Google Groups no longer supports new Usenet posts or subscriptions. Historical content remains viewable.
Dismiss

MtG: Questions I couldn't even answer using snark's list...

16 views
Skip to first unread message

Paul Brinkley

unread,
Dec 29, 1993, 12:18:48 PM12/29/93
to

1. Suppose you cast Regeneration on a Fungusaur. Now suppose you do
2 points of damage to it, and it didn't have any counters. Now,
I get the impression from reading snark.answers that "a creature
being destroyed and said creature regenerating" is a paradox.
Does this mean, then combined with the texts of the cards, that
you could regenerate the Fungusaur and put a counter on it?

2. ONCE AND FOR ALL. If I summon a Rock Hydra with, say 5 heads
initially, boost it to a peak of 10 heads during the course of
the game, have it worn down to 2 heads later, and then something
does 2 points of damage to it and I cast Death Ward on it, how
many heads does it now have? 2? 5? 10? Or should I just
scratch out "Summon Hydra" in the middle of the card and write
"Summon Argument" in its place??

3. Is it possible to Disenchant an artifact or enchantment as it is
being cast? (I'm assuming no.)

4. According to the rulebook, damage dealt by a creature with
protection from puce cannot be prevented using puce cards (Ref:
p. 28, under "Protection"). Now, I fully realize that the
protection power is "broken", according to WotC. Is this power
still in effect? Does this mean that Black Knights can tromple
all over me, and there's nothing my CoP: Black can do about it?
That Black Warded red creatures will still take damage from it
if they block it? And so on?

5. If I have a Library of Leng in play, and I am forced to discard
from my hand, I can discard to either my graveyard or to the top
of my library, according to the card. If I discard to my
library, do I have to show it to my opponent first?

6. Suppose I had a Hurloon Minotaur with two Weaknesses cast on it;
this would make it -2/1, I guess. If I were to attack it and my
opponent let it through, would it add 2 life to his total? If I
cast Swords to Plowshares on it, would I lose 2 life?

Paul Brinkley
brin...@cs.utexas.edu


Richard Pieri

unread,
Dec 29, 1993, 9:01:31 AM12/29/93
to
>>>>> In article <2fse5p$i...@langtry.cs.utexas.edu>, brin...@cs.utexas.edu
>>>>> (Paul Brinkley) writes:

brinkley> 1. Suppose you cast Regeneration on a Fungusaur. Now suppose
brinkley> you do 2 points of damage to it, and it didn't have any counters.
brinkley> Now, I get the impression from reading snark.answers that "a
brinkley> creature being destroyed and said creature regenerating" is a
brinkley> paradox. Does this mean, then combined with the texts of the
brinkley> cards, that you could regenerate the Fungusaur and put a counter
brinkley> on it?

Not having a Fungusaur handy to check, I will abstain from this one.

brinkley> 2. ONCE AND FOR ALL. If I summon a Rock Hydra with, say 5 heads
brinkley> initially, boost it to a peak of 10 heads during the course of
brinkley> the game, have it worn down to 2 heads later, and then something
brinkley> does 2 points of damage to it and I cast Death Ward on it, how
brinkley> many heads does it now have? 2? 5? 10? Or should I just
brinkley> scratch out "Summon Hydra" in the middle of the card and write
brinkley> "Summon Argument" in its place??

If the Hydra is "killed" it has no heads left. Death Ward regenerates the
creature; it's enchantments do not change. Therefore your Death Ward would
regenerate the Hydra as a 0/0 creature, so it just dies again.

brinkley> 3. Is it possible to Disenchant an artifact or enchantment as it
brinkley> is being cast? (I'm assuming no.)

Yes; Disenchant is an Instant and can be played at just about any time.

brinkley> 4. According to the rulebook, damage dealt by a creature with
brinkley> protection from puce cannot be prevented using puce cards (Ref:
brinkley> p. 28, under "Protection"). Now, I fully realize that the
brinkley> protection power is "broken", according to WotC. Is this power
brinkley> still in effect? Does this mean that Black Knights can tromple
brinkley> all over me, and there's nothing my CoP: Black can do about it?
brinkley> That Black Warded red creatures will still take damage from it if
brinkley> they block it? And so on?

From the draft 2nd edition rules:

Protection: A creature with protection from a particular color of magic
gains the following abilities: any damage dealt to the creature by a
source of that color is reduced to 0; the creature cannot be blocked by
creatures of that color; creature may not be targeted by a card of that
color; and any enchantments of that color already on that card are
dispelled, and no further enchantments of that color may be cast on
that creature. If the protection comes from a spell, the creature does
not gain that protection until the spell is complete. Damage caused by
a protected creature can still be countered by spells of the color from
which it is protected.

Your CoP: Black will stop the damage from a Black Protected creature, but
he cannot be blocked by Black creatures. Black Warded red creatures can
block Black creatures and take no damage.

brinkley> 5. If I have a Library of Leng in play, and I am forced to
brinkley> discard from my hand, I can discard to either my graveyard or to
brinkley> the top of my library, according to the card. If I discard to my
brinkley> library, do I have to show it to my opponent first?

