Google Groups no longer supports new Usenet posts or subscriptions. Historical content remains viewable.
Dismiss

Help needed weve been grey listed

0 views
Skip to first unread message

1971T...@googlemail.com

unread,
Aug 7, 2006, 1:26:19 PM8/7/06
to
Hi any help here will be super, basically weve been blacklisted by
virgin and aol, just looking in system manager under smtp connections
and found an ip address but no user? i traced the ip (but didnt write
it down) to china, now trust me nobody works in china from here in the
uk so this must be the source of the spam and why we are starting to
get black listed. IN the properties of the smtp server anonymous is not
tick and basic and intergrated authentication are ticked. On the
firewall i ca see about 5 connections to exchange through port 25 some
in china japand and germany but how are they doing it?, any help will
be much appreciated.

Ian

Gerritjan

unread,
Aug 7, 2006, 1:52:54 PM8/7/06
to

<1971T...@googlemail.com> wrote in message
news:1154971579.1...@m73g2000cwd.googlegroups.com...

Are you sure they're not just spammers trying? You can check the smtp-logs
to see what's happening.
Also try filling in your domain name are:
http://www.mxtoolbox.com/index.aspx


Tay

unread,
Aug 8, 2006, 2:57:57 AM8/8/06
to
Thanks for the reply ive tried the link and al seems fine, so if they
were just trying to connect how come in the smtp connections it has
their IP address but no user name and the IP can stay for at least ten
minutes before it disappears?. I checked for being blacklisted on the
site and it returned ok, but still we are unable to send to Virgin.net
accounts and AOL.

Thanks

Ian

Gerritjan

unread,
Aug 8, 2006, 5:43:11 AM8/8/06
to

"Tay" <1971T...@googlemail.com> wrote in message
news:1155020277....@75g2000cwc.googlegroups.com...

Enabling the SMTP-log will give you (and us) a lot more information....
Just guessing:
AOL requires IP's from sending servers to have a PTR-record.
Check: http://postmaster.info.aol.com/tools/rdns.html


0 new messages