Fwd: Icebreaker One awarded phase III implementation for Open Energy portal

14 views
Skip to first unread message

Robbie Morrison

unread,
Feb 1, 2021, 12:33:38 PMFeb 1
to openmod list

Hello all

There is a class of data that sits between open licensed data and strictly private data — and that is transacted data protected by considerations of individual privacy or commercial privacy (that said, commercially private data that is shared too widely will doubtless soon lose its trade secret status).

The United Kingdom government is currently running a Modernising Energy Data Access (MEDA) program.

Non‑profit Icebreaker One participated in phases I and II of MEDA and have just been awarded the phase III contract to implement their proposal.

Their portal will be called Open Energy and will include both non‑open data and genuinely open data.  The non‑open data will be subject to a sophisticated system of internal governance complete with accreditation, brokerage, dispute resolution, and the ability to sanction. The data itself will signal its content, restrictions on use, and related characteristics — thereby removing the need for expensive and time‑consuming bilateral agreement before consumption can occur.

Icebreaker One are holding a one hour presentation in two weeks time — registration is required:

  • Tue 16-Feb-2021 23:00:00 +1300 (NZDT)
  • Tue 16-Feb-2021 21:00:00 +1100 (AEDT)
  • Tue 16-Feb-2021 15:30:00 +0530 (IST) (India)
  • Tue 16-Feb-2021 13:00:00 +0300 (MSK)
  • Tue 16-Feb-2021 11:00:00 +0100 (CET)
  • Tue 16-Feb-2021 10:00:00 +0000 (GMT)
  • Tue 16-Feb-2021 05:00:00 -0500 (EST)
  • Tue 16-Feb-2021 03:00:00 -0700 (MST)
  • Tue 16-Feb-2021 02:00:00 -0800 (PST)
  • Tue 16-Feb-2021 00:00:00 -1000 (HST)

This event should be of particular interest to those working with smart energy systems that necessarily need to transact close‑to‑real‑time household information in a secure but enabled environment.  It should also be of more general interest because Icebreaker One are one of very few initiatives that understand the difference between open and non‑open data.

I contributed to Icebreaker One advisory group 2 (AG2) on legal and policy during phase II and therefore gained some insight into the project, its direction, and what some of the challenges ahead might be.  And I am absolutely thrilled that Gavin Starks and his team made it through to the implementation phase.

with best wishes, Robbie


-------- Forwarded Message --------
Subject: [Icebreaker One] Open Energy — we won
Date: Mon, 1 Feb 2021 15:23:06 +0000
From: Gavin Starks <ga...@icebreakerone.org>
Reply-To: Gavin Starks <ga...@icebreakerone.org>
To: Robbie <robbie....@posteo.de>


When: Tues 16 February at 10-11am
What: Bringing Open Energy to market
Who: Project team

Where: Online (using Zoom)
 Register here 

Please feel free to forward this email to anyone you think may be interested.


Hello Robbie,

We're starting 2021 with some great news.

Over the past six months, we’ve been working on Open Energy—an initiative to revolutionise the way the energy data is shared. 

I’m delighted to announce that our work on Open Energy has won the UK national Modernising Energy Data Access (MEDA) competition, run by UK Research and Innovation. This means we’ve secured £750k funding to continue developing a service that energy sector companies can use to search, share and access data securely, within a governance and trust framework. 

This is also the first implementation of an 'open banking' type framework outside of the financial sector, and one that we hope will help lay the foundations for cross-sector data sharing at web-scale.  

We’ll be hosting an online event to update on progress and findings so far—I’d love to have you there. Please register using the link above.

More details are on the Open Energy website http://energydata.org.uk 

If you’d like to collaborate, please contact Michelle at michell...@icebreakerone.org.

If somebody has forwarded you this email and you’d like to receive updates from us in future, please sign up here.

All the best, 

Gavin & the Icebreakers



Twitter
Website


Reply all
Reply to author
Forward
0 new messages