When you discard, your opponent is allowed to see whatever you discard.

brinkley> 6. Suppose I had a Hurloon Minotaur with two Weaknesses cast on
brinkley> it; this would make it -2/1, I guess.

No, it would make it 0/1.

brinkley> If I were to attack it and my opponent let it through, would it
brinkley> add 2 life to his total?

Of course not; it does 0 damage to you.

brinkley> If I cast Swords to Plowshares on it, would I lose 2 life?

No; you would get nothing nor loose nothing.

--
Rat <rat...@ccs.neu.edu> PGP 2.x Public Key Block available upon request
GAT d@ -p+ c++ !l u+ e+(*) m-(+) s n---(+) h-- f !g(+) w+ t- r+ y+
||| | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | |||
When I want your opinions I'll give them to you.
--Mok, from the movie `Rock & Rule'

Lisa Richardson

unread,
Dec 29, 1993, 3:32:09 PM12/29/93
to
In <2fse5p$i...@langtry.cs.utexas.edu> brin...@cs.utexas.edu (Paul Brinkley) writes:


>1. Suppose you cast Regeneration on a Fungusaur. Now suppose you do
> 2 points of damage to it, and it didn't have any counters. Now,
> I get the impression from reading snark.answers that "a creature
> being destroyed and said creature regenerating" is a paradox.
> Does this mean, then combined with the texts of the cards, that
> you could regenerate the Fungusaur and put a counter on it?

No. Just because it regenerated, it was not damaged. Therefore, it is still
2/2 until some piddly 1/1 creature pings it.

>2. ONCE AND FOR ALL. If I summon a Rock Hydra with, say 5 heads
> initially, boost it to a peak of 10 heads during the course of
> the game, have it worn down to 2 heads later, and then something
> does 2 points of damage to it and I cast Death Ward on it, how
> many heads does it now have? 2? 5? 10? Or should I just
> scratch out "Summon Hydra" in the middle of the card and write
> "Summon Argument" in its place??

Hmmm... That is pretty iffy. Death Ward is pointless for Rock Hydra, since it
has no base Power/Strength. Regardless of what it was when you summoned it...
It has to have a base power/life. Since Rock Hydra doesn't start out with
anything until you create it, it is fricked.

>4. According to the rulebook, damage dealt by a creature with
> protection from puce cannot be prevented using puce cards (Ref:
> p. 28, under "Protection"). Now, I fully realize that the
> protection power is "broken", according to WotC. Is this power
> still in effect? Does this mean that Black Knights can tromple
> all over me, and there's nothing my CoP: Black can do about it?
> That Black Warded red creatures will still take damage from it
> if they block it? And so on?

Actually, Protection for White/Black means that no White/Black Creature, Spell
or Enchanment can hurt it. So a White Knight can't go against a Black Knight,
since they both can't touch each other. So you can't Swords to Plowshares a
Black Knight, you can't Terror or Weakness a White Knight. You can use CoP
Black on yourself to protect yourself from the black knight, since it is not
doing anything TO the black knight.

>5. If I have a Library of Leng in play, and I am forced to discard
> from my hand, I can discard to either my graveyard or to the top
> of my library, according to the card. If I discard to my
> library, do I have to show it to my opponent first?

No. Because by rules of discard, you only have to show what the card is when
it goes to the graveyard, NOT when it goes to your library.

>6. Suppose I had a Hurloon Minotaur with two Weaknesses cast on it;
> this would make it -2/1, I guess. If I were to attack it and my
> opponent let it through, would it add 2 life to his total? If I
> cast Swords to Plowshares on it, would I lose 2 life?

No. Your Hurloon Minotaur will be 0/1. You can't weakness a creature to
negative damage.

--
Lisa Richardson (aka Priss on about a half dozen MUCKs)
pr...@glia.biostr.washington.edu and/or pr...@anime.tcp.com
"Live fast, Die young, and make hearts melt as you go away" - Lisa Richardson
Priss the MUF Wizard of _AnimeMUCK_ at anime.tcp.com (128.95.10.106) 2035

Chris J. Goebel

unread,
Dec 29, 1993, 2:41:33 PM12/29/93
to

The following are my opinions unless otherwise stated.


In article <2fse5p$i...@langtry.cs.utexas.edu>,


Paul Brinkley <brin...@cs.utexas.edu> wrote:
>
>1. Suppose you cast Regeneration on a Fungusaur. Now suppose you do
> 2 points of damage to it, and it didn't have any counters. Now,
> I get the impression from reading snark.answers that "a creature
> being destroyed and said creature regenerating" is a paradox.
> Does this mean, then combined with the texts of the cards, that
> you could regenerate the Fungusaur and put a counter on it?
>

When a creature regenerates it retains all counters/enchantments/etc...
Assuming you peg him and regenerate him he gets 1 or 2 counters. The
number depends on how the damage arrives:

2 1/1 creatures = 1 counter (all damage is simo)
2 1 pt fireballs = 2 counters
2 1 pt pestiluances = 2 counters
1 2 pt pestiulance = 1 counter (2 points comming at once, see skeletons)

>2. ONCE AND FOR ALL. If I summon a Rock Hydra with, say 5 heads
> initially, boost it to a peak of 10 heads during the course of
> the game, have it worn down to 2 heads later, and then something
> does 2 points of damage to it and I cast Death Ward on it, how
> many heads does it now have? 2? 5? 10? Or should I just
> scratch out "Summon Hydra" in the middle of the card and write
> "Summon Argument" in its place??
>

Deat ward regenerates the creature. He comes back with his current number
of counters/enchantments etc... Unless he has some armor or strength
he is ded=dead.


