you should also implement a spam filter - a good free one that also
feeds known spam sources back to a central database is spamnet which is
the windows version of spamassassin which is being used on corporate
email servers. see cloudmark.com for details.
--
Toril
.~.
/V\ Registered Linux User #282272
//Y\\ http://counter.li.org/
/(_|_)\ Life is what happens to you ...
^^ ^^
I'm beginning to think that third parties have gained access to NTL's email
account list - either by hacking or by NTL releasing email addresses. I
NEVER use my NTL email address and it has never appeared in any of my
newsgroup email headers - but the account has started receiving spam. It
also is not very guessable. However since I don't use the account I have
simply added a message rule to delete ALL emails sent to that account
directly from the server provided they do not include the word "NTL" in the
from field. Unfortunately this doesn't help you any. I suppose you could add
a spam filter "password" like I've done with my Hotmail account - but that
isn't a convenient solution for general emails.
Another approach would be to set up a message rule to delete incoming emails
from people who are not in your address book - fine provided you only
communicate with a closed group of people.
You could also try some of anti - spam software - there are a few to chose
between out there now. Some free some not.
--
Drakanthus.
(Spam filter: Include the word VB anywhere in the subject line or emails
will never reach me.)
Maybe one of the NTL staff got access to the email database and sold it.
Also, I was taking about this the otherday to someone. I get two or 3 a day
sometimes. Not always formatted. the last 3 I got have been junk, just lots
of letters messed up.
I know at least 5 people who get this spam
'u.n.i.v.e.r.s.i.t.y_d.i.p.l.o.m.a.s', we also get something about DVD
software and their webpage is hosted on geocities.
Another, that intested me, was this one.
"From: <uk_loans...@msn.com>
To: <xxxxx...@ntlworld.com>
Subject: NTL Members, (UK) Loans Before Xmas...
Date: Fri, 15 Nov 2002 11:48:03 +1000"
Although I've not checked with anyone about this email, It would be
intresting to see if anyone else got it too.
--
There are only 10 types of people in the world: Those who understand binary
and those who don't.
http://homepage.ntlworld.com/bininside/
"Drakanthus" <Draka...@hotmail.com> replied in message
news:5Z2E9.1108$wR5....@newsfep1-gui.server.ntli.net...
"Trev Dowle" <trevor...@remove.hotmail.com> replied in message
news:gcm1uug7cabm8957n...@4ax.com...
<Snip>
Hi,
Thank you both for your replies..
I will be corresponding with a closed group, so yeah, that would be a good idea.
I use MailWasher for my other NTL address, so that might be a good idea
too..Bounce the things back to them.
I'm just amazed that an address that I have never typed anywhere, and that is
*so* obscure, has received Spam..
Makes you wonder eh?
It certainly makes me think that I ought to take further security steps when
using an address for email that contains super sensitive material.
With regard to CC'd mails, you know, groups of NTL addresses..
After an inspection of the headers, it's apparent this email was not CC'd or
BCC'd to anyone..It was emailed to just one person, and that was me.
Most bizarre.
Hopefully, if any NTL employees see this, it might just raise a flag somewhere..
But I doubt it.
Another case of NTL users sorting things out between one another I guess.
Anyhow, thanks again for your help.
If anyone is at all interested , here is a copy of the headers..
Originating from Korea it seems, after doing a WhoIs on the I.P.
Return-Path: <u.n.i.v.e.r.s.i.t...@dikhgoros.gr>
Received: from mail ([211.178.247.81]) by mta01-svc.ntlworld.com
(InterMail vM.4.01.03.27 201-229-121-127-20010626) with SMTP
id <20021124072449.DPRD6172.mta01-svc.ntlworld.com@mail>
for <*********@ntlworld.com>; Sun, 24 Nov 2002 07:24:49 +0000
Message-ID: <SD7O3fo6yGzJ3NdyqAZ9@B1ehkr3I84rz6kbE>
From: u.n.i.v.e.r.s.i.t...@dikhgoros.gr
<u.n.i.v.e.r.s.i.t...@dikhgoros.gr>