MEYNELL, Hugo Anthony 1936-2021

81 views
Skip to first unread message

Richard R

unread,
Oct 12, 2021, 3:52:13 AMOct 12
to Peerage News
From the Times of 12 Oct 2021: MEYNELL Hugo Anthony died peacefully on 1st October 2021, aged 85. Born to Sophia Patricia (Jill) and Godfrey Meynell, VC, MC, on March 23, 1936 at Meynell Langley, Derbyshire, he is survived by his three children, Clare B. Dimyon MBE, Julian Meynell, Letitia Meynell, his grandson, Simon Meynell, and his brother, Godfrey Meynell MBE. His daughter Frances Minto died earlier this year. Friends are welcome to join the family for a mass on Thursday, October 14 at St Luke’s Catholic Church, Calgary, in person or online at 11am MST/6pm BST. An informal gathering to share remembrances of Hugo, hosted by St Andrew’s Anglican Church, Calgary, will be held via Zoom at 1.30pm MST/8.30pm BST....

He was yr s (b posthumously) of Capt Godfrey MEYNELL VC MC 1904-ka1935 scion of that gentry family of Meynell Langley and (as her 1st h) Sophia Patricia (Jill) 1905-91 d of John Ross Fendall LOWIS 1862-1921 by his 1899 m reg Q3 Rathdum, Ireland to (his 1st w) Sophia W SHEPARD d before 1907. He m 1962 Anne d of Mrs Barbara KIRTLAND of Malvern, Worcs, and had issue as above.
Reply all
Reply to author
Forward
0 new messages