>3. Is it possible to Disenchant an artifact or enchantment as it is
> being cast? (I'm assuming no.)
>

All cards are considered "spells" until they hit the table. So no
you cannot. Since disinchant is an instant you could use it immediately
after it hits the table. If the spell in question affects other things
that you want to disenchant you can respond to his casting with your
disenchant and then invoke the timing rules (gulp).

>4. According to the rulebook, damage dealt by a creature with
> protection from puce cannot be prevented using puce cards (Ref:
> p. 28, under "Protection"). Now, I fully realize that the
> protection power is "broken", according to WotC. Is this power
> still in effect? Does this mean that Black Knights can tromple
> all over me, and there's nothing my CoP: Black can do about it?
> That Black Warded red creatures will still take damage from it
> if they block it? And so on?
>

I use house rules for this. Whoever's house I am in gets to make the rules.


>5. If I have a Library of Leng in play, and I am forced to discard
> from my hand, I can discard to either my graveyard or to the top
> of my library, according to the card. If I discard to my
> library, do I have to show it to my opponent first?
>

good question. Although I can't think of to many situations where it matters.


>6. Suppose I had a Hurloon Minotaur with two Weaknesses cast on it;
> this would make it -2/1, I guess. If I were to attack it and my
> opponent let it through, would it add 2 life to his total? If I
> cast Swords to Plowshares on it, would I lose 2 life?
>
>

no. and no.

>
>Paul Brinkley
>brin...@cs.utexas.edu
>
>

Chris Goebel

--
======================================================================
Chris Goebel - Motorola Inc. Any opinions expressed here are my
Cellular Infrastructure Group own and should not in any way be
Arlington Hts, Il considered those of my wife :-)

Andrew Brecher

unread,
Dec 29, 1993, 5:26:58 PM12/29/93
to
In article <RATINOX.93...@hendrix.ccs.neu.edu>, rat...@ccs.neu.edu

(Richard Pieri) said:
>brinkley> 3. Is it possible to Disenchant an artifact or enchantment as it
>brinkley> is being cast? (I'm assuming no.)
>
>Yes; Disenchant is an Instant and can be played at just about any time.

I'm not sure- the Disenchant needs a target, and the target doesn't exist until
after the spell has been cast...or at least that's how it can be interpreted...

-Andrew Brecher (andrew_...@brown.edu) (insert disclaimer here)

Richard Pieri

unread,
Dec 29, 1993, 1:43:02 PM12/29/93
to
>>>>> In article <2ft0b3$h...@cat.cis.Brown.EDU>, ST00...@brownvm.brown.edu
>>>>> (Andrew Brecher) writes:

brinkley> 3. Is it possible to Disenchant an artifact or enchantment as it
brinkley> is being cast? (I'm assuming no.)
>> Yes; Disenchant is an Instant and can be played at just about any time.

ST000039> I'm not sure- the Disenchant needs a target, and the target
ST000039> doesn't exist until after the spell has been cast...or at least
ST000039> that's how it can be interpreted...

Ok, it is your main phase, and you tap N mana and put an Artifact into
play. There it is in your territory, the spell is complete. I now tap my
one Plains and cast Disenchant, an Instant spell. Your Artifact must be
discarded.

--
Rat <rat...@ccs.neu.edu> PGP 2.x Public Key Block available upon request
GAT d@ -p+ c++ !l u+ e+(*) m-(+) s n---(+) h-- f !g(+) w+ t- r+ y+
||| | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | |||

Character is what you are in the dark. --Lord John Whorfin

Andrew Brecher

unread,
Dec 29, 1993, 9:41:36 PM12/29/93
to
In article <RATINOX.93...@hendrix.ccs.neu.edu>, rat...@ccs.neu.edu
(Richard Pieri) said:
>>>>>> In article <2ft0b3$h...@cat.cis.Brown.EDU>, ST00...@brownvm.brown.edu
>>>>>> (Andrew Brecher) writes:
>brinkley> 3. Is it possible to Disenchant an artifact or enchantment as it
>brinkley> is being cast? (I'm assuming no.)
>>> Yes; Disenchant is an Instant and can be played at just about any time.
>ST000039> I'm not sure- the Disenchant needs a target, and the target
>ST000039> doesn't exist until after the spell has been cast...or at least
>ST000039> that's how it can be interpreted...
>
>Ok, it is your main phase, and you tap N mana and put an Artifact into
>play. There it is in your territory, the spell is complete. I now tap my
>one Plains and cast Disenchant, an Instant spell. Your Artifact must be
>discarded.

