Google Groups no longer supports new Usenet posts or subscriptions. Historical content remains viewable.
Dismiss

Fake "hotmail" webpage sending logininfo to someone else(!)

0 views
Skip to first unread message

John McGaw

unread,
Apr 20, 2004, 2:12:01 PM4/20/04
to
"Lex" <anon...@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
news:0C1AD835-104F-4831...@microsoft.com...
> www.ehotmail.com is a fake webpage sending your login info to:
e_yo...@hotmail.com
>
> That it's fake is for sure, but maybe the hotmail staff can see who's at
that adres and notify the local autority's ?
> You can find that adres by accasing the source code at the "login" menu.
>
> I don't want to show my e-mail adres here, but I'm sure a hotmail staff
can see atleast my IP and see what's my adres. I would like to get contacted
to know you are working with this. Because atleast 1 of my friends got
hacked by this person. She can send you an a-mail with her info (last
passwords places she logs in etc) and get her account back can't she?

Huh? www.ehotmail.com is nothing but a "parked" URL at DotRegistrar.com and
has no data collection capability. And why would any research be required
since there is a link to the owner of the URL?
--
John McGaw
[Knoxville, TN, USA]

Return address will not work. Please
reply in group or through my website:
http://johnmcgaw.com


N. Miller

unread,
Apr 21, 2004, 4:36:35 AM4/21/04
to
In article <0C1AD835-104F-4831...@microsoft.com>,
anon...@discussions.microsoft.com says...

> www.ehotmail.com is a fake webpage sending your login info to:
> e_yo...@hotmail.com

Currently a parked domain. Maybe somebody already complained, maybe it was
never what you claim. I have no way to tell.

> That it's fake is for sure, but maybe the hotmail staff can see who's at
> that adres and notify the local autority's?

You could to. I found some information using Sam Spade. But I won't be
sending any complaints because I can't see anything wrong being done. Again,
maybe somebody else already did, leading to the domain being parked by the
registrar. They do that; pull the plug on abusive domains. I will not post
what I have found because I have no firsthand evidence of wrongdoing; it
would be a futile exercise, and the domain owner might be justified in
considering that act abusive.

> You can find that adres by accasing the source code at the "login" menu.

Maybe once, but not now. All I get is a Dotregister page.

> I don't want to show my e-mail adres here, but I'm sure a hotmail staff
> can see atleast my IP and see what's my adres. I would like to get
> contacted to know you are working with this. Because atleast 1 of my
> friends got hacked by this person. She can send you an a-mail with her
> info (last passwords places she logs in etc) and get her account back
> can't she?

Unfortunately, this is a public news group, and anybody with access to the
group, either from their own provider's NNTP service, or through
msnews.microsoft.com, can gain access, read posts, and respond. AFAIK,
nobody from Hotmail, with the official capacity to act, monitors this group.
The administrators of the CDO system at the MSFT site probably don't have
any more connection to Hotmail than I have.

--
Norman
~Win dain a lotica, En vai tu ri, Si lo ta
~Fin dein a loluca, En dragu a sei lain
~Vi fa-ru les shutai am, En riga-lint

S. Pidgorny <MVP>

unread,
Apr 21, 2004, 5:58:32 AM4/21/04
to
Send such reports to sec...@microsoft.com - real people will look at the
problem, really. Account information collection by fake sites (a.k.a.
"phishing") is a big problem to banks but the hotmail hoax doesn't surprise
me - people sometimes have information that help identity theft right in the
mailbox.

--
Svyatoslav Pidgorny, MVP, MCSE
-= F1 is the key =-

"Lex" <anon...@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
news:0C1AD835-104F-4831...@microsoft.com...

> www.ehotmail.com is a fake webpage sending your login info to:
e_yo...@hotmail.com
>

> That it's fake is for sure, but maybe the hotmail staff can see who's at
that adres and notify the local autority's ?

> You can find that adres by accasing the source code at the "login" menu.
>

0 new messages