Thank you Alan. I'm so rusty at bridge that I question my judgement.
You have vindicated me!
On (1) I also led a spade (is the choice between 9 top of nothing and 4 MUD mostly a matter of
partnership agreement?) That my very weak club suit is longer than my spade suit is a reason NOT to lead
clubs: with fewer clubs in the other hands, partner is more likely (at least the way I bid) to have 5 spades than 5 clubs.
In fact partner had 5 clubs and criticized my lead. (Club lead makes declarer's play much more
difficult but doesn't defeat 3NT.)
The very next hand, with this same partner, a BBO "expert", was
(2) I like to have 3+ cards in every unbid suit to make take-out double, but will settle for 2 if
double is appealing. But I will NOT double with an unbid singleton unless I have a huge power-house.
When partner takes out 3C to 3H I assumed he had much more than 13hcp and a mediocre-ish suit.
I pondered but thought I owed him the raise to 4.
Partner however, Removed me from the BBO game soon after my dummy appeared.
Thanks and cheers,