I think you're misreading the question...read it again...

Richard Pieri

unread,
Dec 29, 1993, 5:33:45 PM12/29/93
to
>>>>> In article <2ftf8h$q...@cat.cis.Brown.EDU>, ST00...@brownvm.brown.edu
>>>>> (Andrew Brecher) writes:

Ok, I re-read it, and re-read the FAQ just to be sure.

Ok, you can't Disenchant it until the spell is complete and the card is in
play, because Disenchant is an Instant, not an Interrupt. You can
Disenchant it once it it is in play. However, tapping the Artifact is an
Instant as well, and both effects are simultaneous (barring paradox). So I
spend my 4 mana to bring in a Rod of Ruin, you Disenchant it; I still have
the opportunity to spend 3 more mana and poke your for that one point of
damage then the Rod is removed from the game.

--
Rat <rat...@ccs.neu.edu> PGP 2.x Public Key Block available upon request
GAT d@ -p+ c++ !l u+ e+(*) m-(+) s n---(+) h-- f !g(+) w+ t- r+ y+
||| | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | |||

Our hero regains conciousness at the feet of a sarcastic alien.
--Spaceman Spiff

Dave Howell

unread,
Dec 30, 1993, 4:31:56 AM12/30/93
to

I'm just going to answer the easy ones. :)

>1. Suppose you cast Regeneration on a Fungusaur. Now suppose you do
> 2 points of damage to it, and it didn't have any counters. Now,
> I get the impression from reading snark.answers that "a creature
> being destroyed and said creature regenerating" is a paradox.
> Does this mean, then combined with the texts of the cards, that
> you could regenerate the Fungusaur and put a counter on it?

That is correct.

>2. ONCE AND FOR ALL. If I summon a Rock Hydra with, say 5 heads
> initially, boost it to a peak of 10 heads during the course of
> the game, have it worn down to 2 heads later, and then something
> does 2 points of damage to it and I cast Death Ward on it, how
> many heads does it now have? 2? 5? 10? Or should I just
> scratch out "Summon Hydra" in the middle of the card and write
> "Summon Argument" in its place??

You should scratch out "Summon Hydra." Seriously, though, the
Official Wizards/Garfield Ruling is: Death Ward is useless on a
hydra. If something does two points of damage, it is now a 0/0
creature. If you regenerate it, it dies again right away, headless.
The only way to save it is spend the red mana to save the heads.

>3. Is it possible to Disenchant an artifact or enchantment as it is
> being cast? (I'm assuming no.)

Right. It's a spell, not an artifact, until it's on the table.

[#4 wasn't easy. :]

>5. If I have a Library of Leng in play, and I am forced to discard
> from my hand, I can discard to either my graveyard or to the top
> of my library, according to the card. If I discard to my
> library, do I have to show it to my opponent first?

Yes. Or at least, your opponent may ask to see it.

>6. Suppose I had a Hurloon Minotaur with two Weaknesses cast on it;
> this would make it -2/1, I guess. If I were to attack it and my
> opponent let it through, would it add 2 life to his total? If I
> cast Swords to Plowshares on it, would I lose 2 life?

It's a 0/1 creature. Powers below 0 are considered to be 0 for
purposes of attack and other spells. However, Holy strength will get
you a 0(-1)/3 creature.


Dave Howell, aka Snark sn...@wizards.com
Cyberspace Liaison, Wizards of the Coast, Inc.
Keeper of the Magic FAQ

Roberto Ullfig

unread,
Dec 30, 1993, 9:42:18 AM12/30/93
to
In article <RATINOX.93...@hendrix.ccs.neu.edu>, rat...@ccs.neu.edu (Richard Pieri) writes:
|> >>>>> In article <2ftf8h$q...@cat.cis.Brown.EDU>, ST00...@brownvm.brown.edu
|> >>>>> (Andrew Brecher) writes:
|>
|> Ok, I re-read it, and re-read the FAQ just to be sure.
|>
|> Ok, you can't Disenchant it until the spell is complete and the card is in
|> play, because Disenchant is an Instant, not an Interrupt. You can

Close. Being an Instant has nothing to do with it. Disenchant works on Artifacts
and Enchantments. Rod of Ruin is a Spell until it is in play at which point it
becomes and Artifact.

Badger

unread,
Dec 31, 1993, 5:01:55 PM12/31/93
to
In article <2fu76c$l...@fungusaur.wizards.com>,

Dave Howell <sn...@omnigroup.com> wrote:
>
>I'm just going to answer the easy ones. :)

Well then, how about a hard one:

>>2. ONCE AND FOR ALL. If I summon a Rock Hydra with, say 5 heads
>> initially, boost it to a peak of 10 heads during the course of
>> the game, have it worn down to 2 heads later, and then something
>> does 2 points of damage to it and I cast Death Ward on it, how
>> many heads does it now have? 2? 5? 10? Or should I just
>> scratch out "Summon Hydra" in the middle of the card and write
>> "Summon Argument" in its place??
>
>You should scratch out "Summon Hydra." Seriously, though, the
>Official Wizards/Garfield Ruling is: Death Ward is useless on a
>hydra. If something does two points of damage, it is now a 0/0
>creature. If you regenerate it, it dies again right away, headless.
>The only way to save it is spend the red mana to save the heads.
>

I'm confused on this one. How does the hydra work?
Does it accumulate damage as other creatures or not?
Are you saying if someone attacks my 1/1 hydra with a 2/2 creature
and I spend 2 red mana its still alive?

