Google Groups no longer supports new Usenet posts or subscriptions. Historical content remains viewable.
Dismiss

Is this really windows live mail or just scam?

0 views
Skip to first unread message

gall

unread,
Jan 11, 2010, 2:28:01 PM1/11/10
to

I got email in this morning . I am wondering is this real windows live mail
email or just scam.. I did not fill out anything though.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
From: slwong...@hotmail.com
To: custormera...@live.com
Subject: Hotmail Alert!!
Date: Mon, 11 Jan 2010 16:39:34 +0000


ACCOUNT@ UPDATED


Dear Account Owner

CONFIRM YOUR WINDOWS LIVE ACCOUNT SERVICES. VERIFY YOUR HOTMAIL ACCOUNT NOW
TO AVOID IT CLOSED !!!


This is email from Windows Live Hotmail® and we are sending to all account
user for safety. Due to the anonymous registration of our account which is
causing congestion to our service, so we are shutting down some account and
your account was among those to be deleted,so the purpose of this email is
for you to verify that you are the owner of this account and you are still
using it by filling the information below after clicking on the reply button:


User Name:

Password:

Date Of Birth:

Country Or Territory:

After following the instructions in the sheet, your account will not be
interrupted and will continue as normal. Thanks for your attention to this
request. We apologize for any inconveniences.

Account owner that refuses to update his/her account after 48 hours of
receiving this warning will lose his or her account permanently.

Sincerely,
The Windows Live Hotmail Team


--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Your E-mail and More On-the-Go. Get Windows Live Hotmail Free. Sign up now.

Peter Foldes

unread,
Jan 11, 2010, 2:43:35 PM1/11/10
to
Delete it A.S.A.P. it is a scam

--
Peter

Please Reply to Newsgroup for the benefit of others
Requests for assistance by email can not and will not be acknowledged.

"gall" <ga...@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
news:6DD1F3F7-53E6-4AED...@microsoft.com...

SIW2

unread,
Jan 11, 2010, 2:57:33 PM1/11/10
to

It's a scam.

Apart from anything else, what kind of English is that?

Hope it helps.

SIW2

gall;1213065 Wrote:
> I got email in this morning . I am wondering is this real windows live
> mail
> email or just scam.. I did not fill out anything though.
>
> --------------------------------------------------------------------------------

> From: slwong_290290@newsgroup
> To: custormeralertcare87@newsgroup


--
SIW2

N. Miller

unread,
Jan 11, 2010, 7:34:27 PM1/11/10
to
On Mon, 11 Jan 2010 11:28:01 -0800, gall wrote:

> I got email in this morning . I am wondering is this real windows live mail
> email or just scam.. I did not fill out anything though.

It is a type of "phish". If you follow through, you give up your Hotmail
account to the scammer. Delete it.

--
Norman
~Oh Lord, why have you come
~To Konnyu, with the Lion and the Drum

Roy Smith

unread,
Jan 11, 2010, 7:46:57 PM1/11/10
to

Well for starters. look at the return email address. Do you really
think that the live support email address would be
SLWONG...@live.com? Also why would they ask you for that
information when you supplied it already when you set up your Hotmail
account?

--

Roy Smith
Windows 7

Timestamp: Monday, January 11, 2010 6:46:51 PM

...winston

unread,
Jan 11, 2010, 11:15:59 PM1/11/10
to
It is a phishing attempt to obtain your account information. Delete it immediately.

Hotmail or Msft never asks for your password.

The first clue should have been the From: field, the second the To: field, third the lack of proper grammar(subject, pronouns, verb
tense, run on sentence), etc...

--
...winston
ms-mvp mail

"gall" <ga...@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message news:6DD1F3F7-53E6-4AED...@microsoft.com...

0 new messages