Google Groups no longer supports new Usenet posts or subscriptions. Historical content remains viewable.
Dismiss

Firefox2006

0 views
Skip to first unread message

Feargal

unread,
Oct 24, 2006, 6:03:47 AM10/24/06
to
Sorry. I don't knwo where to post this but there is an email going around
today suggesting that a new version of Firefox is available at
http://www.firefox2006.com/gonz.htm

I think this is a scam but cannot find any confirmation for this. Can anyone
confirm.


jezlinux

unread,
Oct 24, 2006, 6:19:01 AM10/24/06
to

It's not a scam. It is expected to be released at 12.00 UTC today.

Actually, some people hunted around and found the code was already on
the FTP servers yesterday (things being put in place in readiness), so
I'm already running a copy on Linux. It's nice. The look and feel is
similar, and number of new features is not huge, evolutionary rather
than revolutionary, but I think the anti-phishing measures will be
especially welcome, so long as people don't then think this makes them
100% safe.

Check out the media for more proof. Or wait 2 hours.

Presumably the release will roll out under automatic update...?


jez

Feargal

unread,
Oct 24, 2006, 6:34:02 AM10/24/06
to
The gonz page above looks very amateur and the "Get Firefox" button links to
googlesyndication.com. And you are still convinced it is not a scam?

I don't doubt that there is a new version to be available soon. But someone
is trying to make some money out of it with this page, methinks.


Sander

unread,
Oct 24, 2006, 7:59:34 PM10/24/06
to
Feargal wrote:
> The gonz page above looks very amateur and the "Get Firefox" button links to
> googlesyndication.com. And you are still convinced it is not a scam?
>
> I don't doubt that there is a new version to be available soon. But someone
> is trying to make some money out of it with this page, methinks.

Yeah, Google is paying $1 for each install of Firefox+google toolbar,
and there's spammers who think that money is good enough to use their
usual vile techniques to try and get people to download/install through
their pages. The Firefox version you end up with is completely
legitimate as far as I know, but there's really no reason not to
download it through http://mozilla.com/

Sander

0 new messages