This is the way I consider the hydra:
For every point of damage the hydra takes you have a choice,
the hydra either loses a head OR if you spend a red mana it does
not lose a head and you place one of those imaginary "damage" counters
on it.

Now, if you attack a 1/1 hydra with a 2/2 creature and I protect
the head, the damage accumulates and it dies either way.

This is a lot easier for wondering about how to handle regeneration.
If I protect the heads and the damage equals the toughness,
than I may regenerate it. If I don't protect the heads and its reduced
to 0/0 than it dies regardless.

Am I making any sense here? [I'm sick with a cold and looking at what
I just wrote it doesn't make any sense!]

Oh well, later.


>
>
>Dave Howell, aka Snark sn...@wizards.com
>Cyberspace Liaison, Wizards of the Coast, Inc.
>Keeper of the Magic FAQ
>


--
-Badger
g...@panix.com

Richard Pieri

unread,
Dec 31, 1993, 5:03:02 PM12/31/93
to
>>>>> In article <2g27gj$g...@panix.com>, g...@panix.com (Badger) writes:

gam> I'm confused on this one. How does the hydra work?

When you summon the Rock Hydra, you spend two red mana and X extra mana.
The Hydra is a 0/0 creature; for each extra point of mana you use to summon
it, it gets one head, each head adds +1/+1. When a head is destroyed
(Hydra takes a point of damage), you can spend 1 red mana to stop the
damage. During upkeep you can spend 3 red mana to grow a new head.

Now, if you kill all of a hydra's heads, it's a 0/0 creature, which means
dead. If you regenerate it, it's /still/ a 0/0 creature.

--
Rat <rat...@ccs.neu.edu> PGP 2.x Public Key Block available upon request
GAT d@ -p+ c++ !l u+ e+(*) m-(+) s n---(+) h-- f !g(+) w+ t- r+ y+
||| | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | |||

Never attribute to conspiracy what can adequately be explained by stupidity.
--Archer Sully <arc...@elysium.esd.sgi.com>
Never attribute to stupidity what can adequately be explained by conspiracy.
--Karl Musser <kmu...@macalstr.edu>

Dan Reynolds

unread,
Jan 3, 1994, 2:19:59 PM1/3/94
to
In article <RATINOX.93...@denali.ccs.neu.edu>, rat...@ccs.neu.edu (Richard Pieri) writes:
|> When you summon the Rock Hydra, you spend two red mana and X extra mana.
|> The Hydra is a 0/0 creature; for each extra point of mana you use to summon
|> it, it gets one head, each head adds +1/+1. When a head is destroyed
|> (Hydra takes a point of damage), you can spend 1 red mana to stop the
|> damage. During upkeep you can spend 3 red mana to grow a new head.
|>
|> Now, if you kill all of a hydra's heads, it's a 0/0 creature, which means
|> dead. If you regenerate it, it's /still/ a 0/0 creature.
|>
|> --
|> Rat <rat...@ccs.neu.edu>

Hmmm...makes me appreciate the Gauntlet of Might even more. Now to screw
things up even more, what happens if you kill all of the Hydra's heads
but the GoM is in play so the "headless" Hydra is still a +1/+1 critter?
Is my Hydra dead or not?
--
Dan Reynolds Internet: d...@chpc.utexas.edu
Systems Group Phonenet: (512) 471-2472
Center for High Performance Computing Snailnet: 10100 Burnet Road
The University of Texas System Austin, Texas 78758

Lisa Richardson

unread,
Jan 3, 1994, 3:45:25 PM1/3/94
to

>In article <RATINOX.93...@denali.ccs.neu.edu>, rat...@ccs.neu.edu (Richard Pieri) writes:
>|> When you summon the Rock Hydra, you spend two red mana and X extra mana.
>|> The Hydra is a 0/0 creature; for each extra point of mana you use to summon
>|> it, it gets one head, each head adds +1/+1. When a head is destroyed
>|> (Hydra takes a point of damage), you can spend 1 red mana to stop the
>|> damage. During upkeep you can spend 3 red mana to grow a new head.

>Hmmm...makes me appreciate the Gauntlet of Might even more. Now to screw


>things up even more, what happens if you kill all of the Hydra's heads
>but the GoM is in play so the "headless" Hydra is still a +1/+1 critter?
>Is my Hydra dead or not?

