Unfortunately, the directions say nothing about this.
Can any one help?
Trevor
Arnie (kzj...@my-deja.com) wrote:
: I have a question regarding the four discard piles for each player. The
: Can any one help?
--
Trevor
The cards, once placed on the piles, cannot be rearranged. You can only
use the top card from each discard pile. My reasons for saying this are:
a) The rules of Skip Bo specify four piles, and that only the top card
of a pile can be played. If the cards in the discard piles could be
rearranged there would be no point to these rules. You could just as
well say that the discards can be kept in any number of piles that the
player finds convenient (say a pile for each number) and that any
discard can be used. The fact that the rules specify four discard piles
and use top card only makes it clear that the integrity of the piles and
the order of cards in them is important and should be preserved.
b) Skip Bo is just a commercial copy of the traditional card game Spite
and Malice (see http://www.pagat.com/patience/spitemal.html) - the rules
are pretty well identical. In Spite and Malice the discard piles cannot
be reordered or rearranged, so one would expect that the manufacturers
intended Skip Bo to be played the same way.
I hope this helps.
--
John McLeod For information on card games visit
jo...@pagat.demon.co.uk http://www.pagat.com/