thanks
--
Comments posted to news.admin.net-abuse.blocklisting
are solely the responsibility of their author. Please
read the news.admin.net-abuse.blocklisting FAQ at
http://www.blocklisting.com/faq.html before posting.
>Can you please remove this address off your list.
Why would they do that? You haven't said what IP address, who you are
or why that IP address should be removed. Please read the FAQ and the
record. Pay particular attention to escalation. Note that SPEWS is not
going to change its policies for you; the only reasons that they will
change a listing are:
1. There is an error in it: that's surprisingly rare.
2. There has been a change in the facts: that's more likely to
result in an escalation than a delisting
3. Some internal timer has gone off; they don't document what or
whether.
Chances are that the address that you are concerned with is not
listed, but that an IP block containing it is. Only the owner of the
IP block can get the listing changed with one exception. SPEWS has cut
a temporary hole in a listing when the user posted a timetable for
moving away from a rogue provider.
A word of warning; anybody claiming to speak for SPEWS is lying; SPEWS
is anonymous.
--
Shmuel (Seymour J.) Metz, truly insane Spews puppet
Unsolicited bulk E-mail will be subject to legal action. I reserve
the right to publicly post or ridicule any abusive E-mail.
Reply to domain Patriot dot net user shmuel+news to contact me. Do
not reply to spam...@library.lspace.org
>Can you please remove this address off your list.
What address?
Why?
Surely, you don't think we're mind readers?
--
Bill "the Roadie" Carton
thanks
I encourage you to read the (several) previous threads in this
newsgroup about S827 which have been active within the past couple of
weeks. This will lead you to a fuller understanding of why the
portion of ATX.COM's network within which your server resides, is
being boycotted/quarantined by SPEWS and the sites who use their data.
Summary: it's unlikely that this portion of the net will be trusted
again, unless and until your (upstream?) provider ATX.NET stops
providing services to a notorious spammer. Your own IP address,
individually, is not listed individually - it's included in a large
block of addresses which many sites have come to distrust, because
it's administered by a provider who is willing to provide hosting and
other services for a company intent on abusing the Internet.
--
Dave Platt <dpl...@radagast.org> AE6EO
Hosting the Jade Warrior home page: http://www.radagast.org/jade-warrior
I do _not_ wish to receive unsolicited commercial email, and I will
boycott any company which has the gall to send me such ads!
Probably won't happen...
>We do not spam and does not allow the relaying of external mail
>through our server.
That's pretty much irrelevant at this point. You see, if you
take a close look at S827, your email is getting blocked because
your ISP, atx.com is being blocked. Apparently atx.com has been
harboring some rather nasty spammers AND have done so for a LONG
time. Here's the relevant part of the record:
1, 146.145.203.194, atozhosting.net / displayware.com / emailtools.com / mail.mtilab.net / ns2.mtilab.net (Colo8 / ATX.COM / voyager.net)
1, 146.145.203.0/24, Colo8 (atozhosting.net / displayware.com / emailtools.com / mail.mtilab.net)
1, 146.145.202.0 - 146.145.205.255, atx.com (Colo8 (atozhosting.net / displayware.com / emailtools.com / mail.mtilab.net))
1, 146.145.200.0 - 146.145.207.255, atx.com (Colo8 (atozhosting.net / displayware.com / emailtools.com / mail.mtilab.net))
1, 146.145.185.0 - 146.145.222.255, atx.com (Colo8 (atozhosting.net / displayware.com / emailtools.com / mail.mtilab.net))
2, 146.145.195.0 - 146.145.212.255, atx.com (Colo8 (atozhosting.net / displayware.com / emailtools.com / mail.mtilab.net))
Yeah, that whole block applies to your predicament. The first line
indicates a single spammer being blocked. The next few lines
indicate successive attempts at complaining about the problem
to the ISP and each time getting no response (i.e. spammer was
not removed and probably continued to spam). The responsiblity
kept moving up, from atozhosting.net to Colo8, finally to atx.com.
I'm not sure if that ...195.0 - ...212.255 constitutes a hole
(otherwise why bother), but its a tenuous hole because it can
either mean "watch to see if is clearing up" or "watch to see
how much worse it gets". The latter will mean you have no hope
of getting out of the current block. The former might help you,
if it expands.
The implication is that you are currently occuping space in a
rather bad network neighborhood. Complain bitterly at your
ISP; tell them you are getting blocked because they are getting
blocked and that they need to get rid of their spammers in order
to get out of the block. Otherwise consider moving to a more
reputable ISP. You can also consider smarthosting your mail,
or trying to get your contacts to whitelist you. Of course,
you could also just live with being blocked. Just keep in
mind that if your ISP continues to be blocked, it means they
have a bad spam reputation which could rub off onto you, AND
that some folks consider leasing from a spam-friendly ISP the
same as supporting spammers.
The bottom line is that only your ISP can get you out of this
mess, because it is their responsibility for getting you into it
in the first place.
ru
--
I am not SPEWS.
>Can you pleaes review and remove the IP 146.145.187.85 off the
>spammer list.
What is the point of starting a new thread? You could have posted a
followup to <663e6fe8.04062...@posting.google.com> with
the IP address.
>We do not spam
Please read Message-ID:
<40e021e4$4$fuzhry+tra$mr2...@news.patriot.net>, the FAQ and the
record. You will see that 146.145.187.85 does not appear in the
record. It is not you that is listed, but your provider, and only your
provider can get 146.145.185.0 - 146.145.222.255 removed from the
list. Given the track record of ATX TelecommunicationsServices, I'd
say that your chances of convincing them to do so are between slim and
none, and Slim's out of town.
Should you decide to move to a reputable provider, I advise you to
post a timetable and to ask SPEWS to cut a temporary hole. They've
done it before, in that situation.
--
Shmuel (Seymour J.) Metz, truly insane Spews puppet
Unsolicited bulk E-mail will be subject to legal action. I reserve
the right to publicly post or ridicule any abusive E-mail. Reply to
domain Patriot dot net user shmuel+news to contact me. Do not
reply to spam...@library.lspace.org
--