Google Groups no longer supports new Usenet posts or subscriptions. Historical content remains viewable.
Dismiss

yimg.com

25 views
Skip to first unread message

Man-wai Chang ToDie (33.6k)

unread,
Jun 7, 2008, 2:08:22 AM6/7/08
to

is it an advertising site?

--
@~@ Might, Courage, Vision, SINCERITY.
/ v \ Simplicity is Beauty! May the Force and Farce be with you!
/( _ )\ (Xubuntu 8.04) Linux 2.6.25.5
^ ^ 14:07:01 up 37 min 1 user load average: 1.08 1.03 0.93
? ? (CSSA):
http://www.swd.gov.hk/tc/index/site_pubsvc/page_socsecu/sub_addressesa/

Sul@Mozilla

unread,
Jun 7, 2008, 2:10:07 AM6/7/08
to
Man-wai Chang ToDie (33.6k) posted the following on 07-Jun-08 13:08:

>
> is it an advertising site?
>
is it?

--

Windows XP SP3
Firefox 3.0 RC2


Moz Champion (Dan)

unread,
Jun 7, 2008, 11:26:38 PM6/7/08
to
Sul@Mozilla wrote:
> Man-wai Chang ToDie (33.6k) posted the following on 07-Jun-08 13:08:
>>
>> is it an advertising site?
>>
> is it?
>


All that is on the one page (http://yimg.com) is
<!doctype html public "-//w3c//dtd html 4.0 transitional//en">
<html>
<head>
<meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=iso-8859-1">
<meta name="Author" content="Doug Barton">
</head>
<body bgcolor="white">
<!-- This page intentionally left blank -->
</body>
</html>


its a blank page of course

http://www.yimg.com give me a DNS search page

»Q«

unread,
Jun 8, 2008, 1:46:35 AM6/8/08
to
In <news:bIqdnZXYv5MmuNfV...@mozilla.org>,

"Man-wai Chang ToDie (33.6k)" <toylet...@gmail.com> wrote:

> is it an advertising site?

Start with

$ whois example.com

--
»Q«
Kleeneness is next to Gödelness.

David McRitchie

unread,
Jun 8, 2008, 5:24:11 AM6/8/08
to
"»Q«" <box...@gmx.net> wrote in message news:20080608004...@prezmyra.remarqs.net...

> In <news:bIqdnZXYv5MmuNfV...@mozilla.org>,
> "Man-wai Chang ToDie (33.6k)" <toylet...@gmail.com> wrote:
>
>> is it an advertising site?
>
> Start with
>
> $ whois example.com

http://www.internic.net/whois.html
http://reports.internic.net/cgi/whois?whois_nic=yimg.com&type=domain

"yimg.com" is used by Yahoo (yahoo.com) to serve advertisements.
In the US se might see such urls as
http://us.js2.yimg.com/us.yimg.com/I/us/sch/gr3/ngsprt_2000507.png
http://us.js2.yimg.com/us.js.yimg.com/lib/s3/shx_2000805201310.js
which can be blocked by extensions such as "Adblock Plus" or "Adblock"
extensions and with appropriate filters. For instance the above would
be blocked with a filter with http://us.js2.yimg.com/
--
HTH,
David McRitchie, extensions I use are briefly documented on my site
Firefox Custom: http://www.mvps.org/dmcritchie/firefox/firefox.htm
>

PeeGee

unread,
Jun 8, 2008, 7:19:44 AM6/8/08
to
David McRitchie wrote:
> "»Q«" <box...@gmx.net> wrote in message
> news:20080608004...@prezmyra.remarqs.net...
>> In <news:bIqdnZXYv5MmuNfV...@mozilla.org>,
>> "Man-wai Chang ToDie (33.6k)" <toylet...@gmail.com> wrote:
>>
>>> is it an advertising site?
>>
>> Start with
>>
>> $ whois example.com
>
> http://www.internic.net/whois.html
> http://reports.internic.net/cgi/whois?whois_nic=yimg.com&type=domain
>
> "yimg.com" is used by Yahoo (yahoo.com) to serve advertisements.
> In the US se might see such urls as
> http://us.js2.yimg.com/us.yimg.com/I/us/sch/gr3/ngsprt_2000507.png
> http://us.js2.yimg.com/us.js.yimg.com/lib/s3/shx_2000805201310.js
> which can be blocked by extensions such as "Adblock Plus" or "Adblock"
> extensions and with appropriate filters. For instance the above would
> be blocked with a filter with http://us.js2.yimg.com/

Adblock filterset G includes yimg.com in its list and Yahoo mail still
works. If you block yimg.com with adblock (with a different filter to
abfsG) or noscript, you cannot use the "new" interface with yahoo mail.

David Gee

unread,
Jun 8, 2008, 10:22:59 AM6/8/08
to
"David McRitchie" <nospam@nospam> wrote in message
news:k_mdnexvkIfHONbV...@mozilla.org...

> "»Q«" <box...@gmx.net> wrote in message
> news:20080608004...@prezmyra.remarqs.net...
>> In <news:bIqdnZXYv5MmuNfV...@mozilla.org>,
>> "Man-wai Chang ToDie (33.6k)" <toylet...@gmail.com> wrote:
>>
>>> is it an advertising site?
>>
>> Start with
>>
Why waste all this intellectual energy on this oleagenous sino-spammer
wannabe? Just threaten him with sudden violence and excruciating
torture, and be done with him!


Matt Nordhoff

unread,
Jun 9, 2008, 9:41:18 PM6/9/08
to
David McRitchie wrote:
> http://www.internic.net/whois.html
> http://reports.internic.net/cgi/whois?whois_nic=yimg.com&type=domain
>
> "yimg.com" is used by Yahoo (yahoo.com) to serve advertisements.
> In the US se might see such urls as
> http://us.js2.yimg.com/us.yimg.com/I/us/sch/gr3/ngsprt_2000507.png
> http://us.js2.yimg.com/us.js.yimg.com/lib/s3/shx_2000805201310.js
> which can be blocked by extensions such as "Adblock Plus" or "Adblock"
> extensions and with appropriate filters. For instance the above would
> be blocked with a filter with http://us.js2.yimg.com/

yimg.com is used by Yahoo! to serve static files, including
advertisements. Some subdomains and directories are ad-only, so they can
be safely blocked, but not the whole thing.

For example, <http://l.yimg.com/a/i/ww/beta/y3.gif> is Yahoo's logo used
on the homepage, but
<http://l.yimg.com/a/a/1-/flash/promotions/southwest_airlines/080609/350x200fe.gif>
is an ad.
--

Blinky the Shark

unread,
Jun 9, 2008, 11:03:53 PM6/9/08
to

As collateral damage goes, I'd say the logo is pretty insignificant; I
don't think I'd miss it if an aggressive ad filter blocked it.


--
Blinky
Killing all posts from Google Groups
The Usenet Improvement Project: http://improve-usenet.org
NEW --> Now evaluating a GG-free news feed: http://usenet4all.se

0 new messages