Depends if it got knocked down to 1/1 or 0/0 and if you regenerated it.
Otherwise, the Hydra is dead for all intents and purposes.
:


>--
>Dan Reynolds Internet: d...@chpc.utexas.edu
>Systems Group Phonenet: (512) 471-2472
>Center for High Performance Computing Snailnet: 10100 Burnet Road
>The University of Texas System Austin, Texas 78758

Dan Reynolds

unread,
Jan 3, 1994, 4:59:40 PM1/3/94
to
In article <priss.7...@tcp.com>, pr...@tcp.com (Lisa Richardson) writes:
|> Depends if it got knocked down to 1/1 or 0/0 and if you regenerated it.
|> Otherwise, the Hydra is dead for all intents and purposes.
|> --
|> Lisa Richardson (aka Priss on about a half dozen MUCKs)
|> pr...@glia.biostr.washington.edu and/or pr...@anime.tcp.com
|> "Live fast, Die young, and make hearts melt as you go away" - Lisa Richardson
|> Priss the MUF Wizard of _AnimeMUCK_ at anime.tcp.com (128.95.10.106) 2035

[context: Rock Hydra in play with a Gauntlet of Might]

I would say in this case that a Death Ward could regenerate the killed Hydra
since even with no heads it's still a 1/1 critter.

Ditto if you put [Un]Holy Strength on it. 'course the [un]holy strong 0/0 Rock
Hydra would die if somebody ``tranquilized'' it or Disenchanted it but that's
life in the big city. :)

Richard Pieri

unread,
Jan 3, 1994, 4:56:11 PM1/3/94
to
>>>>> In article <1994Jan3.1...@chpc.utexas.edu>,
>>>>> d...@chpc.utexas.edu (Dan Reynolds) writes:

dan> Hmmm...makes me appreciate the Gauntlet of Might even more. Now to
dan> screw things up even more, what happens if you kill all of the Hydra's
dan> heads but the GoM is in play so the "headless" Hydra is still a +1/+1
dan> critter? Is my Hydra dead or not?

The important thing is that when a creature is regenerated, any "booster"
effects on it do not go away. Your Hydra survives as a 1/1 creature.

--
Rat <rat...@ccs.neu.edu> PGP 2.x Public Key Block available upon request
GAT d@ -p+ c++ !l u+ e+(*) m-(+) s n---(+) h-- f !g(+) w+ t- r+ y+
||| | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | |||

God made man, but he used a monkey to do it/Apes is the plan, we're all
here to prove it/I can walk like an ape, talk like an ape, I can do what
monkeys do/God made man, but the monkeys applied the glue.
--DEVO, `Jocko Homo'

Chris Page

unread,
Jan 3, 1994, 11:03:25 PM1/3/94
to
> In <2fse5p$i...@langtry.cs.utexas.edu> brin...@cs.utexas.edu (Paul Brinkley) writes:
> >2. ONCE AND FOR ALL. If I summon a Rock Hydra with, say 5 heads
> > initially, boost it to a peak of 10 heads during the course of
> > the game, have it worn down to 2 heads later, and then something
> > does 2 points of damage to it and I cast Death Ward on it, how
> > many heads does it now have? 2? 5? 10? Or should I just
> > scratch out "Summon Hydra" in the middle of the card and write
> > "Summon Argument" in its place??


Death Ward on Hydra - here goes:
Regeneration prevents the Hydra from going to the graveyard, so all the
counters stay on it. But it doesn't add counters, and it's still a 0/0
creature with some +1/+1 counters on it.

If the Hydra got hit by a spell that just kills it (say, blue elemental
blast) then regeneration prevents it from going to the graveyard, and
the elemental blast does no damage to it, so no counters are lost. So
your 0/0 hydra with 5 +1/+1 counters on it is still intact.

The trouble is that for each point of damage the hydra takes it loses
a counter. So if a 0/0 hydra with 5 +1/+1 counters gets hit by a
five-point fireball, it loses five counters. Now suddenly it's a 0/0
creature, and dies. It can be regenerated, but it lost the counters
before it dies, so it comes back with no counters, and is a 0/0 creature.
Any creature with toughness 0 or less immediately dies again.

So if the hydra died through taking damage, regenerating it is a lost
cause.

Still looking up the Channel/Word of Command and Resurection/Clockwork
Beast.

-Chris Page
pa...@student.physics.upenn.edu
rec.games.board Network Representative for

Paul Brinkley

unread,
Jan 5, 1994, 11:38:43 AM1/5/94
to
In article <2fupca$5...@fnnews.fnal.gov>,
Roberto Ullfig <ull...@fnrobo.fnal.gov] wrote:

]In article <RATINOX.93...@hendrix.ccs.neu.edu>, rat...@ccs.neu.edu (Richard Pieri) writes:
]|> >>>>> In article <2ftf8h$q...@cat.cis.Brown.EDU>, ST00...@brownvm.brown.edu
]|> >>>>> (Andrew Brecher) writes:
]|>
]|> Ok, I re-read it, and re-read the FAQ just to be sure.
]|>
]|> Ok, you can't Disenchant it until the spell is complete and the card is in
]|> play, because Disenchant is an Instant, not an Interrupt. You can
]
]Close. Being an Instant has nothing to do with it. Disenchant works on
]Artifacts and Enchantments. Rod of Ruin is a Spell until it is in play at
]which point it becomes an Artifact.

