For example, today I received a e-mail from a jw...@recife.net addressed to
bossh...@hongkong.com. However, we are WESTSHORE.COM, not HONGKONG.COM.
How is this possible? The only thing I can think of is that there is a DNS
server somewhere out on the internet that is incorrectly pointing to
WESTSHORE.COM.
This is the information listed for the message under VIEW ~ OPTIONS ~
INTERNET HEADERS:
Received: from 209.52.142.114 by exch.westshore.com with SMTP (Microsoft
Exchange Internet Mail Service Version 5.0.1460.8)
id RAVT9LVD; Fri, 1 Sep 2000 18:06:29 -0700
Received: from mail.cjdaily.com.cn (unknown [202.103.37.140])
by dart.westshore.com (Postfix) with ESMTP
id 81D4A22D3D; Fri, 1 Sep 2000 18:07:09 -0700 (PDT)
Received: from virtual.umb.edu.co [206.133.174.172] by mail.cjdaily.com.cn
(SMTPD32-5.01) id A4031182013E; Sat, 02 Sep 2000 06:43:31 PDT
Message-ID: <00007f40628a$00004ac7$0000...@mail.cern.ch>
To: <bossh...@hongkong.com>
From: jw...@recife.net
Subject: Earn a fortune in the currency market 12262
Date: Fri, 01 Sep 2000 17:39:14 -0500
MIME-Version: 1.0
Content-Type: text/html;
charset="iso-8859-1"
Content-Transfer-Encoding: quoted-printable
X-Priority: 3
X-MSMail-Priority: Normal
Errors-To: junk...@mail6.1amweb.com
Reply-To: getith...@india.com
When I put the originator's IP address (200.253.218.220) into ARIN's WHOIS I
get the following:
RNP (Brazilian Research Network) (NETBLK-BRAZIL-BLK2)
Rua Pio XI, 1500
Sao Paulo, 05468-901
BR
Netname: BRAZIL-BLK2
Netblock: 200.128.0.0 - 200.255.255.0
Maintainer: RNP
Coordinator:
Gomide, Alberto Courrege (ACG8-ARIN) gom...@nic.br
+55 11 9308-5675 (FAX) +55 11 3645-2420
Domain System inverse mapping provided by:
NS.DNS.BR 143.108.23.2
NS1.DNS.BR 200.255.253.234
NS2.DNS.BR 200.19.119.99
Record last updated on 13-Apr-1999.
Database last updated on 6-Sep-2000 07:56:28 EDT.
Thanks for any help,
Micromans
"FJM" <f...@spam.com> wrote in message news:WSPT26...@wasptech.com...