter

29 views
Skip to first unread message

Jozxyqk

unread,
Sep 14, 2006, 9:30:12 AM9/14/06
to
(Relevant) text of Helicopter:
"When a minion equips with the Helicopter, tap it."

(Relevant) text of Alastor:
"place...the equipment on the chosen vampire."

If I use Alastor, and choose Helicopter as the equipment, does it tap?
Since this is not "equipping", card text indicates "no".

LSJ

unread,
Sep 14, 2006, 9:36:53 AM9/14/06
to

Correct.

antero

unread,
Sep 15, 2006, 5:53:48 AM9/15/06
to

What about Kiss of Lachesis (sup) then?
It says that: Move a non-unique equipment card...to this vampire.
It does not say anything about equipping either, as opposed to, say,
Magic of the Smith.

-Antero

LSJ

unread,
Sep 15, 2006, 7:51:01 AM9/15/06
to

Right.

Move: move a card from hither to thither. No cost is paid, no
requirements are checked, no "equipping" takes place, &c. (subject to
overriding card text, of course).

Equip: equip a card. Cost is paid, requirements are checked, equipping
takes place (subject to overriding card text, of course).

antero

unread,
Sep 15, 2006, 10:12:30 AM9/15/06
to

LSJ wrote:

>
> Move: move a card from hither to thither. No cost is paid, no
> requirements are checked, no "equipping" takes place, &c. (subject to
> overriding card text, of course).
>
> Equip: equip a card. Cost is paid, requirements are checked, equipping
> takes place (subject to overriding card text, of course).

Kewl. Thanks.

-Antero

Myrdin

unread,
Sep 15, 2006, 10:57:49 AM9/15/06
to

LSJ skrev:

I'm guessing this means that you don't untap then from taking a move
equipment action to move a leather jacket from one minion to another?

/Ivan

Frederick Scott

unread,
Sep 15, 2006, 11:09:09 AM9/15/06
to
"Myrdin" <Smurf...@gmail.com> wrote in message
news:1158332269.1...@p79g2000cwp.googlegroups.com...
> LSJ skrev:

>> Move: move a card from hither to thither. No cost is paid, no
>> requirements are checked, no "equipping" takes place, &c. (subject to
>> overriding card text, of course).
>>
>> Equip: equip a card. Cost is paid, requirements are checked, equipping
>> takes place (subject to overriding card text, of course).
>
> I'm guessing this means that you don't untap then from taking a move
> equipment action to move a leather jacket from one minion to another?

Huh? What is a "move equipment action"? An inspection of the actual
rules reveals no such option. However, rule 6.1.3, third paragraph,
does describe one version of an _equip_ action: "To EQUIP with an
equipment card currently possessed by one of your other minions, ..."
Was that what you were talking about?


Fred, inventor of the totally silly "Hand-Me-Back-That-Jacket" deck,
chock full of Leather Jackets, Madness Networks, Perfectionists, and
Minion Taps...delightful!


LSJ

unread,
Sep 15, 2006, 11:13:10 AM9/15/06
to
Frederick Scott wrote:
> "Myrdin" <Smurf...@gmail.com> wrote in message
> news:1158332269.1...@p79g2000cwp.googlegroups.com...
> > LSJ skrev:
> >> Move: move a card from hither to thither. No cost is paid, no
> >> requirements are checked, no "equipping" takes place, &c. (subject to
> >> overriding card text, of course).
> >>
> >> Equip: equip a card. Cost is paid, requirements are checked, equipping
> >> takes place (subject to overriding card text, of course).
> >
> > I'm guessing this means that you don't untap then from taking a move
> > equipment action to move a leather jacket from one minion to another?
>
> Huh? What is a "move equipment action"? An inspection of the actual
> rules reveals no such option. However, rule 6.1.3, third paragraph,
> does describe one version of an _equip_ action: "To EQUIP with an
> equipment card currently possessed by one of your other minions, ..."
> Was that what you were talking about?

And I suppose I should be clearer in the statement above -- "equip"
only checks requirements and demands cost payment when the card being
equipped is not already in play. When equipping a card already in play
(transferring equipment, for example), then neither cost nor
requirements are applied.

Omael

unread,
Sep 15, 2006, 11:54:41 AM9/15/06
to

Does this means that if i equip with a leather jacket in play i don't
untap?

