#event PyPSA meets Africa - An open energy system model initiative for Africa (& the World)

21 views
Skip to first unread message

Max Parzen

unread,
Sep 24, 2021, 8:21:23 AMSep 24
to openmod initiative

Hi everyone,
If you are interested in open source, energy system modelling, and "AI data creation from satellites" then please join our open webinar.

Webinar: "PyPSA meets Africa - An open energy system model initiative for Africa (& the
World)"

Time: Fr. 01 October 2021, 13-14:00 UK-time
Event format: 40min presentation, 20min (Q&A)

Overview

PyPSA meets Africa is the largest non-funded open energy system modelling initiative in Africa. It aims to develop GIS-based open-source planning tools to guide energy system relevant policy, industry and research decision making. Since being founded in early 2021, more than 40 international members contributing to keep the initiative long-term sustainable and to develop a model prototype by end of 2021.

Recently, institutions such as the World Resource Institute, the German Aerospace Agency and many others are trying to join consortiums around the initiative. They believe in the power of open-source like we do. Together, we make open energy system models an alternative to proprietary tools that are equally reliable and maybe even better.

Presenters:

  • Matin Mahmood (Core contributor, University of Edinburgh)
  • Lukas Franken (AI WP lead, University of Edinburgh)
  • Davide Fioriti (Core contributor, University of Pisa)
  • Maximilian Parzen (Director of Initiative, University of Edinburgh)

Content:

  • Energy system modelling in Africa
  • Simulation vs. optimisation
  • Black vs. opaque vs. open box software
  • PyPSA-Africa - An open digital twin of energy systems that can be optimised
  • What we do
  • Deep dive. Creating data from satellite images by AI detection
  • How international collaboration with open source can work?
  • Big projects ahead
  • How to contribute?
  • Q&A (20+ min)
More information:
Visit our new website for more information on our initiative:

Robbie Morrison

unread,
Sep 28, 2021, 12:20:50 PMSep 28
to openmod-i...@googlegroups.com

Hi Max, hi all

The start time in various places around the world, on the assumption that "UK-time" is indeed BST:

  • Saturday 02 October 2021 01:00 +1300 (NZDT)
  • Friday 01 October 2021 22:00 +1000 (AEST)
  • Friday 01 October 2021 17:30 +0530 (IST) (India)
  • Friday 01 October 2021 16:00 +0400 (+04) (UAE)
  • Friday 01 October 2021 15:00 +0300 (MSK)
  • Friday 01 October 2021 14:00 +0200 (CEST)
  • Friday 01 October 2021 13:00 +0100 (IST) (Ireland)
  • Friday 01 October 2021 13:00 +0100 (BST)
  • Friday 01 October 2021 12:00 +0000 (UTC)
  • Friday 01 October 2021 08:00 -0400 (EDT)
  • Friday 01 October 2021 06:00 -0600 (MDT)
  • Friday 01 October 2021 05:00 -0700 (PDT)
  • Friday 01 October 2021 02:00 -1000 (HST)

And noting that the transition from daylight savings does not necessarily occur simultaneously worldwide.

cheers, Robbie

--
You received this message because you are subscribed to the Google Groups "openmod initiative" group.
To unsubscribe from this group and stop receiving emails from it, send an email to openmod-initiat...@googlegroups.com.
To view this discussion on the web, visit https://groups.google.com/d/msgid/openmod-initiative/83cb1665-1560-4daf-9d9e-db58113df6dbn%40googlegroups.com.
-- 
Robbie Morrison
Address: Schillerstrasse 85, 10627 Berlin, Germany
Phone: +49.30.612-87617

Max Parzen

unread,
Oct 9, 2021, 7:55:47 AMOct 9
to openmod initiative
🎉 Let’s make #energy system planning #open and #transparent.
We just released our recordings and slides from our event,
where around 130 people participated and asked great questions.

We talked about:
- The PyPSA-Africa model
- Data creation with #satellites & #AI
- Role of governance

Get in touch with us if you want to contribute.
#energysystems #opensource #pypsameetsafrica

Recordings and slides can be found here:

Support our mission on LinkedIn:

Happy weekend,

Max
Reply all
Reply to author
Forward
0 new messages