That was my assessment as well. Seeing as how this won't make many
important differences in my game, I'll go with the latter ruling,
and not Disenchant anything until it is actually in play.


Paul Brinkley
brin...@cs.utexas.edu

Paul Brinkley

unread,
Jan 5, 1994, 11:42:55 AM1/5/94
to
In article <2fsmhd$7...@delphinium.cig.mot.com>,

Chris J. Goebel <goe...@rtsg.mot.com> wrote:
>
>>5. If I have a Library of Leng in play, and I am forced to discard
>> from my hand, I can discard to either my graveyard or to the top
>> of my library, according to the card. If I discard to my
>> library, do I have to show it to my opponent first?
>
>good question. Although I can't think of to many situations where it matters.

In my case, I was being hit repeatedly by a Hypnotic Spectre; my
opponent would then be able to "probe" my hand. Since nearly all
my cards were useful to me by that time, I would discard them to
my library. Whether he got to seem them or not was important.

Paul Brinkley
brin...@cs.utexas.edu

Charles J Poirier

unread,
Jan 5, 1994, 11:03:05 PM1/5/94
to
Richard Pieri <rat...@ccs.neu.edu> wrote:
>gam> How does the Rock Hydra work?

>
>When you summon the Rock Hydra, you spend two red mana and X extra mana.
>The Hydra is a 0/0 creature; for each extra point of mana you use to summon
>it, it gets one head, each head adds +1/+1. When a head is destroyed
>(Hydra takes a point of damage), you can spend 1 red mana to stop the
>damage.

Not so. This is an understandable mistake, but be careful here.

For every point the Hydra is damaged, remove a +1/+1 counter, *or pay R
to avoid removing the counter*. Paying the R mana does NOT stop the
damage to the creature as a whole, just prevents losing +1/+1. So,
suppose we start with a +6/+6 Hydra. Damage it for three points,
threatening loss of +3/+3. Owner spends RR, losing just +1/+1 (one head).
After this exchange, we have a 5/5 Hydra with *three* damage points on it.
One further point of damage will (if no R is spent) reduce the Hydra to
a 4/4 creature with 4 damage points; it dies.

The moral is, if you don't regenerate *all* of your Hydra heads, you don't
get full value from them.

>Now, if you kill all of a hydra's heads, it's a 0/0 creature, which means
>dead. If you regenerate it, it's /still/ a 0/0 creature.

>Rat <rat...@ccs.neu.edu> PGP 2.x Public Key Block available upon request

True. Also, a Rock Hydra with plenty of heads can still accumulate enough
damage to die like a regular creature. "Damage accumulates throughout the
turn."

Cheers,
Charles Poirier c...@shell.portal.com

Perhaps a Princess...

unread,
Jan 6, 1994, 12:54:33 AM1/6/94
to
In article <CJ6wL...@unix.portal.com>,
Charles J Poirier <c...@shell.portal.com> wrote:
@Richard Pieri <rat...@ccs.neu.edu> wrote:
@>gam> How does the Rock Hydra work?
@>
@>When you summon the Rock Hydra, you spend two red mana and X extra mana.
@>The Hydra is a 0/0 creature; for each extra point of mana you use to summon
@>it, it gets one head, each head adds +1/+1. When a head is destroyed
@>(Hydra takes a point of damage), you can spend 1 red mana to stop the
@>damage.
@
@Not so. This is an understandable mistake, but be careful here.
@
@For every point the Hydra is damaged, remove a +1/+1 counter, *or pay R
@to avoid removing the counter*. Paying the R mana does NOT stop the
@damage to the creature as a whole, just prevents losing +1/+1. So,
@suppose we start with a +6/+6 Hydra. Damage it for three points,
@threatening loss of +3/+3. Owner spends RR, losing just +1/+1 (one head).
@After this exchange, we have a 5/5 Hydra with *three* damage points on it.
@One further point of damage will (if no R is spent) reduce the Hydra to
@a 4/4 creature with 4 damage points; it dies.
@
@The moral is, if you don't regenerate *all* of your Hydra heads, you don't
@get full value from them.
@
@True. Also, a Rock Hydra with plenty of heads can still accumulate enough
@damage to die like a regular creature. "Damage accumulates throughout the
@turn."

Actually, I -think- that damage does not acumlate normally on a
Rock Hydra. Rather, every point of damage to a Hydra causes it
to lose a head, but does NOT put a damage point on the Hydra at
the same time. Otherwise, every point od damage to a Hydra would
be the exact same as two damage points to any other creature.

I'm not sure how this works with Castle and Enchantments that make
the toughness more and stuff.