LSJ

unread,
Sep 15, 2006, 12:09:56 PM9/15/06
to
Omael wrote:

> LSJ wrote:
> > And I suppose I should be clearer in the statement above -- "equip"
> > only checks requirements and demands cost payment when the card being
> > equipped is not already in play. When equipping a card already in play
> > (transferring equipment, for example), then neither cost nor
> > requirements are applied.
>
> Does this means that if i equip with a leather jacket in play i don't
> untap?

No. It means you Card text: "If the action to equip with the Leather
Jacket is successful, untap the acting minion at the end of the turn."

So if you equip with the leather jacket as an action, you untap at the
end of the turn.

LSJ

unread,
Sep 15, 2006, 12:10:33 PM9/15/06
to
Omael wrote:

> LSJ wrote:
> > And I suppose I should be clearer in the statement above -- "equip"
> > only checks requirements and demands cost payment when the card being
> > equipped is not already in play. When equipping a card already in play
> > (transferring equipment, for example), then neither cost nor
> > requirements are applied.
>
> Does this means that if i equip with a leather jacket in play i don't
> untap?

No. It means you don't have to meet the requirements on LJ nor pay the
cost of the LJ.

bwr...@mail.com

unread,
Sep 15, 2006, 12:35:12 PM9/15/06
to
Frederick Scott wrote:
> "Myrdin" <Smurf...@gmail.com> wrote in message
> news:1158332269.1...@p79g2000cwp.googlegroups.com...
> > LSJ skrev:
> >> Move: move a card from hither to thither. No cost is paid, no
> >> requirements are checked, no "equipping" takes place, &c. (subject to
> >> overriding card text, of course).
> >>
> >> Equip: equip a card. Cost is paid, requirements are checked, equipping
> >> takes place (subject to overriding card text, of course).
> >
> > I'm guessing this means that you don't untap then from taking a move
> > equipment action to move a leather jacket from one minion to another?
>
> Huh? What is a "move equipment action"? An inspection of the actual
> rules reveals no such option.

I don't think he meant it as official nomenclature since he went on to
add enough context to make it fairly clear that he was talking about
actions that move equipment between minions (ie Rave, Restructure, the
special action in section 6.1.3 you mention, etc)... as opposed to the
equipment coming from places like the library, hand, or ashheap.

It's certainly not a crime to use a phrase not explicitly defined in
the rules if it's meaning is implicit: Anarch Secession uses "city
title" without further definition, and it's not defined in the rulebook
either (and it's a term that's needed in play).

Brent Ross

Frederick Scott

unread,
Sep 15, 2006, 2:23:38 PM9/15/06
to

<bwr...@mail.com> wrote in message news:1158338112....@i3g2000cwc.googlegroups.com...

> Frederick Scott wrote:
>> "Myrdin" <Smurf...@gmail.com> wrote in message
>> news:1158332269.1...@p79g2000cwp.googlegroups.com...
>> > LSJ skrev:
>> >> Move: move a card from hither to thither. No cost is paid, no
>> >> requirements are checked, no "equipping" takes place, &c. (subject to
>> >> overriding card text, of course).
>> >>
>> >> Equip: equip a card. Cost is paid, requirements are checked, equipping
>> >> takes place (subject to overriding card text, of course).
>> >
>> > I'm guessing this means that you don't untap then from taking a move
>> > equipment action to move a leather jacket from one minion to another?
>>
>> Huh? What is a "move equipment action"? An inspection of the actual
>> rules reveals no such option.
>
> I don't think he meant it as official nomenclature since he went on to
> add enough context to make it fairly clear that he was talking about
> actions that move equipment between minions (ie Rave, Restructure, the
> special action in section 6.1.3 you mention, etc)... as opposed to the
> equipment coming from places like the library, hand, or ashheap.

The point is the official nomenclature he was ignoring, not the nomenclature
he was using. I was pointing out that moving equipment from one minion
to another does indeed count as "equipping" (LSJ's self-correction about
equipping costs and requirements when equipping in this manner not
withstanding). The upshot is that moving a Leather Jacket does count
as "equipping" and therefore does untap the minion who takes the action.

> It's certainly not a crime to use a phrase not explicitly defined in
> the rules if it's meaning is implicit

Very little newsgroup discussion actually raises to the level of
criminality. However, the failure to classify a form of an
equip action properly lead the previous poster to an incorrect conclusion.

Fred


0 new messages