--
Sarah E. Heacock sa...@eskimo.com
.sig dedicated to the memory of Gene Roddenberry "The Great Bird of the Galaxy"

David R. Paoletti

unread,
Jan 6, 1994, 10:56:59 AM1/6/94
to
Chris J. Goebel (goe...@rtsg.mot.com) wrote:

: In article <2fse5p$i...@langtry.cs.utexas.edu>,
: Paul Brinkley <brin...@cs.utexas.edu> wrote:
: >5. If I have a Library of Leng in play, and I am forced to discard


: > from my hand, I can discard to either my graveyard or to the top
: > of my library, according to the card. If I discard to my
: > library, do I have to show it to my opponent first?

: good question. Although I can't think of to many situations where it matters.

Gee, Chris, did you just discard a Time Vault, Animate Artifact,
and Instill Energy? I think now is a good time to play a
Natural Selection... A little far-fetched, but anytime that
someone _knows_ you're about to draw a <insert favorite
death-on-a-stick card here>, it is a good time for NS.

Dave :)

Chris J. Goebel

unread,
Jan 6, 1994, 12:32:21 PM1/6/94
to
In article <2ghccb$g...@msuinfo.cl.msu.edu>,
O.K. there is one. ::)

-cg

Andrew Brecher

unread,
Jan 7, 1994, 5:47:14 PM1/7/94
to
In article <CJ6wL...@unix.portal.com>, c...@shell.portal.com (Charles J

Poirier) said:
>Richard Pieri <rat...@ccs.neu.edu> wrote:
>>gam> How does the Rock Hydra work?
>>
>>When you summon the Rock Hydra, you spend two red mana and X extra mana.
>>The Hydra is a 0/0 creature; for each extra point of mana you use to summon
>>it, it gets one head, each head adds +1/+1. When a head is destroyed
>>(Hydra takes a point of damage), you can spend 1 red mana to stop the
>>damage.
>
>Not so. This is an understandable mistake, but be careful here.
>
>For every point the Hydra is damaged, remove a +1/+1 counter, *or pay R
>to avoid removing the counter*. Paying the R mana does NOT stop the
>damage to the creature as a whole, just prevents losing +1/+1. So,
>suppose we start with a +6/+6 Hydra. Damage it for three points,
>threatening loss of +3/+3. Owner spends RR, losing just +1/+1 (one head).
>After this exchange, we have a 5/5 Hydra with *three* damage points on it.
>One further point of damage will (if no R is spent) reduce the Hydra to
>a 4/4 creature with 4 damage points; it dies.

Are you sure? That means that a 6/6 hydra gets killed by 3 damage if none
of the heads regenerate. I'm not sure this was an intended interpretation, but
it does make the hydra less powerful...

Charles J Poirier

unread,
Jan 9, 1994, 5:19:03 PM1/9/94
to
Andrew Brecher <ST00...@brownvm.brown.edu> wrote:
>c...@shell.portal.com (Charles J Poirier) said:
>>Richard Pieri <rat...@ccs.neu.edu> wrote:
>>>gam> How does the Rock Hydra work?

>>>When you summon the Rock Hydra, you spend two red mana and X extra mana.
>>>The Hydra is a 0/0 creature; for each extra point of mana you use to summon
>>>it, it gets one head, each head adds +1/+1. When a head is destroyed
>>>(Hydra takes a point of damage), you can spend 1 red mana to stop the

^^^^^^^^
>>>damage.
^^^^^^

>>Not so. This is an understandable mistake, but be careful here.

>>For every point the Hydra is damaged, remove a +1/+1 counter, *or pay R

^^^^^^^^^^


>>to avoid removing the counter*. Paying the R mana does NOT stop the
>>damage to the creature as a whole, just prevents losing +1/+1. So,

>Are you sure? That means that a 6/6 hydra gets killed by 3 damage if none


>of the heads regenerate. I'm not sure this was an intended interpretation,
>but it does make the hydra less powerful...
> -Andrew Brecher (andrew_...@brown.edu) (insert disclaimer here)

I am sure that this is how it *reads*. There is nothing on the Rock Hydra
card or in the 1st Edition Rules where "any damage effect stated, other than
just doing damage points, CANCELS the doing damage points." In fact there
is a close analogy at look at.

"Hypnotic Specter (1BB): An opponent damaged by Specter must discard a card
at random from his or her hand."

I will be enormously surprised if it turns out that we were supposed to
ONLY discard a card from opponent's hand, and not also apply the damage
points to reducing opponent's life. It is the same with Rock Hydra. There
is (as printed) an ADDITIONAL effect of damage to Rock Hydra. That effect
is NOT in lieu of damage points. Damage points accumulate throughout the
turn, and are continuously compared with the creature's current toughness.
That toughness is the sum of the printed toughness, plus that of counters
on the card, plus that of enchantments like Castle or Unholy Strength.
Is there ANYTHING about the Hydra that says otherwise?

And yes, it does weaken the creature. Incidentally it's not because I don't
have one that I argue this way; I've never played against one either.
It's because I want cards to play the way they are written, if possible.

Now I can't control whether an official ruling might come down and contradict
me here. But if so, I'd like to know WHY there is a difference with how we
treat Hypnotic Specter!

Cheers,
Charles Poirier

0 new messages